Money Saving Techniques

rerear

How do you guy manage to eat oats? Tastes bad haha. Any tips that doesn't involve sugar?

teckgamer

Cooking at home is troublesome and does consume a lot of time. But chap cai peng isn't exactly healthy (it tends to be overly oily) and in the long run, you'll be better off cooking your own meals.
Those extra 45 minutes on cooking and cleaning everyday could save you tonnes of time on doctor appointments and health check up in the long run

IMO:
I find cooking at home not worth the savings and waste of time versus $3 buy outside chap cai peng etc.
Electronics like phones generally dont need buy expensive, very steep diminishing returns and depreciating assets.
Many things like clothes can just buy cheaply used on Carousell etc, nobody besides weirdos will care about whether your clothes are new or not.
Always use CC whenever possible for rebates and to earn interest bank credit for like OCBC 360 and pay full amount every month.
I rather have real money in bank earning big big interest than to impress materialistic people.

havetheveryfun

Cooking at home is troublesome and does consume a lot of time. But chap cai peng isn't exactly healthy (it tends to be overly oily) and in the long run, you'll be better off cooking your own meals.
Those extra 45 minutes on cooking and cleaning everyday could save you tonnes of time on doctor appointments and health check up in the long run

it depends on how many ppl u are cooking for la.. if u cook for only urself, then of cos not worth it.. but usually is cook for a family of 3 or 4, then the savings would be worth it.

e.g. mabe u buy a fish 4 or 5 dollars, if u 2 person or 1 person eat, of cos not worth.. but if share between 4 persons (2 adults 2 kids or 2 adults 1 kid 1 elderly), is a different story..

lchin234

How do you guy manage to eat oats? Tastes bad haha. Any tips that doesn't involve sugar?

Soak oats in milk, add in fresh fruit like apples, bananas and grapes. Cut everything small before mixing into oats. Natural sweetness and crunch.

chopra

steaming fish prawns is simple and alot cheaper (as per topic) compared to eating such things in restaurants.

a4973

does anyone know if OEM electricity is cheaper or more expensive than bottle gas for home use for the same type of usage ? Eg to boil a portion of say ABC soup using bottle gas fired stove vs electric ceramic hot plate?
may have some savings here.

produde1999

does anyone know if OEM electricity is cheaper or more expensive than bottle gas for home use for the same type of usage ? Eg to boil a portion of say ABC soup using bottle gas fired stove vs electric ceramic hot plate?
may have some savings here.
normally gas is cheaper but if factor in delivery cost, electricity with the new supplier is cheaper

dmwaimun1992g

I spend roughly around 350 per month only makan.
Morning eat mee hoon with egg $1.5
Afternoon eat cai png 3 vegetable $2.7
Night eat chicken rice or duck rice $3
No drink for 3 meal.

Sibei extreme sia...

Got anyone spend only SGD300 per month?

iamveryguailan

I spend roughly around 350 per month only makan.
Morning eat mee hoon with egg $1.5
Afternoon eat cai png 3 vegetable $2.7
Night eat chicken rice or duck rice $3
No drink for 3 meal.

I would advise you to look after your diet. Every day of those 3 meals above may cause issues in the long run. Economic bee hoon and fried egg is usually quite oily and salty. Cai png is usually loaded with sodium and msg to make it more flavourful, and no, the vege isn't really healthy cause of the sauce, oil and gravy etc.

If you want to eat cheaply yet healthily, can consider milk/oats for breakfast. Lunch is ok for cai png. Dinner try to switch around, chicken rice daily is going to kill your health in the long term.

Don't save now just to blow it all on health issues later on. That $1 you save may lead to $100 in expenditure.

produde1999

I would advise you to look after your diet. Every day of those 3 meals above may cause issues in the long run. Economic bee hoon and fried egg is usually quite oily and salty. Cai png is usually loaded with sodium and msg to make it more flavourful, and no, the vege isn't really healthy cause of the sauce, oil and gravy etc.

If you want to eat cheaply yet healthily, can consider milk/oats for breakfast. Lunch is ok for cai png. Dinner try to switch around, chicken rice daily is going to kill your health in the long term.

Don't save now just to blow it all on health issues later on. That $1 you save may lead to $100 in expenditure.
Expensive food does not necessarily translate to Heathy food. It's more about choice of food. Not all cai png is loaded with sodium and msg. And Msg itself isn't harmful. It is only if undertake excessively, just as other food as well. If you find cai png to be too oily/msg, mixed it with warm water in a bowl and filter away the water. It'll be much more edible.

for breakfast. milk, oat does work. I personally prefer boil egg mayo and bread with lettuce/cucumber/tomato. Powdered soy milk from unisoy is great too.

Mr.Canberra

for breakfast. milk, oat does work. I personally prefer boil egg mayo and bread with lettuce/cucumber/tomato. Powdered soy milk from unisoy is great too.

Your choice of breakfast is the most healthy. Almost zero cholesterol. Just go easy on the mayonaise will do. :s13:

Boiling or steaming your food is the best. Excessive oil intake is the number 1 killer as it clogs up your arteries. :s22:

Ahteolaugau

Wholemeal bread for bfast. Easier, faster and healthier than beehoon. Go with fresh milk.

Lunch cai png is ok.

Try cook your own dinner at home, or ask your family member whoever is not working to cook for the entire family.

JellieEllie

Set up an automatic savings plan. Forcing yourself to save is hard. It's much easier if it's done for you automatically each month :)

And you'll be forced to spend within your means i.e. whatever is left in your checking account after a portion of your pay is transferred to your savings account

zeroX26

Biggest savings be it home or money wise is definitely reducing operational expenditures. installed home automation system at home from Schneider Electric Singapore to monitor my appliance usage. really helped to bring down my expenditures by alot.

Can share more on how this works?

Mecisteus

Can share more on how this works?

It is an advertisement in disguise.

I think the person is selling smart plugs. The plugs can be switched ON and OFF remotely. And consumption can be monitored remotely too.

Could be an expensive investment. You need to invest and pay for the plugs.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.