Mobile Broadband User Testimonials

• Need help?
    Reach out to someone from Samaritans of Singapore (24 hours): Call 1-767 or WhatsApp 9151-1767 More info

of_rath

I called Starhub. They say they are doing network upgrading in Jurong west area. Will be done by year end. Are you willing to wait? I just cancel my contract without any termination fee after talking to customer service for 5 days straight. All I need to do is send my modem back. Initially they told me I have to pay $400. I was pissed. But they called me back saying no need to pay. Will go down after hari raya to terminate my contract and get another bbom.

Which brings to the next question, which bbom plan is reliable at jurong west area?? Anyone?

of_rath

You wanna wait? I need to use man. Now I need advice which provider is better for bbom around jurong west...

YorYor

MaxMobile 1Mbps? From Express Plus?

of_rath, lowest risk is to try out M1 for 6 months contract. At least some of the M1 users in Jurong West are getting 1Mbps. But M1's connection is known not to support too much activity very well. E.g., if you open too many new pages at the same time, the connection can "hang" for a few minutes. But one page at a time or 2-3 downloads at a time seems fine for me.
Or try finding someone with M1 to let you try out.

Still waiting for ST BBoM reports... maybe can ask liangtam to give you some speedtest results in Jurong West if he pops by there. ;p

koren

M1's sunsurf has always been quite good @ my office and @ home(changi and tpy). able to hit 5Mbps most of the time... hoping to get higher upload speeds though..

1. Provider : M1
2. Plan : sunsurf 7.2mbps
3. Area used : Changi airport / TPY
4. Max speed attained, and (optional) Average of 5mbps
5. Rating (1-10) : 7
6. SpeedTest link (optional)

of_rath

of_rath, lowest risk is to try out M1 for 6 months contract. At least some of the M1 users in Jurong West are getting 1Mbps. But M1's connection is known not to support too much activity very well. E.g., if you open too many new pages at the same time, the connection can "hang" for a few minutes. But one page at a time or 2-3 downloads at a time seems fine for me.

Still waiting for ST BBoM reports... maybe can ask liangtam to give you some speedtest results in Jurong West if he pops by there. ;p

thanks man. But If I have 3.5g modem still have to sign contract ah?

czheyuan

thanks man. But If I have 3.5g modem still have to sign contract ah?

Yup it's the mobile BB line contract of 6 mths lo.. Shortest mobile BB contract.. Just take note that for this 6 mths contract, there is no discount given.. Other than multi-line saver discount..

nomoney25

I called Starhub. They say they are doing network upgrading in Jurong west area. Will be done by year end. Are you willing to wait? I just cancel my contract without any termination fee after talking to customer service for 5 days straight. All I need to do is send my modem back. Initially they told me I have to pay $400. I was pissed. But they called me back saying no need to pay. Will go down after hari raya to terminate my contract and get another bbom.

Which brings to the next question, which bbom plan is reliable at jurong west area?? Anyone?

I will wait lah. Die die i need a maxmobile , as i cannot take risk to cancel and just sign up with m1 or singtel.

Although my plan is Maxonline express plus, fixed line BB is up to 8mbps but my mobile broadband is 7.2mbps wan. I got this offer when they start the plan during their initial launch last year.

Now the plan will only come in maxmobile 1mbps only.

Wheni used to frequent disconnection with this starhub maxmobile BB on pioneer mrt, i find the connection at Gek poh shopping area is actually bad.

YorYor

Wow, another fantastic review... I'd like to really see some ST / more SH reports of hitting above 5Mbps on those higher end plans.
Looks like the infrastructure can only get better. Keeping my fingers crossed that the base speed will get doubled in a year's time.

santaboi

premium plus free 1mbit mobile broadband

Yat

Please provide:
1. Provider M1
2. Plan 1Mbps
3. Area used: Hillview Ave near MINDEF; River Valley Rd near Valley Point
4. Max speed attained, and (optional) roughly percentage of time attained: 1.04Mbps, 90%
5. Rating (1-10): 5 (because of reasons below)
7. Any comments

Frequent server not found error is irritating. Also, perpertual disconnection during download from Megaupload and Rapidshare makes me reconsider the option to cancel my ST FBB 3Mbps plan and sign up another higher speed M1 BBom for home use eventually. No use if i can't download stuff.

