Mobile Broadband User Testimonials

• Need help?
    Reach out to someone from Samaritans of Singapore (24 hours): Call 1-767 or WhatsApp 9151-1767 More info

siewhf

Paying the top-tied StarHub 3G mobile broadband plan (MaxMobile Elite of advertised speeds up to 21Mbps) and yet getting very dismal speeds.

It was a top-tier plan of that time when I signed up for a two year plan and I am still paying about $60 per month for it.

I had just done a speed test (Speedtest.net - The Global Broadband Speed Test) and my download speed is 1.91Mbps and my upload speed is 0.05Mpbs.

Feedback to them only to say that it is normal, based on their document:

StarHub - Support - Mobile - Facts - Mobile Broadband Typical Speed Measurement

Consumers beware!

I signed up the SH Hubbing plan at COMEX yday and was given the 'FREE' 21Mbps MBB SIM card. When tested with my tablet download speed today on HPSA network, I was consistently getting speed < 3Mbps (range from 1.95 to 2.48Mbps). I was consistently getting > 10Mbps when I was on SingTel 3G network. The SH 21Mbps performance is appalling in comparison to the SingTel result.

When I called up the SH CSO to check on my speed plan, he asked me to check the speed with the starhub site which produced the consistent result of < 3.5Mbps. He then said that I was on the 7.2Mbps plan but upon checking my contract that I am on 21Mbps plan, he checked with the sales consultant and claimed that my SIM card is indeed on the 21Mbps and that my results of < 3.5Mbps is within the published actual results of 1.9 - 7.8Mbps. I told him that this is not quite right as the result is no different with the 7.2Mbps plan whose published actual result is from 1.6 - 5.2Mbps. The CSO said that there is nothing wrong with my card as it is within the published speed and since it is given 'FREE', I should not complain about this.

I am certainly not too happy with his point about me 'COMPLAINING' on this issue as it is a matter about honoring the deal. Could i have been given the 7.2Mbps card instead of 21Mbps ? For those who have signed up and given the 'FREE' SIM card, i would like to know if you are facing the same issue. Please share.

SH Services and Products are from BAD to WORST.

whaleshark87

Not M1 meh? Thought Singtel's coverage on indoors CMI? As far as a non smartphone user experienced, a crowded book fair in Suntec this June = no reception at all. No voice call / SMS either and hence the best coverage should be M1 instead.

Base station overload what. :s22: It can happen to any provider.

ussr_1991

Base station overload what. :s22: It can happen to any provider.

Technically it is an excuse. Because Singtel always charge a premium out of it and people still silly silly sign with Stinktel.

When you charge a premium and such things happen = I don't know what to say.

Is suntec, not Tekong leh bro.

uncle168

3G is very slow compared to my 3mbps sh cable at home

have been trying to use up my prepaid mobile broadband of 1GB for nearly 2 months by topping up S$15 to extend for another month with 600MB

it is so slow, i cannot even watch youtube

i will stop using prepaid mobile broadband after trying for 2 months

i will stick to wifi at home and at office and wireless@sg when i'm outside

can save a lot of money that way

keekeekee

kaixmax

anyway to cancel mobile broadband plans under contract? It's amazing while I'm paying more money than the most expensive listed price now I don't even get 1/10 of the speed. Ridiculous. Oh, under Starhub.

ussr_1991

anyway to cancel mobile broadband plans under contract? It's amazing while I'm paying more money than the most expensive listed price now I don't even get 1/10 of the speed. Ridiculous. Oh, under Starhub.

Under contract leh bro.

Unless you go complain to regulators, CASE or sort of, no way lah.

Pay termination penalty fee applies hor....

Sneaky_ho

Under contract leh bro.

Unless you go complain to regulators, CASE or sort of, no way lah.

Pay termination penalty fee applies hor....

Since there is no legislation to protect consumer rights on this, the regulators will not act on this and CASE is next to hopeless, Strait Times forum is the probably the best option for now to highlight the plights and to get SH to respond.

ussr_1991

Since there is no legislation to protect consumer rights on this, the regulators will not act on this and CASE is next to hopeless, Strait Times forum is the probably the best option for now to highlight the plights and to get SH to respond.

Maybe the CASE staffs also use SH network and dulan.

But the problem is, the SH 4G coverage is still like 60% only, I wonder why people sign up without knowing this fact first.

They can go SH for Hub Club lah, but later come and complain is a bit...

Not say that it is wrong, but is just that like one is using a leaked OS / beta of the game and found bugs....

