MyRepublic Big Launch

nez

The alpha test has began long ago and it's stable such that we are able to constantly attain 800-1000Mbps with the right equipments.

Since the introduction of the plan, we have been working hard to ensure the DNS are working fine, any potential capacity cap issue has been resolved, peering and bandwidth checked and similar to existing or better.

There's absolutely no need to wait for 6-9months for that i can assure you as it's stable and robust enough. As mention the beta would include few hundred users ( 200 user + HWZ) that we can reach out personally and collect feedback to further improve the performance because the network is ever growing =).

Are china websites, based on dynamic IP in particular, tested?

nivleK1985, any advise on whether china websites, based on dynamic IP in particular, are tested on accessibility?

Or there will still be issues with china website as per existing plans? ie. PURE plan

Phases

anyone here sign up a plan after their big launch in mid jan but never notify of the installation date?

I was told they will call my around mid feb to fix the installation date in mar but now still nobody called me

jamesyongerp

Hi Phases,

You can read from the following:

therealsingapore.com/content/truth-behind-myrepublic-over-promising-1gbps-fibernet-plans

therealsingapore.com/content/greg-mittman-vp-myrepublic-responds-trs-readers-complaint

I have compiled the following screenshots to show why MyRepublic is amnesia about the Feb 2014 call back.

https://docs.google.com/document/d/12gYvcqYEEB5jyb8Vqz56wHh25N9FwJxypoO7PrrYAlQ/pub

Regards,
James

hangyong

To those complaining and trying to make their point that mr is at fault.... Can I know what you are trying to achieve? Dun get me wrong, I am also in beta, I also subscribed and in your situation, contract over or going to end, and still waiting for the call.

But seriously. What are you trying to achieve? MR to apologise? They compensate you for a service which has not been delivered? Have you paid anything? Did you lose anything?

Yes, the delivery is delayed. You think MR dun wanna deliver ASAP and start taking your money? Is it their fault that opennet cannot deliver and thus causing the delay?

I will only say that in this whole incident, the one biggest issue is the communication. But did that make you lose a pound if flesh or something to an extend that needs this kind of finger pointing?

So what if you are right? That what you said is exactly what happened... Will that allow them to implement faster? Yes? No?

Give them some slack and let them do their work la. The more you complain, the more they have to handle you, the less time they have to fix the back end issues.

jamesyongerp

To those complaining and trying to make their point that mr is at fault.... Can I know what you are trying to achieve? Dun get me wrong, I am also in beta, I also subscribed and in your situation, contract over or going to end, and still waiting for the call.

But seriously. What are you trying to achieve? MR to apologise? They compensate you for a service which has not been delivered? Have you paid anything? Did you lose anything?

Yes, the delivery is delayed. You think MR dun wanna deliver ASAP and start taking your money? Is it their fault that opennet cannot deliver and thus causing the delay?

I will only say that in this whole incident, the one biggest issue is the communication. But did that make you lose a pound if flesh or something to an extend that needs this kind of finger pointing?

So what if you are right? That what you said is exactly what happened... Will that allow them to implement faster? Yes? No?

Give them some slack and let them do their work la. The more you complain, the more they have to handle you, the less time they have to fix the back end issues.

Hi Hangyong,

Are you working for MyRepublic? I am just explaining what has happened.

Regards,
James

hangyong

Nope. Am just another subscriber.

I am not targeting you honestly, but to everyone who seems to be targeting MR on this issue...

I know and saw that you can wait in your earlier post. I just so not find it a need to do this kind of things to prove that others are wrong and you are right, especially when no one will gain anything.

损人又不利己
得饶人处且饶人

Kcusts

I am not targeting you honestly, but to everyone who seems to be targeting MR on this issue...

I know and saw that you can wait in your earlier post. I just so not find it a need to do this kind of things to prove that others are wrong and you are right, especially when no one will gain anything.

损人又不利己
得饶人处且饶人

What to do..Sinkies do what Sinkies do best...KPKB..bang table and ask for compensation, if don't give then boycott. Not very effective with the big monopolies, so try luck with startups.

jamesyongerp

损人又不利己
得饶人处且饶人

Hi Hangyong,

Yes, I have no issue with waiting as I can foresee the huge demand. Until the day I saw the VP's reply which denied about the Feb 2014 call back. I feel sorry for Eugene who took the initiative to warn other subscribers. So I decided to tell others what I know.

When someone is wronged by others, would you not stand up for him? A better world is when people help each other. In this case, they are fellow Singaporeans.

Regards,
James

hangyong

Hi Hangyong,

Yes, I have no issue with waiting as I can foresee the huge demand. Until the day I saw the VP's reply which denied about the Feb 2014 call back. I feel sorry for Eugene who took the initiative to warn other subscribers. So I decided to tell others what I know.

