[Mobo] BEWARE!! of the latest Gigabyte motherboard

MPotato

lesser power is needed to power the motherboard so implies lesser components lah. this is the energy saving feature of newer mobo.

not worth going to CASE complaint . wat do you expect for a less than S$100 motherboard ?

you pay a $50 admin fee to CASE and in the end gigabyte just give you a rev2.0 one.

Amazon.com: Gigabyte LGA 1150 Intel B85 HDMI SATA 6Gbps USB 3.0 Micro ATX DDR3 1600 Intel Motherboards GA-B85M-D3H: Computers & Accessories

the board is alrdy 2.0, why gv me 2.0.. it is 10buck, abt 10% of the cost of my board... i also tink 2 time b4 reporting to case.. u tink i nthing better 2 do.. infront of pc like kb warrior...

if less power, y cannot maintain the componet, why cut.. cut 4 wat reason? capacitator is impt... it control the voltage, so less mean bad this is wat i tink.. so why cut on some impt stuff.. might as well cut cost on packing box.

muddle

the board is alrdy 2.0, why gv me 2.0.. it is 10buck, abt 10% of the cost of my board... i also tink 2 time b4 reporting to case.. u tink i nthing better 2 do.. infront of pc like kb warrior...

if less power, y cannot maintain the componet, why cut.. cut 4 wat reason? capacitator is impt... it control the voltage, so less mean bad this is wat i tink.. so why cut on some impt stuff.. might as well cut cost on packing box.

10 100microfarad cap can store more charge than 30 30microfarad cap

ronnie_gogs

Revisions are quite common among hardware manufacturers. Its mostly to remove bugs improve and optimize or cut costs but core functionality remains same.

For example
Take a PS3 fat, Slim and new slim and open it up the motherboard and electronics will look different. It was optimised to run cooler and more efficiently. But if you run a same game on all three they will run exactly same.

People who dont understand electronics should not complain about capacitors IMO. It is one component which fails mostly and makes people think whole h/w is broken. The missing parts you mention are part of the phases as far as I can see I can still see the mosfets so power phase is still there. I would rather have less capacitors than more when I design a circuit as it makes it less prone to failure.

I once repaired a Tv thrown in the dumpster by replacing 2 faulty capacitors. It was a 46inch TV which I repaired by replaced 2 caps worth 30 cents

ryuxdragonx

u tink i bo tai bo chi happy 2 complaint? u tink fun 2 complaint? u tink i so free nthing 2 do everyday just sit infront pc type complain, giv trouble..

if not y gt case, lemon law, 14days, warranty... tis is 2 prevent biz frm anyhow tink they r nthing wrong, sell cut cost stuff to consumer..

Answer this: Would you use more power to run something when you can use lesser power to perform the exact same function?

If this is an board made to OC, I got nothing to say. This is a B board from Gigabyte, purpose is efficiency and reliability. Now are you facing any issues with any of those? If you say your board keep giving you BSOD or power issues, then fine.

Now you're just out to cause trouble.

Goodshot

Why still need debate abt gigabytes board ? It's already long gone man , game over . There are so many other better brand now

Jian19

It's hard to talk to ppl that could not accept they make a mistake

It will always be other ppls fault :crazy:

xhlee87

i feel it is giga obligation to highlight/ inform. nt just paste 1 tiny sticker with small word rev.. i noe tat there is a sticker, but u look at it everytime u buy? pls do nt push 100% blame to me as consumer..

i am nt in IT line and does not noe in depth wat the pdt info, and the details of it. wat i c is tat e pdt doesn't match the pic..

i m here to highlight/feedback/pt out for all it can be done better...

You complained about Gigabyte misrepresent their products causing you to buy wrongly.
Gigabyte did showed it with a sticker informing you it is a rev2.0 motherboard.
However, you bought it wrongly because you yourself never read the label before purchasing and you are blaming them for not informing you?
The money is yours and you have the choice of not buying this cut-cost?? motherboard and Gigabyte never force you in anyway.

Yes, everyone makes mistake and we learn from it. Now you know there different rev for motherboard and next time please read before purchasing.

What i cant stand is you do not admit your mistake for not reading the label and instead blamed Gigabyte and bizgram for not informing you.
You have the mentality of Everyone is wrong and you are always correct.

It is like you made a Nescafe 3 in 1 coffee and you sue Nescafe because it was teh tarik when you drank it as you did not read the label before brewing.

ykrap1

LOL wait until you buy the asrock x99 motherboard for $1000 and later discovered you cannot plug in your TV card cos there are no socket available.
Then you start complaining it is ASROCK fault ?? no ??

