My CCTV been hack

localITguy

Not hacked lah. Vstarcam is prone to going to it's default position when the connection is crappy, esp wifi. Try an Ethernet connection and you'll get less of such issues. Sometimes it will hang and you'll need to power cycle. You get what you pay for.

that may be the case, but it's most likely that it has been hacked.

i urge TS to discard the IPCamara instead

https://www.cybereason.com/zero-day...ousands-of-ip-cameras-into-iot-botnet-slaves/

https://pierrekim.github.io/blog/2017-03-08-camera-goahead-0day.html

https://www.cybereason.com/cve-ip-cameras/

it has been hacked is the most likely in this case.

and it is turning to face towards TS not the default position

kurch

My bedroom Vstarcam CCTV been hack.
Example I had set my CCTV to look at 1 direction and I find that my CCTV will turn 160 degree and watching me and my wife sleeping around 11pm ~ 1am. I had change password a few time and i had found that the CCTV will turn to my direct where we sleep.

Have you checked whether any other username even with "Read Only" access right? User account with Read Only is able to move the IPCam viewing direction.

Or you can turn physical position of the camera where there is not possible for the camera viewing direction towards your bed.

harky

Did u change all ur pw, included Guest login?

my have. not sure your have a not

chesterqw

Example I had set my CCTV to look at 1 direction and I find that my CCTV will turn 160 degree and watching me and my wife sleeping around 11pm ~ 1am. I had change password a few time and i had found that the CCTV will turn to my direct where we sleep.

Should I report to Police? What can they do? They can't do anything right?
Should I buy other brand? But how trustful is other brand CCTV?

Did you really change the password tho
No other password exist?

ronnie_gogs

I don't trust CCTV software period... One of most common hacks and these companies just make it too easy. I would not point the camera at anything I would not want others have access too. Bedroom is strictly a no-no. Heck CCTV doesn't even a 0 day hack its like having loopholes which are not fixed for years.

A talk from 4 years ago which I really like.

micheloving

because my kids can steal my key and open the windows. Afraid they jump out of the windows. My younger one never listen, always like to jump. My elder kid worst, don't know where he learn from, can unlock my cheap lock and open the window grill for my younger bro to jump. Example in kitchen, i am pointing to cooking hop instead they play fire.

Yours kids maciam thieves sia . NS vocation got secret operative or not:s13: ?

日防夜防,家贼难防:s22:

clanbuster

Not hacked lah. Vstarcam is prone to going to it's default position when the connection is crappy, esp wifi. Try an Ethernet connection and you'll get less of such issues. Sometimes it will hang and you'll need to power cycle. You get what you pay for.

confirm not default position. Because default position is looking foward the body of the camera.

I been changing afew difficult password and of course the position. No matter what, the CCTV just want to point to my bed.

twinkle07

lol go the website where u can see hacked cctv inside people's homes...

and think about whether u still want the damn camera in ur house.. :s22:

LiLAsN

Your children sounds like the epitome of 'Spare the rod, spoil the child'. I cannot fathom why you would rather spend hundreds of dollars on a CCTV that lets people, maybe even predators like a pedophile, spy on your children instead of just buying a $2 rotan to teach your kids to behave?

You will not only do yourself a favor but also the reputation of your kids as well as their peers. Since they will not grow up to be spoilt brats thinking that they can get what they want and get away with it and it might promote a mentality that stealing is ok as long as they do not get caught. Which in turn may result in their peers getting the brunt of your child's behaviour.

As much as I hate to admit it, I am glad that I had the rotan before as it did change my behaviour to be more responsible and know that your actions may have consequences. Rotan days are limited. But a time in jail for stealing and you not understanding why stealing is wrong at a later age when your brain has matured into justifying that stealing is okay, will be for life.

Prevention is better than cure. Rotan them but let them know why they are getting it. Teach them that it is wrong to take things that don't belong to them. If they are climbing Windows, then I would highly suggest buying them a game console or something because they are clearly bored to death till doing those things are better than playing with the toys that they have.

batniss

Your children sounds like the epitome of 'Spare the rod, spoil the child'. I cannot fathom why you would rather spend hundreds of dollars on a CCTV that lets people, maybe even predators like a pedophile, spy on your children instead of just buying a $2 rotan to teach your kids to behave?

You will not only do yourself a favor but also the reputation of your kids as well as their peers. Since they will not grow up to be spoilt brats thinking that they can get what they want and get away with it and it might promote a mentality that stealing is ok as long as they do not get caught. Which in turn may result in their peers getting the brunt of your child's behaviour.

As much as I hate to admit it, I am glad that I had the rotan before as it did change my behaviour to be more responsible and know that your actions may have consequences. Rotan days are limited. But a time in jail for stealing and you not understanding why stealing is wrong at a later age when your brain has matured into justifying that stealing is okay, will be for life.

Prevention is better than cure. Rotan them but let them know why they are getting it. Teach them that it is wrong to take things that don't belong to them. If they are climbing Windows, then I would highly suggest buying them a game console or something because they are clearly bored to death till doing those things are better than playing with the toys that they have.

strawberry or durian generation>? these days parents over-protective one.

i love the way you used rotan throughout. Spare the rod, spoil the kid.

batniss

Should I report to Police? What can they do? They can't do anything right?
Should I buy other brand? But how trustful is other brand CCTV?

Conclusion: your device is not hacked.

Rather the device is buggy!

If the hacker is interested in hacking you, wouldn't it be silly not to position it back to the original position after viewing what is required? Use the logs feature and check already!

Ark Law

strawberry or durian generation>? these days parents over-protective one.

i love the way you used rotan throughout. Spare the rod, spoil the kid.

Helicopter parenting, digital device en masse, peer pressure, modern city lifestyle, ultra dense population upbringing, politically correct societal expectations etc etc

localITguy

localITguy

there is no reason for me to bluff myself. I just don't think it was. Personal opinion, cannot meh?

Honestly, whichever that makes you happy, bro.

also my personal opinion.

anyway TS, might want to update the camara's firmware

vstarcam might have fixed it

letdoit

Either you no childhood or you are still childish. You should eat rotan now.

pwongkk

This is what I do for my cams. If need tone view from external, I use VPN.

On the camera, I used a static IP, but gateway I put some rubbish non existence IP address. Never put your router's ip. This will ensure no Internet traffic is possible, but still accessible over the LAN.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.