When someone is wronged by others, would you not stand up for him? A better world is when people help each other. In this case, they are fellow Singaporeans.

Regards,
James

Like I said. What is the point of pointing out other is wrong and you are right, when it does not help anyone? Does your post help eugene get what he wants? He already provided his proof, which many thinks that's it's good enough. Good enough to prove that there was a lapse in communication.

That's it. It's bad communications.

No one was saying that what Eugene said is wrong, just that he has to be more understanding and forgiving.

And seriously, if you are trying to stand up for Eugene, then you ought to reply to his post (which is not in this thread) and not put what you know here, where there is no linkage in anyway.

No one lost any money, no one owe anyone anything. So why carry on trying to prove someone right or wrong? This is not the court. We are not the jury.

jamesyongerp

Like I said. What is the point of pointing out other is wrong and you are right, when it does not help anyone? Does your post help eugene get what he wants? He already provided his proof, which many thinks that's it's good enough. Good enough to prove that there was a lapse in communication.

That's it. It's bad communications.

No one was saying that what Eugene said is wrong, just that he has to be more understanding and forgiving.

And seriously, if you are trying to stand up for Eugene, then you ought to reply to his post (which is not in this thread) and not put what you know here, where there is no linkage in anyway.

No one lost any money, no one owe anyone anything. So why carry on trying to prove someone right or wrong? This is not the court. We are not the jury.

It is a small issue actually. Why not let MyRepublic do the explaining?

Lehnsherr

It is a small issue actually. Why not let MyRepublic do the explaining?

The VP definitely made a mistake in saying that late feb call back is a miscommunication.

The difference is that is it blame shifting/amnesia like u said or just plain simple miscommumication between the VP and the company/plain typing wrongly. This we can never know because the VP can jolly well type another letter to address your concern and saying its just plain typing wrongly even when his initial intention is to feign amnesia.

It all comes down to what subscribers choose to believe, and choose whether to stick around or look for other providers.

BTW, it doesn't seems like a small issue to you because, u are the one who complied the information on google docs. Who will do that if its a small issue...

jamesyongerp

To Hangyong and the rest,

My posts to MyRepublic Facebook are deleted each time I write about the issue. So I post in other forum. I am also lucky to have the screenshots (for mid-January time) to prove the case. It is a thankless job. Just want to help people see things properly.

Real businesses are built on trust and honesty. If customer speaks out, at least they care. Of course, we need to differentiate between those customers who is out to fish in trouble waters and those who genuinely care. If the service providers are really into customer service, they would have been more forthcoming in their explanations and not make the early adopters feel dumb. Real singaporeans being the forgiving type, would understand when the explanations are sincere. People say the same things a few times because the other party hasn't gotten the point. Beyond that, they (the people) see no need in beating a dead horse.

In the end, people have to know what is their standpoints and their principles, and how they lived out their lives. It shouldn't always be "as long as no money is lost, why should we bother", or "as long as it doesn't affects me, why should I care?".

The above are my humble opinion.

I have written a response to VP MyRepublic in therealsingapore.com. It has been more than a day, so not sure it will be published. It consists of what I have screenshot on the Feb 2014 call back, and 2 suggestions for MyRepublic. I will repeat the suggestions here.

I know delays are not what MyRepublic and its subscribers wanted. Since the system is ready soon and calls are being made, MyRepublic should plan out and ensure new subscribers not wait more than 3 months since signed up. If not possible, to inform and allow the affected subscribers to opt out, as not everyone may wait to wait. Happy customers are better testimonial than those from hired staff. Moreover, time is money too.

Another suggestion is to extend the free trial service that is ending in June 2014 because there are some delays in the installation i.e. from start of March changed to late March.

Regards,
James

Binaries

I am on the fence on this matter but your post reminded me of myself. I salute your effort by far and especially this line that I have quoted from you.

In the end, people have to know what is their standpoints and their principles, and how they lived out their lives. It shouldn't always be "as long as no money is lost, why should we bother", or "as long as it doesn't affects me, why should I care?".

The above are my humble opinion.
Regards,
James

There will definitely be people that do not appreciate your persistency on this matter but I am deeply thankful of it and as long as you do not step over the line and only offer unbiased evidence, I will read from all your standpoints.

I admit MR communication have always been problematic, it all started with problems on billings and such and then the influx of customer support officers that are more often clueless of what we are being told on the forum from good old official MR staff.

Livewings

I am on the fence on this matter but your post reminded me of myself. I salute your effort by far and especially this line that I have quoted from you.