I managed to download files through Megaupload successfully liao using 1Mbps plan. speed is around 100kb/s which is alright. so may consider signing up another higher speed plan next time.

MarineX

Please provide:
1. Provider M1
2. Plan 1Mbps
3. Area used: Depot Road near CMPB; Science Park Rd
4. Max speed attained, and (optional) roughly percentage of time attained: 1.0Mbps
5. Rating (1-10): 8.0
7. Any comments

Normal.. never experienced any slow issue towards it.

only draw back is at McDonald House over at Farrer Rd... Cant connect at all using the USB Dongle K3715 but able to get hooked up using a mobile phone instead..

570572266.png
570572868.png
570573159.png
570574679.png

570575160.png
570575663.png

570576047.png
570576995.png

YorYor

A lot of generally positive reviews on M1. Come on, ST BBoM subscribers, share some info!

stealth0128

Please provide:
1. Provider ST
2. Plan 2Mbps
3. Area used: Tai Seng Ave (Nearest MRT Paya Lebar)
4. Max speed attained, and (optional) roughly percentage of time attained:
7. Any comments

I'm satisfied with their speed most of the time.

MarineX

Please provide:
1. Provider ST
2. Plan 2Mbps
3. Area used: Tai Seng Ave (Nearest MRT Paya Lebar)
4. Max speed attained, and (optional) roughly percentage of time attained:
7. Any comments

I'm satisfied with their speed most of the time.
Stable and no DC. The speed becomes much much slower when I'm home at Bedok, untested yet.

M1 users in the east pls share your experience! My contract had just ended, gotta sign up a new one soon.

shouldn't you be getting anything closer to 2MB/s? You have been shortchanged by a little :)

YorYor

But the general consensus is that BBoM is stable and more responsive than M1, which I do agree. M1 should try to get to that level.

ashwOOtz

1. Provider SH
2. Plan 7.2Mbps
3. Area used: SMU, Stamford Road

So far I'm quite satisfied with my SH MaxMobile Ultimate 7.2Mpbs having served me well both in Pasir Ris and SMU.
The only gripe is that the huawei dongle is pretty huge such that it renders my other usb unusable... need to invest in an usb extension or something =P

MarineX

But the general consensus is that BBoM is stable and more responsive than M1, which I do agree. M1 should try to get to that level.

erm.. is it.. i don't have any known issue with m1. still u should get what you paid for and not just because its stable and more responsive.

you should get your mb right before talking about stability and responsiveness - that's what i feel.

of_rath

1. Provider Starhub
2. Plan 7.2Mbps
3. Area used: Jurong West St 64
4. Max speed attained: 2 Mbps

Comments: returning my dongle tomorrow cuz it's killing me. 2 years contact cancelled without any termination fees. I just dun understand why Starhub latency is so bad till 400 ms and above, now average connection is 0.35 Mbps, where else my sisters M1 latency average at 44 ms, and speed is what it says. She's paying less than me. Urgh. Fastest speed my a**. Just my personal comments.

mun_hoe

1. Provider Starhub
2. Plan 7.2Mbps
3. Area used: Jurong West St 64
4. Max speed attained: 2 Mbps

Comments: returning my dongle tomorrow cuz it's killing me. 2 years contact cancelled without any termination fees. I just dun understand why Starhub latency is so bad till 400 ms and above, now average connection is 0.35 Mbps, where else my sisters M1 latency average at 44 ms, and speed is what it says. She's paying less than me. Urgh. Fastest speed my a**. Just my personal comments.

some swear by M1, some swear by SH. I've tried M1, but was really dissapointed, switched to ST and never looked back =:p

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.