Confirmed the appointment on 9April for today, 9am to 1pm.
MR guy came at around 11:30am, the installation was quite fast, around 20mins.
I was waiting for the ON pple to come, MR guy told me they're below, I think they're at the void deck, in some "server" room, fixing from there.
So the ON guys didn't appear @ your doorstep doesn't mean they're not working.
I stay in the east
Hi, can anyone tell me how much (lenght) of fibre optic cable does MR provide for during the installation? How they charge if extra lenght of optic cable is required? Thanks
Agree that is substantial difference but based on so many speed test I have seen the ping is not that wonderful. Week day I use ST and weekend I use M1. I often do speed test on my 2 notebooks and seen so many speed test and most people is 1-4 ms and only 1 or 2 is 5ms. Honestly u need not believe me and i need not show proof but u should know it yourself. Hope you enjoy your 1Gbps plan.
first say bandwidth no big diff, now say ping...
do you have any idea what is ping all about? 4ms and 6ms, you can feel the difference when surfing?
yes, I do not believe you... and no, you dun have to show proof too.
and I am enjoying the 1gbps plan... and many others here too...
How come I ST 200Mbps plan speed to china is faster than you 1Gbps plan? Can not be possible?
This is the speed that you should be getting and ping 3 Ms:
Installer came in time. Everything was done in less than 15 minutes and my internet was up and running. Changed the location of the ont to my room with my old 30m cable and no issues. I connected my apple extreme thing(just cannot remember its name) and I could get the same speed on my imac(kid's comp) and me macmini connected to my home theater system. Time to scale down my current singtel(have to keep cos attached to my mioTV and mobile).
No problems so far!
another post from you which does not prove anything other than your terrible knowledge on networking... oh well... you can go enjoy your 300mbps...
for same price you are paying, you get at most 300+mbps... while we can get above that....
sour hor??
which do you refer?? the yellow cable aka patch cord is a standard 3m(TP>ONT)
the 2F indoor cable will be 15m(TP>riser) which by right they suppose to charge by meter after 15m but normally they wont charge you as long as your required mount area not excessing too much. eg 30m extra
FOC till June. One time payment of $49..MR gt home line ald?
So after june need pay additional $2.88/month for the phone line service uh.
need pay installation fee for the home voice also? or is it included in the fibre installation~~
first say bandwidth no big diff, now say ping...
do you have any idea what is ping all about? 4ms and 6ms, you can feel the difference when surfing?
yes, I do not believe you... and no, you dun have to show proof too.
and I am enjoying the 1gbps plan... and many others here too...
because you chose a different server??
shiok bo??
Good speed and good ping. For sg, ping should be 1 to 4 Ms. Enjoy.
Regardless of how you want to fault the speed, anything under 10 ms to locally hosted server is considered perfectly fine. ADSL used to do about 15ms for a round trip to Singnet DNS server 165.21.83.88, MR 150M plan does about 4 to this same local server. Singnet Fiber should do 1ms or sub 1ms timing as they are on the same network if following your standard.
Fun fact for you, iDA specificed standards of less than 50ms latency for local network is so much slacker that even using higher latency 4G service also can pass.
https://www.ida.gov.sg/~/media/Files/PCDG/Licensees/StandardsQoS/QualityofService/Qos_webpage_bb.pdf
Often then not home WiFI network might produce even higher latency especially in a crowded WiFI environment or in room of poorer coverage.
This is the speed from another MR 1Gbps plan user Red_Viper. His speed is good but do not understand why others the speed and ping is so so only.
Talking about wired speed and not wireless.
Internet speed vary from user to user with the same plan and same isp and wired connection. Just trying to know why some fsdt and some slow. Some user even show me a 1ms ping speed test result and I really do not know how he got 1 ms ping. I am not sure of MR performance.
=raguaman;85224306]While speed test can be considered as reference but not the only way to gauge your bandwidth. Speed test depends on lot of factors like your PC hardware configuration, CAT cable being used, CPU load during the test, router hardware and firmware (if tested via router connection), number of HTTP threads invoked during the test, your browser and it's version, routing entries (no.of hops), fibre signal strength and probably flash version too. So, it may not be same for all users.
If users are getting low speed to Internal test site with wired connection and decent hardware, then yes, it needs MR attention.
IMHO good speed test results doesn't mean good browsing experience as everyone has a different requirement like surfing,streaming, torrent, games etc. One the effective way you can test your bandwidth is download multiple larger files via torrent and http, stream multiple 4k videos while gaming and see whether your bandwidth can handle the load. If yes,and if not - look for another service provider who can cater your needs.
True la. I ever download a 6 Gb game and fastest speed I get is still below 20MB/sec like 15-18MB/s. Never reach 20MB/s and I am doing research now to find the best isp but look like sign MR also possible to have risk. My family every day online and if get diconnection, they will kill me.