There will definitely be people that do not appreciate your persistency on this matter but I am deeply thankful of it and as long as you do not step over the line and only offer unbiased evidence, I will read from all your standpoints.

I admit MR communication have always been problematic, it all started with problems on billings and such and then the influx of customer support officers that are more often clueless of what we are being told on the forum from good old official MR staff.

Yes I agree. MR communication sucked even from the very beginning it started 2 years ago. By far the worst in anything I subscribed to. Surprised, it still haven't change. Communication between CSOs and the higher ups is often not communicated well. However, once past all that, the actual service is pretty top notch.

red_december

Yes I agree. MR communication sucked even from the very beginning it started 2 years ago. By far the worst in anything I subscribed to. Surprised, it still haven't change. Communication between CSOs and the higher ups is often not communicated well. However, once past all that, the actual service is pretty top notch.

I completely concur with this post. Not that I have had grave problems with MR (in terms of communication) in the past, but I always used to feel their communication could be greatly improved (had problems with billing and such last time. Nothing serious, was settled easily and they accepted their mistake and apologized).

However, I really can't understand those people who are complaining about how they are not fast enough and/or how they have to wait so long to get the 1 Gbps connection.

When I saw that they have 1 Gbps rolling out and that I am still on their 100 Mbps contract which ends in October this year, I simply applied for the upgrade to 1 Gbps, was told my estimated installation is in Q2, and that was the end of it.

The way I see it, I accepted a contract of 100 Mbps until October this year, but in actuality I get to upgrade to 1 Gbps (for free) and at $49/month (which is actually cheaper than $59 that I am paying currently for 100 Mbps), I couldn't ask for more from MR.

Installation in Q2? No problem. In fact, take your time. In the 1.5 years with MR, I have always gotten the speed you guys have promised and at no times I have had shitty speed. Not a single time (can't be said the same for SH, which was my ISP for the past 10 years before MR).

I have faith that once I get the 1 Gbps connection, it'll be great and I have no qualms in waiting for that.

Johnnny

I completely concur with this post. Not that I have had grave problems with MR (in terms of communication) in the past, but I always used to feel their communication could be greatly improved (had problems with billing and such last time. Nothing serious, was settled easily and they accepted their mistake and apologized).

However, I really can't understand those people who are complaining about how they are not fast enough and/or how they have to wait so long to get the 1 Gbps connection.

When I saw that they have 1 Gbps rolling out and that I am still on their 100 Mbps contract which ends in October this year, I simply applied for the upgrade to 1 Gbps, was told my estimated installation is in Q2, and that was the end of it.

The way I see it, I accepted a contract of 100 Mbps until October this year, but in actuality I get to upgrade to 1 Gbps (for free) and at $49/month (which is actually cheaper than $59 that I am paying currently for 100 Mbps), I couldn't ask for more from MR.

Installation in Q2? No problem. In fact, take your time. In the 1.5 years with MR, I have always gotten the speed you guys have promised and at no times I have had shitty speed. Not a single time (can't be said the same for SH, which was my ISP for the past 10 years before MR).

I have faith that once I get the 1 Gbps connection, it'll be great and I have no qualms in waiting for that.

Thanks for the vote of confidence and feedback, red_december and Livewings. It means a lot to us.

To everyone who has pointed out that MyRepublic should improve our communications, I just want to come out and say - we hear you, and we agree.

We know that no matter how much work we do in the background, if communication to our customers is not clear and timely, it does no one any favours. Whether it's billing, the beta and 1 Gbps rollout, customer support or offers, we recognise that we have to improve the way we communicate to you and the general public.

MyRepublic has a lot of moving parts, and as a young start-up there are still times we're trying to find our footing in making sure they're all in sync. So we're not going to make any excuses - communication is an area we can do better.

To do that, we've recently hired a new communications manager and re-aligned our product, marketing, branding, engineering and communications teams so that key members are constantly talking to each other. There's now a core group handling communications - both internally and externally. It's a new initiative, but one we believe will have long-term, positive implications for our customers and company.

So - thanks to everyone for supporting MyRepublic thus far, and rest assured we're more committed than ever to making sure we are deserving of your support and loyalty. These are exciting times for us - the 1 Gbps is rolling out really soon and there are still many more announcements to come in the near future. Thanks for joining us on the ride, and keep the feedback - positive or negative - coming. :):):)

mashpotato120

Hi Bro,

No offense, but this is only true for those who are still running their contract.
For the other group whose contract have already ended. We are at a slight disadvantage with the current situation.

1) early adopter are paying a higher monthly price for their 100/150 plan, there were very limited promotion in the past. (feel free to prove me wrong and also sic what method to get cheaper than 69.90 / month for gamer plan)

2) at the current market rate, we are paying a higher premium / speed when compared to other provider as well. (vq).

