My nas cannot connect after using network switch

petersum82

i want to pay people to remote in the settle it , but the edmw people suggest to me, dun ever let me remote in.
I don't mean to harsh,but given the network setup shown in the photo, people also unable to secure a connection,let alone to remote in.

savoirex

This 3rd photo showing the back of the router. There are zero cable from any of the 4 lan ports to your switch = absolutely wrong.

There should be a lan cable from your router's any lan port to your switch.

Then you connect your NAS's lan port to the switch using another lan cable. If your switch is unmanaged. It would already work.

Show the bottom of the switch to reveal it's make and model. We cannot guess what's the make and model of your white color switch.

There is no switch in all your photos.

I see a modem, a router and a Nas. Where is the switch?
i believe the white color device ish actually the ONT... :s13:

petersum82

This 3rd photo showing the back of the router. There are zero cable from any of the 4 lan ports to your switch = absolutely wrong.

There should be a lan cable from your router's any lan port to your switch.

Then you connect your NAS's lan port to the switch using another lan cable. If your switch is unmanaged. It would already work.

Show the bottom of the switch to reveal it's make and model. We cannot guess what's the make and model of your white color switch.

As per TS description in the earlier post, that white color switch is an ont.

I think TS messed up the whole connection layout and I think the switch mentioned is also connected to the ont as well but not in the photo.

coyote

i believe the white color device ish actually the ONT... :s13:

Ok. ONT.

His ONT to router wan port is correct.

But where is the switch? There are not cable from router to the switch. That's obvious mistake.

coyote

As per TS description in the earlier post, that white color switch is an ont.

I think TS messed up the whole connection layout and I think the switch mentioned is also connected to the ont as well but not in the photo.

The white color is the ONT. And it's connect to the router correctly.

1, where is the switch? Are you saying TS mistaken the ONT as a switch? That's just messed up.

2, if there's a separate switch not in the photo, there should be one cable from the router's lan port to that switch. That's the second mistake.

jkohlc2

NAS no hab DHCP assigned ip address from router?

assign liao then set to static

savoirex

Ok. ONT.

His ONT to router wan port is correct.

But where is the switch? There are not cable from router to the switch. That's obvious mistake.
i dunno where the switch is. frankly he doesnt need the switch. in fact ts oso didnt say how he fixed the problem. i guess he is just too busy playing w the NAS... :s13:

orlengtao

TS, walau. U don't even know the difference between router and ont?
Sorry, I surrender. Like chicken and duck talk. I let others tell u how to upload file. Or u mean download? :ROFLMAO:
Exactly, somemore the way ts ask for help feels entitled. You don't see a single thanks in this thread.

coyote

i dunno where the switch is. frankly he doesnt need the switch. in fact ts oso didnt say how he fixed the problem. i guess he is just too busy playing w the NAS... :s13:

Looking at TS, I'm glad I read up a little on networking....🙏

Looking very likely, TS has mistaken the ONT as the switch!!! There were never any switch to start with. Mystery is solved.🙏✌️

loganrunning

maybe there is no switch --> a strange reluctance to show it.

maybe TS is just trolling us all along.

Exactly, somemore the way ts ask for help feels entitled. You don't see a single thanks in this thread.

exactly my sentiments. i see, i also gave up liao

loganrunning

Looking very likely, TS has mistaken the ONT as the switch!!! There were never any switch to start with. Mystery is solved.🙏✌️

i dun think so. he himself say (asserted but not shown it nor stated the brand and model) that he bought a new switch at sim lim, so no way it could be mistaken with the ONT.

johnsonheng

i manage to access it, but now face another problem, i tried to map the drive, but they keep prompt for the network credential id and password,

no matter how i tried, i cannot get it correct.
any how to solve it.

johnsonheng

maybe there is no switch --> a strange reluctance to show it.

maybe TS is just trolling us all along.

exactly my sentiments. i see, i also gave up liao
no la, i greatful, but my response is slow, coz i was outside till 2 am. i wask kinda reading up online trying to solve it.

johnsonheng

yeah, i turn off and the device and restart it, suddenly it works :eek:

DragonFire

I assume you moved the white cable from the ONT (top box) to the router (box with the antenna)

To access the NAS, you need to set up credentials in the NAS.

Go read up on setting SMB file shares and credentials.

Managing a NAS is easy mode on managing a server, but it is still managing a server :)

Good luck and hope it wasn't too overwhelming.

86technie

TS, not I wan to see u down.
U don’t have network knowledge, kenna scam to buy the switch . Now u Donnoe how to upload file.

NAS is not for non technical users like you.

My honest opinion.

But to answer your questions. From mobile you can just download their apps for u to upload or sync with your phone.

Desktop wise, u can just login to quick connect and upload . That’s it. Super simple. Donnoe why u so cui still wanna buy nas

True TS should put the NAS sell on Carousell but than also difficult to sell.
When people ask him for NAS basic stuff like Password, IP address etc.
He don't know than people will curse.

Difference between ONT, router and switch he don't know which is which.:s13:
Cause many of us here like :s11:
TS should stick with Google Drive more easier than NAS.

NAS wise TS should use his Skillsfuture go for basic networking course.
No need CCNA etc. level just basic networking especially what
is ONT, router and switch.

What is IP Address, Static and Dynamic IP address and how to set one.

leonaheidern

Why after resetting they nas cannot detect the IP

first of all after all these these plug and unplug is the internet still working?

if so then follow the next steps

cause I think Synology default IP is 192.168.0.1 after reset and the gateway is 192.168.0.0

need to plug your PC in via cable to the lan port of your NAS then see if still can connect to nas that way

then set to the same gateway and a random ip address on the same subnet as what your PC gets on the wifi from the router on the NAS

then save settings for the static IP set on the NAS and reboot the Synology Nas

on your PC Ethernet port set back to auto configured

that's assuming the pictures sent are correct and you really don't have another managed switch in between. and the Nas is directly connected to one of the Lan ports 1-4 on the router (I.e. the yellow color ones on the black thing).

ont (white thing yellow left extreme port 1 ) to router (black thing) needs to be connected to the wan port (i.e. the blue colour looking one that usually has a 2.5gbps / 1gig word on top of the port at the back of the router that is on its own) .

harky

ts u know what is router and ont use for a nt??

remote in cannot help u because u cable plug in already wrong

location of ur NAS?
location of ur Router + ONT?

EJB

Change to ONR, don't use ONT.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.