My nas cannot connect after using network switch

coyote

Previously.no issue.
Then laobu went to turn off my nas power. After that cannot liao.

I tried to connect it directly to my pc via rj45 to get it detect the nas, but wasn't able to access it

So later I went to connect it to router again.
I wasn't able to detect anything.

So I went sim lim. They ask me to hoot network switch. Butbit doesn't work as well

You cannot connect the Nas directly to the PC and expect it to work. Computers in a network needs to be assigned an IP address of the same class before they can be connected. The computer and the Nas can only get their ip addresses from the router. So you have to connect both of them to the router using network cable.

You have gotten the completely wrong advice from the sim Lim shop for getting a switch, which I believed it's not the shop's fault. Your do not need a switch.

savoirex

Be sure to connect nas to router or switch and not the ONT

ONT ports 2 to 4 are not active for Singtel
fwah chiu predicted ts problem, he really plugged the network cables into the white ONT...if only ts saw and realise chiur post, he wouldnt habe led us on a 7 page blind man tour around an elephant...

johnsonheng

sorry for the late reply,

just woke up..
i manage to connect to the router.
but now i am unable to map the nas

they keep asking me for network credential

now matter how i tried i couldnt log in.

tingsters

sorry for the late reply,

just woke up..
i manage to connect to the router.
but now i am unable to map the nas

they keep asking me for network credential

now matter how i tried i couldnt log in.
create a account in nas lol....

savoirex

How to create synology shared folder in windows

Seriously, we are spoon feeding u sia. I oso dunno why? Sorry. :spin::spin::spin:

SMB Settings​

At Control Panel > File Services > SMB Settings, you can enable this function to browse files on your Synology NAS via Windows Explorer or mount shared folders as network drives.

https://kb.synology.com/en-global/DSM/help/SMBService/smbservice_smb_settings?version=7

if u still cannot access a shared folder, its probably a problem on your PC/laptop. is Windows firewall running?

johnsonheng

hi, finally manage to get it to work and mount the drive

but the data transfer speed is awfully slow only 40 mb per sec

last but not least, many special thanks to all the buddies and bro for helping me out.

really greatful for your help and sorry for wasting so much of your time as i am an noob in this network stuff

luei74

hi, finally manage to get it to work and mount the drive

but the data transfer speed is awfully slow only 40 mb per sec

last but not least, many special thanks to all the buddies and bro for helping me out.

really greatful for your help and sorry for wasting so much of your time as i am an noob in this network stuff
Chiu r welcome Ah Heng 🙏🙏

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.