My camera hoot kym?

WW1 Flying Ace

It is just film 'simulation' look. It is still digital.
I know, but what I dun understand is the si ginna are wasting money on actual film cameras, or buying into the x100vi craze for the film look, when there are cheaper and better quality digital cameras

zoossh

Nowadays people still bring camera out ?

Not troublesome meh ?
Troublesome yes

But handphone can’t replicate the viewfinder experience which I find it critical to compose and focus. Yes I can make do with handphone but failure rate is high and old apps are not keeping up to new iPhone in focusing

weight wise cameras are still about 400-500gm and doesn’t seem to be much lesser than 10 years ago, but lens wise I think I can downsize

RyanJ

I know, but what I dun understand is the si ginna are wasting money on actual film cameras, or buying into the x100vi craze for the film look

Not cheap considering the prices of film and processing, especially slides.

Novelty ?

复古潮?

WW1 Flying Ace

Not cheap considering the prices of film and processing, especially slides.

Novelty ?

复古潮?
I read those bloggers they say is cause of nostalgia look with washout colours and sepia tones

Then my answer to that is, they weren’t even born to appreciate the nostalgia lor

standarture

To be honest I jumped both feet first when digital cameras became cheap, couldn’t wait to be rid of film :(

now all the si ginnas want to waste money on film dunno why also
Haha i not si ginna but since 2017 i went back to shooting film. Rarely shoot digital nowadays. Price of one sony full frame with lens can pay for quite a few rolls of film + processing. Maybe a hundred+ times lol.

zoossh

Funny thing is these 'film look' and characteristics are considered flaws in the past and I believe I recall people actually want better/truer color rendition. Now it became a sought after feel/ filter.
I think it all depends

I admit I admire the lomo style but have no such talents. I think some of them are really great, and some others I’m unable to appreciate

RyanJ

I read those bloggers they say is cause of nostalgia look with washout colours and sepia tones

Then my answer to that is, they weren’t even born to appreciate the nostalgia lor

Either way I see it as a positive on the whole for photography industry.

If 120 slides come down in prices I might just CLA my old film cams..

WW1 Flying Ace

Funny thing is these 'film look' and characteristics are considered flaws in the past and I believe I recall people actually want better/truer color rendition. Now it became a sought after feel/ filter.
The first time I saw the output from the Canon and Nikon DSLRs I was blown away by how natural the Canon looks and gorgeously saturated Nikon was, and this was before RAW processing was a thing. I knew then that I would never go back to film again :(

zoossh

I know, but what I dun understand is the si ginna are wasting money on actual film cameras, or buying into the x100vi craze for the film look, when there are cheaper and better quality digital cameras
I dun want to hurt feelings or offend anyone here but I think the looks is key

and actually I’m also into it too. But the other side of me wanted something that is less of an attention so I won’t go silver.

I dun like Fuji sale tactics and since I know my main focal length is likely to be 14-18mm after 1.5x so it won’t be my main cam that I’ll pay so much into it

but who knows? Maybe in a few years time I’ll change. The part of me that didn’t change is that I’m still a bokehwhore (or what they call it)

zoossh

And to be fair to the camera, it isn’t just the look, it seem that they did spend some thoughts to the design of the viewfinder

WW1 Flying Ace

I dun want to hurt feelings or offend anyone here but I think the looks is key

and actually I’m also into it too. But the other side of me wanted something that is less of an attention so I won’t go silver.

I dun like Fuji sale tactics and since I know my main focal length is likely to be 14-18mm after 1.5x so it won’t be my main cam that I’ll pay so much into it

but who knows? Maybe in a few years time I’ll change. The part of me that didn’t change is that I’m still a bokeh-***** (or what they call it)
F2.0 should be decent for bokeh mah. Or get the Sony 35 f1.4 lens for ff or 10 f1.4 for apsc lor

ricohflex

Good. You got one. Long waiting list.
Great for street photography.
Got classic Leica rangefinder look.

DriftKing

I think it all depends

I admit I admire the lomo style but have no such talents. I think some of them are really great, and some others I’m unable to appreciate
The past as in Film era (no DSLR yet). Lomo is playing with ultra cheap lenses, color flashes for the artistic look, damn smart to whoever hype this last time.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.