My Citibank's Credit Card Fraud Experience

keenklee

same here. they even quickly block my credit card and reissue me with a new one when they detected an overseas fraud making multiple txns on my card.

i also get annual subscription waivers every year since i signed up in 1997.

i worry once UOB takes over citibank sg retail banking, all these great services will disappear.

Alamak, then time to move.

keenklee

I had v gd fraud monitoring experience with citibank too

when i travel overseas and charge card to merchants on their watchlist i get calls immediately from them to verify if i just authorised my card
IMHO.
Very good indeed. Thanks for sharing. It is good that the bank make the first move.

chocobelle

Sorry I have to disagree.

Citibank is one of the worst credit card to have.
My past experience with them shown me their customer service operators does not have to authority to help consumers resolve issues but they are there to explain why the problem happened and tolerate your scolding.

The best customer service is still American Express. Their no nonsense approach to fraudulent transactions has been there since day 1. There is no question asked when you raise concerns about a fraudulent charge and they will reverse the charge and investigate later.

And my Amex card is the only card that waive annual fees even though I had not use it for the entire year.

What you mentioned is what all banks should be doing and had not been doing until the OCBC phishing scam occurred. No credits should be given
i also support AMEX
their customer service is lumber 1 and most of their CS are local sinkies
and if you happen to call them on your birthday, you may get a 'happy birthday' greeting too

addict951

same here. they even quickly block my credit card and reissue me with a new one when they detected an overseas fraud making multiple txns on my card.

i also get annual subscription waivers every year since i signed up in 1997.

i worry once UOB takes over citibank sg retail banking, all these great services will disappear.
No wad
Citi Sg remains mah
The Citi UOB bot over are the consumer operations of 4 ASEAN countries hor. Citi Sg is not 1 of these 4

blacklotus

It looks like UOB is only taking over 4 retail markets in south east asia - Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand and Vietnam. Singapore operations remains to be under Citi. So we're still good!

Citi to sell Southeast Asia retail business in $3.7 bln deal to Singapore's UOB | Reuters
thanks for the link and clarification. this is good news to me. :)

citibank was my first credit card. i first applied for dbs credit card while working for posb and got rejected. lol. standchart, uob and ocbc also rejected my application. only citibank approved.

to date, i have spent more than $300k charged to this one citibank credit card. :)

Evil_Boss

DBS fraud also quite zai.

buy something in thailand, 1min later automatic call

keenklee

thanks for the link and clarification. this is good news to me. :)

citibank was my first credit card. i first applied for dbs credit card while working for posb and got rejected. lol. standchart, uob and ocbc also rejected my application. only citibank approved.

to date, i have spent more than $300k charged to this one citibank credit card. :)
IMHO.
I wish I had kept the my first Citibank card.
You actually keep track - Citibank got give you freebies ? 🤣

maumu

IMHO.
Just to share my credit card fraud experience this morning to my Citibank Credit Card.

1. Fraudulent transaction from a legit gaming website.
2. Citibank SMS - Reply 1-Authorised or 2-Unauthorised
3. 30mins later - Re-SMS again
4. Reply 2
5, Citibank SMS - confirmation and a Fraud Analyst will contact
6. 10mins - Transaction reversed
7. Citibank's Zac ( I hope i get his name correct ) contacted me vis phone. Card cancelled and will post new card. Advise to follow up with merchants with recurring payment.

I sincerely hope all the banks are like that. Thank you Citibank !

P.S.
Please check your SMSes regularly.
I would say many may miss because of the many notifications.
Reconfirm that it makes sense to use 2 mobile phones ?
Actually I quite impressed with Citibank. Many years ago I was in Australia for a holiday and my card was fraudulently used by someone when I used it to swipe to pay for my lodging (it was a suburb 'city').

I didn't know until the bank called me (while I was still in Aus) to alert me and told me that they'll reverse the transactions after verifying with me that they were not transacted by me.

Unfortunately I cancelled their card a few years later due to their poor reward system (the cashback card) where you need to accumulate $50 before you can 'redeem' the cashback. only thing good about the card is that they will always waive annual fee even if you don't use their card for a whole year.

AngryPiglet

Not impressed by Citibank at all

Both my wife & I were holding Citibank credit card.
It's extremely hard to waive late charges and annual fees.

My wife cancelled her Citibank card because the bank refused to waive the annual fee despite it being her first credit card and had the card for more than a decade. There's no customer loyalty benefits.
Always had to call the CSO and beg for fee waiver :s8:

And I was penalized and "fined" for a late payment of 4-5 days. It was a very hefty and costly punishment for me for paying 3 days late.

The late charge + the interest incurred was quite substantial because I frequently used the card for big ticket items. They never consider the fact that I always pay full amount

After that punishment, I stopped using the card but I still keep it. It's been 3 years since I charge anything to my card :s13:

And the CSO is always either from put tank in a mall or mambai

Libbis

My past experience with them shown me their customer service operators does not have to authority to help consumers resolve issues but they are there to explain why the problem happened and tolerate your scolding.

The best customer service is still American Express. Their no nonsense approach to fraudulent transactions has been there since day 1. There is no question asked when you raise concerns about a fraudulent charge and they will reverse the charge and investigate later.

And my Amex card is the only card that waive annual fees even though I had not use it for the entire year.

What you mentioned is what all banks should be doing and had not been doing until the OCBC phishing scam occurred. No credits should be given
Amex Waive annual fee, but they dun waive administration fee, which is a sum too.

cet87

Ocbc ask me to wait for statement and raise dispute, after some complaint, they gave credit to offset. Need to wait 6 months for their investigation

Singapore金枪不倒

Not impressed with Citibank credit card too.

My card got stolen and used when I was in Tiongland a few years ago. Within 2 mins of my card being used for SGD 4K I immediately called to cancel. Even went to a police station to make police report early in the morning (whilst calling Citibank customer service a few times to do more verification, which is another frustrating experience with their Pinoy contact center itself).

After a few weeks, their resolution department only wanted to refund SGD 1.6K. Jitao damn heated, email them to f them upside now. This is not due to fraud and somemore I did everything correct (called to cancel asap, make police report first thing in morning, gave proof etc). The poor girl even said Citibank hardly gives back 100% one even when stolen. Only after I threatened to bring up to FinREC then they okay to refund all 4K.

The years after that, if I do online waiver of annual credit fee, sure kena rejected one unlike previous years no issue. Have to call or email them every time to get it waive. Really freaking petty and useless. Especially considering the fact that it was my only credit card and I used it heavily. Next year hit higher income going to switch to Amex instead liao, at least more satki

wongminmin

citi is good.
they will immediately lock the card when abnormal.
talk to their cso, they instant waiver annual fees.....even i don't spent much.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.