Sneaky_ho

Getting 1/10 the speed and having to pay for it is hardly acceptable and SH have the cheeks to say this is 'normal' is treating local consumer as 'fools'. I don't know how many SH MBB users out there are in this plight and if so, we should voice out instead of being the silence majority.

Sneaky_ho

But the problem is, the SH 4G coverage is still like 60% only, I wonder why people sign up without knowing this fact first.

Because most of the local consumers are ignorant lot and they complain only after the 'fact'. What is worse is that there is no consumer rights legislation to protect the less educated lot so the silent majority just live with it or terminate the plan which only benefits the big boys.

ussr_1991

Getting 1/10 the speed and having to pay for it is hardly acceptable and SH have the cheeks to say this is 'normal' is treating local consumer as 'fools'. I don't know how many SH MBB users out there are in this plight and if so, we should voice out instead of being the silence majority.

True, but even if you go M1 or Singtel, especially Singtel now touts for 150Mbps on the go, since when ever achieved such speed.

Laptop - Mobile BroadBand | SingTel

The typical speed is still 5Mbps ~ 40Mbps which is more like true HSDPA network

Sneaky_ho

True, but even if you go M1 or Singtel, especially Singtel now touts for 150Mbps on the go, since when ever achieved such speed.

Laptop - Mobile BroadBand | SingTel

The typical speed is still 5Mbps ~ 40Mbps which is more like true HSDPA network

Precisely, this is misleading advertisement. How could the Telco advertise '150Mbps' and claimed in fine text that this is theoretical speed but the actual speed is on average 1/10 of it !! So, how such exaggerated claim is derived, substantiated and allowed ? BTW, the actual speed is tested based on download and upload using FTP protocol so technically speaking, the typical net surfing speed using HTTP would be even worse.

ussr_1991

Precisely, this is misleading advertisement. How could the Telco advertise '150Mbps' and claimed in fine text that this is theoretical speed but the actual speed is on average 1/10 of it !! So, how such exaggerated claim is derived, substantiated and allowed ? BTW, the actual speed is tested based on download and upload using FTP protocol so technically speaking, the typical net surfing speed using HTTP would be even worse.

Hence, compare with this:

M1

At least M1 is more truthful, they don't sell by speed but data.

What's the point of 150Mbps plan when data is like 2GB (SIM only) or 5GB (With modem, but $30 bucks more expensive per month) when the MData Lite+ do it @ $29.90

This is why I am very anti Stinktel. But with your thread and some other complaints of Starhub, I think last time I moved from Starhub to ST is not totally wrong (Need to save $$ on analog line is the main reason. Cable always got speedboost last time, ST you need to call and ask for this and that. With the BPL saga VS Euro 2012 issue on top of Cable TV is more reliable than Mio, I still prefer SH than ST. Just for this reason only.)

Hence, now it is the time to let M1 rise and the other 2 down....

So guys, you know the maths. Who is giving more value and flexibility for Mobile BB.

Sneaky_ho

This is why I am very anti Stinktel. But with your thread and some other complaints of Starhub, I think last time I moved from Starhub to ST is not totally wrong (Need to save $$ on analog line is the main reason. Cable always got speedboost last time, ST you need to call and ask for this and that. With the BPL saga VS Euro 2012 issue on top of Cable TV is more reliable than Mio, I still prefer SH than ST. Just for this reason only.)

Actually, I have no issue with the rest of the SH hubbing services (ie. TV and cable BB). I am getting 20-25Mbps on the cable BB for the 25Mbps cable plan which I think is quite decent and reasonable. As for TV, the cable network delivers more superior and stable signal compare to ST's so this is one up on SH TV. When i was using ST 3G MBB, I was consistently getting > 12Mbps which is quite decent and thot that other Telcos would be the same until I tried out the SH 21Mbps MBB. Getting only 3.5Mbps at best on SH MBB for a 21Mbps plan is really unacceptable.:s12:

rescapind

Can anyone help on thia?
For Singtel multi SIM, what is the theoretical speed?
Is it equivalent to their BBOM 7.2, 75 or???
Thanks.

havetobuy

Can anyone help on thia?
For Singtel multi SIM, what is the theoretical speed?
Is it equivalent to their BBOM 7.2, 75 or???
Thanks.

ear from rumours that multisim speed will dropped whenever both sim is used simoultanously

Sneaky_ho

ear from rumours that multisim speed will dropped whenever both sim is used simoultanously

No, I don't think so. The bandwidth should be independent for each card but yr capacity usage will be capped based on the plan as usual.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.