ASRock > X99 WS

ASRock-X99-WS_004.jpg

1414356118PQyIkyQD6F_1_8_l.jpg

it is obligation in my opinion. mayb u r rich or u do nt giv a S*** abt it, this kind of ting 4 me is impt.

it is gd as the recent TW oil problem. You eat for 50 yrs the poison oil, the oil manufacturer no tell u tat wat kind of oil, whr they gt the oil, they use as long it is oil, color the same, u eat taste ok, then no prob then it is OK?

i feel it is giga obligation to highlight/ inform. nt just paste 1 tiny sticker with small word rev.. i noe tat there is a sticker, but u look at it everytime u buy? pls do nt push 100% blame to me as consumer..

i am nt in IT line and does not noe in depth wat the pdt info, and the details of it. wat i c is tat e pdt doesn't match the pic..

i m here to highlight/feedback/pt out for all it can be done better...

muddle

LOL wait until you buy the asrock x99 motherboard for $1000 and later discovered you cannot plug in your TV card cos there are no socket available.

ASRock > X99 WS

ASRock-X99-WS_004.jpg

Alamak bro, socket 2011-3 cpus all no have integrated gpu la.

shadow84

ASRock > X99 WS

ASRock-X99-WS_004.jpg

For pc, TV card is in the form of pcie, sure can plug into pcie x16 slot...

Do u even know what you are comparing and its terms? If nt, jus keep quiet and read the funny comments.

pcs232

Answer this: Would you use more power to run something when you can use lesser power to perform the exact same function?

If this is an board made to OC, I got nothing to say. This is a B board from Gigabyte, purpose is efficiency and reliability. Now are you facing any issues with any of those? If you say your board keep giving you BSOD or power issues, then fine.

Now you're just out to cause trouble.

A user purchase one mainboard which original 1st revision has 4 power phase and there are full capacitor in the CPU socket itself, but in the A user went back and found out the mainboard has 3 power phase and capacitor in the CPU socket missing some components.

Do you think the A user will happy? he/she end up purchase a board which is revision 2, but paying the same amount of money as revision 1.

Revision 1: 4 power phase, full capacitor in the cpu socket.

Revision 2: 3 power phase, lesser capacitor in the cpu socket and missing capacitor around the power phase.

Revision 1 & 2 cost the same amount of money. This is what TS trying said.

Side note: Lesser power phase do not degree the power usage, it might cause more danger to damage the mosfet or processor during heavy load.

xhlee87

A user purchase one mainboard which original 1st revision has 4 power phase and there are full capacitor in the CPU socket itself, but in the A user went back and found out the mainboard has 3 power phase and capacitor in the CPU socket missing some components.

Do you think the A user will happy? he/she end up purchase a board which is revision 2, but paying the same amount of money as revision 1.

Revision 1: 4 power phase, full capacitor in the cpu socket.

Revision 2: 3 power phase, lesser capacitor in the cpu socket and missing capacitor around the power phase.

Revision 1 & 2 cost the same amount of money. This is what TS trying said.

Side note: Lesser power phase do not degree the power usage, it might cause more danger to damage the mosfet or processor during heavy load.

Did Gigabyte did not label the motherboard as revision 2?
Did Gigabyte website shows rev 1 motherboard only?
Did Gigabyte point a gun at him to buy the rev 2 motherboard?
A user did not read the label before he buys. He should be angry with himself. Case closed.

ykrap1 listed a good example.

A user bought a x99 Motherboard and later he discovered there is no integrated graphic.
A user went to complain to case cos the manufacturing did not informed him there is no integrated graphic as there is no label about it.

The manufacturing will said they did displayed specification on the box but A user will say "who the hell can see, nobody will check there 1 leh"

pcs232

Did Gigabyte did not label the motherboard as revision 2?
Did Gigabyte website shows rev 1 motherboard only?
Did Gigabyte force him to buy the rev 2 motherboard?
A user did not read the label before he buys. He should be angry with himself. Case closed.

Many noob user like us, won't know there are revision 2.

When you search the model on google, it will direct you to revision 1.0.

How many uncle and auntie or noob will know? Until they found out the board isn't the same as the photo?

ykrap1

:
For pc, TV card is in the form of pcie, sure can plug into pcie x16 slot...

Do u even know what you are comparing and its terms? If nt, jus keep quiet and read the funny comments.

if you can quote one better example i say you good

:s13::s13:

muddle

How many uncle and auntie or noob will know? Until they found out the board isn't the same as the photo?

Uncle and auntie usually don't care what revision as long as all the features listed are there.

xhlee87

if the uncle and auntie is good enough to know "4 power phase and there are full capacitor in the CPU socket itself, but in the A user went back and found out the mainboard has 3 power phase and capacitor in the CPU socket missing"

That is called noob?

A noob user dun even care much as long as it can boot and use.

iZoneSG

Should do more homework and checks before and during purchase, like visual checks. Shops should have 7 day 1-1 exchange.
Complain to CASE is plain overboard.
Unfortunately unlike USA or any other countries where consumers are protected, CASE is useless. Ask you pay $50 first and then tell you cannot be helped, unless you are able to blow the matter out of proportions like the SLS scam epic saga. :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.