My CCTV been hack

clanbuster

My bedroom Vstarcam CCTV been hack.
Example I had set my CCTV to look at 1 direction and I find that my CCTV will turn 160 degree and watching me and my wife sleeping around 11pm ~ 1am. I had change password a few time and i had found that the CCTV will turn to my direct where we sleep.

Should I report to Police? What can they do? They can't do anything right?
Should I buy other brand? But how trustful is other brand CCTV?

yamakazi51

Example I had set my CCTV to look at 1 direction and I find that my CCTV will turn 160 degree and watching me and my wife sleeping around 11pm ~ 1am. I had change password a few time and i had found that the CCTV will turn to my direct where we sleep.

Why do you have cctv in your own bedroom?

Elijahonli

maybe they have some valuables in their bedroom and point the CCTV at the area of concern, however the attacker turning it to view other stuff...

@TS.... maybe what u can do is to prevent public access of the CCTV... however if its needed,

try a few of these steps...

-set a password that is ultra long ( maybe longer than 16 characters)
-make sure that u change the password in a area that it not seened by the CCTV, an attacker might be already looking at what u changing it to.
- if ur CCTV has this function, ensure that after a few failed logins, maybe can ban the IP for a few minutes or hours ?

yamakazi51

Some Low quality cctv system have more holes than Swiss cheese even if you set password on it. If not really absolutely necessary to have access from outside, better don't open direct port. Best solution is to vpn in via router then access locally instead. Assuming your router is secured also, of course.

localITguy

placement of IPCams are v important, try not to put somewhere where your personal space is exposed. in the event that it got hacked.

No IPCams are 100% secure let's be honest here,

Trust NO BRAND (All made in china, same stuff)

Turn it off if you don't need it

Try setting a very Long and complex password. like $#@!sdd8a74d but i think no use liao

the IPCam must have a backdoor that's why

turn off UPNP and disable PortForwding and DDNS/P2P(at router level)
if ur Cam use them?...

what model?

only allow access via a VPN (Your house network only) disable any outside access and prevent the IPCam from connecting to the outside world

i think u better throw away. as advised by security experts, buy something else

https://www.cybereason.com/zero-day...ousands-of-ip-cameras-into-iot-botnet-slaves/

https://pierrekim.github.io/blog/2017-03-08-camera-goahead-0day.html

You can try and ask if vstarcam sg got fw update that fixes the hole.

http://vstarcam.com.sg/index.php?route=information/contact

Police report no use, they don't care 1

either u fix the hole or throw it out

addats

Look at your CAM setting. Most CAM will go to HOME position after you power off and on.

clanbuster

because my kids can steal my key and open the windows. Afraid they jump out of the windows. My younger one never listen, always like to jump. My elder kid worst, don't know where he learn from, can unlock my cheap lock and open the window grill for my younger bro to jump. Example in kitchen, i am pointing to cooking hop instead they play fire.

clanbuster

how u know kena hack?

Because the CCTV,i am own person who set and know the password.
How i know the CCTV turn at what time: i setup the trap, when the CCTV tilt and turn,
there is a object will fall down, so that i know the CCTV is turning at that time.

runningman.snsd

Don't buy CCTV that can turn lo.

Because the CCTV,i am own person who set and know the password.
How i know the CCTV turn at what time: i setup the trap, when the CCTV tilt and turn,
there is a object will fall down, so that i know the CCTV is turning at that time.

nwh_sg

because my kids can steal my key and open the windows. Afraid they jump out of the windows. My younger one never listen, always like to jump. My elder kid worst, don't know where he learn from, can unlock my cheap lock and open the window grill for my younger bro to jump. Example in kitchen, i am pointing to cooking hop instead they play fire.

it might be too late if you notice your kids have stolen the keys. Get another lock to lock the window grill would be a safer option?

clanbuster

Don't buy CCTV that can turn lo.

Still the same, If don't buy CCTV that can't tilt, how you know ppl already watching? At least tilt type, if the person greedy and want to see more, he will try to tilt around to see. ( at least you know your CCTV is hacked)

seekaliao

Long password may not work, this is because of insecure firmware used by the camera, so there is some form of backdoor.

Only way is to change domain name if you are using DDNS. If static IP, use another IP address.

yamakazi51

Long password may not work, this is because of insecure firmware used by the camera, so there is some form of backdoor.

Only way is to change domain name if you are using DDNS. If static IP, use another IP address.

Change IP and/or DNS won't help much lah, still can probe.

kandinsky

After doing what you can to reset/change pw, the low-tech way is just to place something there that obcsures the view if the cam is turned. Even if they can still access via backdoor, still try to disiao you after that, nothing to beo, likely they'll get bored and go exploit someone else's cam.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.