MSI Wind

pokster

hmm ... I just bought a MSI wind from the recent PC fair and flashed it to 1.09bios. For some reason i cannot overclock it by 24% only max 15% else will have blue screen of death...

anyone got this problem?

chengsun

anyone can update on the U100+ battery life? how long it lasts for normal useage, like internet, music, office application? thanks

salokin

anyone can update on the U100+ battery life? how long it lasts for normal useage, like internet, music, office application? thanks

Download Battery Eater Pro to test the duration, it will give you a gauge of how long the battery will last under load.

Corbell

Found a nice link for your netbook/notebook. ;)

10 Tips to make your Laptop Battery last longer and improve your notebook's battery life!

1. Turn off Wi-Fi and BlueTooth - Most laptops have shortcut keys to instantly disable wireless networking.

2. Don't play computer games, music or DVD movies - Multimedia activities drain laptop batteries.

3. Disconnect all external device like PC Card modems, Firewire, USB devices and optical drives. Use the notebook touchpad instead of an external mouse.

4. Adjust your screen brightness - Dimming your display saves battery power.

5. Tweak Windows Power Options - Choose a Laptop power scheme that turns off the notebook monitor and hard disk after 10 minutes of inactivity.

6. Decrease or mute the Laptop Speaker Volume.

7. Turn off all scheduled tasks.

8. Turn off Auto-save features in Microsoft Office and other applications.

9. If your PC has a built-in wireless card, turn it off or disable it when not in use.

10. Programs that are run from a CD or DVD can be copied to and run from the hard drive, which typically consumes less power than an optical drive.

guynextdoor80

Can anyone tell me how long I need to charge the Wind? I am not referring to the 1st initial charge but rather the subsequent charges.

And anyone can recommend a good sleeve for the Wind?

Corbell

Can anyone tell me how long I need to charge the Wind? I am not referring to the 1st initial charge but rather the subsequent charges.

And anyone can recommend a good sleeve for the Wind?

Hi bro,

When the battery Led light 'off', you can plug off the adaptor liao. :)

The original sleeve is good enough lah. =:p

tommyjen

ya.. i am looking at one sleeve that can store the cables and external slim drive... saw advertisement IT show selling $19, but didn't go becos of the crowd.. can anyone recommend?? I think Challenger has some

salokin

So buy the new sleeve after it's dirty lor..so that you can use even longer. =:p

What is your Brightness setting?...Usually I set at 50% brightness.... and battery life is longer. Cheers. :)

Haha, I will use until it spoilt :s13:, was running Battery Eater Pro to gauge the power duration.

richneo

corbell bro

can advise how long it will take to rma the wind if there is problem with washed out display?

pokster

hmm ... I just bought a MSI wind from the recent PC fair and flashed it to 1.09bios. For some reason i cannot overclock it by 24% only max 15% else will have blue screen of death...

anyone got this problem?

anyone having this problem??
and also.. msi wind can support anything more than 2gb of ram? 4gb can?

boluilang

consolidation of the problems faced by EDMW msi users.

1) display washed out - richneo
2) overclock + BSOD - pokster (MSI disclaimer - OC dependent on Atom Processor)
3) wireless adapter issues - wynd, anybody, ohzzsej
4) bluetooth - tromba, shifeng, Sidney86 (Solved)

maybe too many pple buying, many feedbacks...

richneo

the rma rate is less than 1%

overclock get bsod already got disclaimer by msi that not all atom can oc that much

Sidney86

the bluetooth problem was solved by downloading the bluetooth manager software.
i tink.
haha.
i solved it already.
so far so gd except that browsing websites can be slow at times.i wonder if its the connection or wad. =)

wynd

My wireless adapter issue has been resolved after going down to Corbell service center and the engineer replaced the wireless adapter. Been using it these two days without any problem.

I just found out that if you tap on the top right corner of touch pad its the same as scroll up and tap on the bottom right corner of the touch pad its the same as scroll down on the active window.

pokster

the rma rate is less than 1%

overclock get bsod already got disclaimer by msi that not all atom can oc that much

icic... weird.. coz most ppl I read from forums like no problem :s27:

anyways what about the RAM? can the wind be upgraded to 4GB of ram?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.