MSI Wind

WindBoi

hmm just got 1 dc. not sure if its due to same issue. will continue to monitor.

Corbell

Hi Guys,

We saw these posts. :o
We will check with MSI about these tmr morning.
Hold on. :)

WindBoi

i dun want to confirm this is the problem but i think soemtiems i still get the disconnection.

but hell i reall y grew very used to typing on this wind keyboard now!

pohu

pohu,u got no wireless at home?

u go try go ur fren house or something and test?

i was at kap mac,dc like free... but at home never dc b4...
- will try to do that as suggested, when got chance, u also facing the same problem of "kena disconnected" like siao?

Hi Guys,

We saw these posts. :o
We will check with MSI about these tmr morning.
Hold on. :)
Again, Thanks for the effort, i hope u guys can provide a conclusive solution to this bugbear..:)

I would like to add that given our predicament, b very honest and some might not agree with me but we should focus our attention in zeroing the problem towards the hardware, software part of WIND, rather than questioning the reliability of the hotspot, network we are using.

as based on my experience when surfing WIND at Braddell Mac, no one seems to kena this disconnection problem.. if the network/hotspot S@ck big time.. i think no one would want to tap in there.. just my 0.2 cts view

azul123

Thanks for all the work in pin-pointing the suspected problem areas and working to solve these issues, will definitely want to see problems solved first before parting with money on Wind.

Me just doing whatever I can to help push Corbell/MSI to resolve these issues for you early adopters...

Heidern Pang

anyone tested the msi wind can detect sdhc card like 4GB or 8GB ... etc ?
thanks.

doody_

anyone tested the msi wind can detect sdhc card like 4GB or 8GB ... etc ?
thanks.

So far the news is that it's like the Eee PC's card reader - doesn't officially support SDHC, but works with certain brands of SDHCs.

WindBoi

Ok... i use this energy plug here to test the power consumption of the Wind PC

image_ecosavers_meter_pm1_200.jpg

On normal surfing usage, the set itself uses 15W of power in all.

Charging a 3 Cell battery is an addition of 15W.

so it means if you put it on power for your downloading 24 hours 30 days at 0.2388 cents per kilo watt it works out to be about 2.60 bucks per month.

doody_

Ok... i use this energy plug here to test the power consumption of the Wind PC

image_ecosavers_meter_pm1_200.jpg

On normal surfing usage, the set itself uses 15W of power in all.

Charging a 3 Cell battery is an addition of 15W.

so it means if you put it on power for your downloading 24 hours 30 days at 0.2388 cents per kilo watt it works out to be about 2.60 bucks per month.

This is the exact same method that VR-Zone used. It isn't accurate cos power is being dissipated in the power brick as heat, hence the full 15W doesn't go to the Wind. Nevertheless, $2.60 isn't much :).

azul123

That's good to know. Brand?

This review failed to get their SDHC recognised. They were using a 4GB SanDisk Extreme III SDHC.
Good to know that some worked and some don't so we can avoid those cards that have issues. So far I have a 8G Toshiba SDHC one, ok or not with WIND?

WindBoi

This is the exact same method that VR-Zone used. It isn't accurate cos power is being dissipated in the power brick as heat, hence the full 15W doesn't go to the Wind. Nevertheless, $2.60 isn't much :).

so doody, are u saying that the actual consumption is actually less?

doody_

so doody, are u saying that the actual consumption is actually less?

Er, since the point of the power brick is to reduce the power going to the laptop by dissipating it as heat, then it's quite likely that less power is going to the laptop since the power brick heats up while in use.

Lol that was a rather circular statement :s22:.

That aside, have you tried powering on your Wind with the battery out and plugged into the mains? It doesn't seem to be possible, as reported in another review (which I can't find at the moment).

WindBoi

Er, since the point of the power brick is to reduce the power going to the laptop by dissipating it as heat, then it's quite likely that less power is going to the laptop since the power brick heats up while in use.

Lol that was a rather circular statement :s22:.

That aside, have you tried powering on your Wind with the battery out and plugged into the mains? It doesn't seem to be possible, as reported in another review (which I can't find at the moment).

eh... let me see if i read you correctly: take the battery out from the wind pc, plug in the power and power it on.

can i can do that. as i am typing my 3 cell battery is next to me.

billovee

Corbell kindly check and double check and triple check before selling the wind black.

Thanks you.

Do not wish to you see you again after getting the black wind.

Thanks you very much

doody_

eh... let me see if i read you correctly: take the battery out from the wind pc, plug in the power and power it on.

can i can do that. as i am typing my 3 cell battery is next to me.

Alright, good to know :).

WindBoi

the fact is that corbell can't do much about this since its msi's problem. should have probably use intel's card.

billovee

althought is msi problem, as a distributor or wholesaler , they got their responsiblities to make sure their product really working well before selling.

If they realise got problem, they need to complain to msi. and stop selling wind till the problem solve.

This is call responsible wholesaler.

Like that they will have less complain and problem for them to solve. Good to them and good to us too.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.