Money Saving Techniques

1982-1994

I'm using an application called 'expenses manager pro', paid version. it keeps track of my daily spendings. I find it great.

personally, I withdraw $300 end of every month, for my (and my gf)monthly spending since i stay at home most of the time.

even my gf and i dine out (mostly at kopitiam>foodcourt), i tend to order a bigger portion or with more dishes and we share since she's a small eater. it is enough to fill up our stomach everytime.
we don't order drinks too.
nowadays we pak tor over at my place,watch many movies while cuddling,utilize my projector screen at the same time too.

i aim my monthly savings to be lower like $300-$600 lesser since my pay varies monthly though I save more most of the time.

if my wallet is going to be emptied, it also means it's coming to month end.

1982-1994

movie goers,
apply UOB unionpay card银联 and use it only at shaw theatre for a 1 for 1 ticket,even on weekends. limit to 850pcs monthly.
really can save alot.

usual criteria shall apply.
of course lah, you can download it too provided you can wait for the release online.

Trazora

movie goers,
apply UOB unionpay card银联 and use it only at shaw theatre for a 1 for 1 ticket,even on weekends. limit to 850pcs monthly.
really can save alot.

of course lah, you can download it too provided you can wait for the release online.

It works for other bank unionpay card also :) For Sunday, I prefer to use m1 1 for 1 as can use any credit card (with higher rebate).

vince123123

Good to know about the UnionPay promo - got a chance to use free sign up credit from ICBC UnionPay.

Does it work for online bookings or must show up at the box office to use?

movie goers,
really can save alot.

1982-1994

for married people earning 4k with kids, possible to save 1k monthly?

1982-1994

Actually I feel guilty giving him that little. He is 85 yo and not staying with me. He needs to go out with his gf 3x or more a week. No cooking at home and he eats out everyday.

I may give up that car when it expires in 4+ years time.

5 years since your post. switched to transport?

1982-1994

Let's say an average broadband plan cost $39 (Plus GST - 41.73). In a year, you are paying $500.76 . Add your handphone subscription - let say $39 too. In one year, this two items would cost you $1000.

Let's say you have $10,000 deposited in your bank, and the interest is 1% (wishful), your yearly interest is around $100+.

Maybe some of you will give excuses like you need to download movies, music.... That's worst. You spend most time checking and surfing for what to download. After download, can you finish all the movies you downloaded? Suppose I rent a dvd, it cost $3. For $39, I could have rent 13 dvd in a month. Each weeks, i could have watch 2-3 dvd on average. If you are single, you could watch 1 movie each week with the same amount paid on broadband.

Could pre-paid card better?

my broadband cost $29.

the interest get from OCBC can cover hp bills of $67 (mine,parents,gf)

my music collection only have oldies,which i downloaded 16 years ago.

can watch 5 movies a week using fibre at home, utilizing the big projector screen too.

i am trying out prepaid card, $20 with 3.6gb data. unused data can be accumulated to the next following month too.

Maeda_Toshiie

I'm using an application called 'expenses manager pro', paid version. it keeps track of my daily spendings. I find it great.

personally, I withdraw $300 end of every month, for my (and my gf)monthly spending since i stay at home most of the time.

even my gf and i dine out (mostly at kopitiam>foodcourt), i tend to order a bigger portion or with more dishes and we share since she's a small eater. it is enough to fill up our stomach everytime.
we don't order drinks too.
nowadays we pak tor over at my place,watch many movies while cuddling,utilize my projector screen at the same time too.

i aim my monthly savings to be lower like $300-$600 lesser since my pay varies monthly though I save more most of the time.

if my wallet is going to be emptied, it also means it's coming to month end.

$300 to cover all of your monthly expenses? I salute you (and your GF).

How do you save $600 when you spend only $300? Are you a NSF or student?

1982-1994

$300 to cover all of your monthly expenses? I salute you (and your GF).

How do you save $600 when you spend only $300? Are you a NSF or student?

$300 is just expenses for meals.
what i meant, my monthly pay not fixed.
so i target to save at least $1200 monthly after all expenses.
but most of the time, i can save up more.

targetting to save up 15k a year, exclude bonuses.

rrr2015

I think you will be able to save more if you cook at home (and healthier) plenty cooking lessons available on youtube if you are interested

$300 is just expenses for meals.
what i meant, my monthly pay not fixed.
so i target to save at least $1200 monthly after all expenses.
but most of the time, i can save up more.

targetting to save up 15k a year, exclude bonuses.

spiritGate

My allocation:

Food weekday: 300
Entertainment (weekend): 200
Bills:150
Parent allowance :250
Transport:120 (concession)
Others: 180(include insurance and other stuff for myself)

Total: 1200

Some months might be more, but max is 1500

1982-1994

Cash
Dad 200
Me 300 (mostly on food and rarely on entertainment)

didn't give my mum as she is currently working and she collects rent monthly. she knows I'm saving up.
but I have paid for misc spending for usage at home,like installing Window binding which cost 2k,etc.

Visa (spending towards $500)
utility 150
M1 100
MRT 150
Service and conservancy charge 60
etc 50 (shop at NTUC)

Giro
insurance 60
donation 40

Tt $1100

monthly interest from OCBC able to cover my hp bills is good enough.

going to make use the next 3 weeks to learn cooking from my Dad and doing housework.

seniorcare

archcherub wrote:
agreed. i use this instead... dont even need to do surveys
just receive emails and get paid! dont even have to read... i usually open it to acknowledge only
Get Paid To Read Emails

wahahha i have not seen this for a while!
but to be honest, its not bad lah, i got $200 ntuc supermarket vouchers from reading their advertisements for a year.
though 95% of the advertisment is for boliao things.

only some are useful, the rest usually crappy stuff that i would never read if its not paid adverts. :s13:

hyperbole

wahahha i have not seen this for a while!
but to be honest, its not bad lah, i got $200 ntuc supermarket vouchers from reading their advertisements for a year.
though 95% of the advertisment is for boliao things.

only some are useful, the rest usually crappy stuff that i would never read if its not paid adverts. :s13:

i'm still their member but being marked as inactive. i haven't received their emails for the longest time leh. already forgot about them.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.