3) MR have been rather careful with any commitments on day / service deployed. Till the day we have a confirmation, all these promises are purely "hope/trust/faith/hanging a carrot infront of you".
May or may not be MR's fault. But at the end of the day we need to point the delay at someone. (we're singaporean after all)

4) why be placed in a uncomfortable situation where you pay the same $$ but only receive 10% of what others (those who eventually get their 1gb up first) are receiving. World is unfair, thus please understand why some are more vocal in securing their slot.

5) On a personal note, "over-whelming order" is not a good excuse imo. Its projecting an image that MR is "unable to handle" big project, rather than opennet who fail to provision. Will be nice to know the real reason.

Lehnsherr

Hi Bro,

No offense, but this is only true for those who are still running their contract.
For the other group whose contract have already ended. We are at a slight disadvantage with the current situation.

1) early adopter are paying a higher monthly price for their 100/150 plan, there were very limited promotion in the past. (feel free to prove me wrong and also sic what method to get cheaper than 69.90 / month for gamer plan)

2) at the current market rate, we are paying a higher premium / speed when compared to other provider as well. (vq).

3) MR have been rather careful with any commitments on day / service deployed. Till the day we have a confirmation, all these promises are purely "hope/trust/faith/hanging a carrot infront of you".
May or may not be MR's fault. But at the end of the day we need to point the delay at someone. (we're singaporean after all)

4) why be placed in a uncomfortable situation where you pay the same $$ but only receive 10% of what others (those who eventually get their 1gb up first) are receiving. World is unfair, thus please understand why some are more vocal in securing their slot.

5) On a personal note, "over-whelming order" is not a good excuse imo. Its projecting an image that MR is "unable to handle" big project, rather than opennet who fail to provision. Will be nice to know the real reason.

Here's what I feel about it:

I am paying $59 per month since day 1, with the 5 months free I am effectively paying $46 per month.

Sure its almost the same price but at 1/10 the speed. However I knew I wouldn't utilize 1Gbps much...not like I am looking at BD content everyday (which is doable for 100Mbps), or that uncompressed 4k (which definitely needs more speed) is now prevalent.

So I am cool with it, if they needed more time to work things out. EDIT: But not too long, and best is they can give exact dates.

Over-whelming order would apply to opennet as well. Cos usually we hear the issue that during any IT/PC shows new activation will take longer than usual, which is an opennet thing.

Just Me

Thanks for the vote of confidence and feedback, red_december and Livewings. It means a lot to us.

To everyone who has pointed out that MyRepublic should improve our communications, I just want to come out and say - we hear you, and we agree.

We know that no matter how much work we do in the background, if communication to our customers is not clear and timely, it does no one any favours. Whether it's billing, the beta and 1 Gbps rollout, customer support or offers, we recognise that we have to improve the way we communicate to you and the general public.

MyRepublic has a lot of moving parts, and as a young start-up there are still times we're trying to find our footing in making sure they're all in sync. So we're not going to make any excuses - communication is an area we can do better.

To do that, we've recently hired a new communications manager and re-aligned our product, marketing, branding, engineering and communications teams so that key members are constantly talking to each other. There's now a core group handling communications - both internally and externally. It's a new initiative, but one we believe will have long-term, positive implications for our customers and company.

So - thanks to everyone for supporting MyRepublic thus far, and rest assured we're more committed than ever to making sure we are deserving of your support and loyalty. These are exciting times for us - the 1 Gbps is rolling out really soon and there are still many more announcements to come in the near future. Thanks for joining us on the ride, and keep the feedback - positive or negative - coming. :):):)
I just want to assured of one thing.. since I am one of the users who signed up the day your 1Gbps was launched and had my appt cancelled because of the fibre top up issue, I was told it would be delayed to mid-april. Is this confirmed or not?

Johnnny

I just want to assured of one thing.. since I am one of the users who signed up the day your 1Gbps was launched and had my appt cancelled because of the fibre top up issue, I was told it would be delayed to mid-april. Is this confirmed or not?

To be clear: "fibre top-up" is not MyRepublic-specific. Every fibre broadband provider can be affected by this.

For certain areas, OpenNet may discover they have not enough resources to support fibre broadband connections beyond a certain number. This happens when, for example, people switch from one fibre broadband provider to another or run multiple fibre lines.

To increase their capacity, OpenNet needs to top up their fibre resources, leading to a delay in getting your fibre broadband up and running. As more people go from one fibre broadband provider to another (as opposed to going from cable/ADSL to fibre), this issue is coming more common.

So yes, unfortunately your installation may be delayed to April.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.