MyRepublic Big Launch

aCidz

Please quote the entire post that explains the stats difference instead of just the report url.

MR 1000Mbps Gamer Plan
http://reporting.samknows.com/repor...050120140531/3d1d3079d93f5cd75fc2c92f21c4988b

Please note that I am not using the correct setup for samknows as instead of all ethernet device connected to the samknows box, I had specially move my PC to the router directly for the purpose of getting a correct measurement of speed to MR hosted speedtest server. As you might have noted, I was actively doing testing during the early part of the month and thus it explains the lower reported speed. Towards the mid and end, after fixing some Asus router issues, samknows box is now able to hit its max downstream of approx 500mbps.

xRenol

If cannot call through then use their Live Chat? Should be the same except you no need talk

If your Internet is down, how do you use their Live Chat assuming no other source to access the Internet?

Hi guys,

I just had my 1Gbps fiber installed.
if i connect direct, i get around 940mbps.
However if i connect via my asus N66 with same cable and machine, the speed is 740mbps. The purple cable for connecting the ont and the router is provided by MR and should be a CAT5e or CAT6 cable.

700+mbps is still fine with me but just curious why the drop when going via the router. I upgraded the router to merlin .42 firmware and result is the same. No QOS was turn on. is it normal for N66?

additional info

I am on static IP, i used to set the static ip in my router, but it does not work with 1Gbps with that. I called the CSO and was told the router setting needs to be DHCP as the static is now set on the ONT.

well, i opted for homevoice, but they say the model is out of stock, will need to come change again.

The purple LAN cable is a CAT6 Ethernet cable.

For 1Gbps plan, the Static IP is automatically dished out from MR DHCP servers, so no configuration is required on the router.

Ah-Pin-Kor

Hi guys,

I just had my 1Gbps fiber installed.
if i connect direct, i get around 940mbps.
However if i connect via my asus N66 with same cable and machine, the speed is 740mbps. The purple cable for connecting the ont and the router is provided by MR and should be a CAT5e or CAT6 cable.

700+mbps is still fine with me but just curious why the drop when going via the router. I upgraded the router to merlin .42 firmware and result is the same. No QOS was turn on. is it normal for N66?
You have already reached the h/w routing throughput limit for N66U (700-ish Mbps):
Asus RT-N66U - DD-WRT Wiki

Just Me

Care to share your set up and speed test SS?
Router setup is more or less at default.. but I always restore it to factory settings everytime after I update the firmware. Perhaps you can try that..

whimsywhimsy

Actually now not hard to find internet access alr leh tbh. Go neighbour's house use also can:s13:

except my 4G overflow liao, and now i'm on starhub prepaid card lols... 5 days unlimited 3G ... for 18... not bad I guess... but my issue of no signal from fiber still not resolved... aaaaaa

ArleFK

except my 4G overflow liao, and now i'm on starhub prepaid card lols... 5 days unlimited 3G ... for 18... not bad I guess... but my issue of no signal from fiber still not resolved... aaaaaa

Not bad leh! Wah, contact them again?

abercombre

Actually these are just local speed, most websites and contents are from the US. no one posts international speeds?

I finally got my connection installed over the weekend (was supposed to be March but there were delays) Anyway all good now, here's the latest speedtest:

YQ3hxiM.png

Now I've never seen speed like this before and I'm pleased but like most of us here I'm a tech geek and can't help think of squeezing at least another 100mbps out as I've seen 900+mbps speedtests from others.

This was taken from my PC connected via Cat5e to an Asus AC66U router.

Any idea how to squeeze that last bit of 100mbps out? Could it be a hardware limitation on the Realtek PCIe GBE controller (built-in on my motherboard)?

ArleFK

Go find out what the Gamer plan is all about before you start your speedtest story again.

Already say is gamer plans alr. Sure is made for gamers specially one. Non gamers confirm wont understand one lor.

Actually these are just local speed, most websites and contents are from the US. no one posts international speeds?

Overseas confirm will slow one. Speed is dependant on how their servers, if they can only take 1Mbps then no matter how fast you have also sure is slow one.

abercombre

I receive a call from MR saying I cannot cancel the 1gbps. Because although I arrange for 21 April installation and they cannot make it due to opennet issue. They had to reschedule. This means I have confirmed on the signup. Is this true? Now they want to rearrange the 1gbps appointment. Means what stuck with MR?

I was still thinking whether to sign up. Now they say this. I hear Liao also sian

Swiftbladez

Already say is gamer plans alr. Sure is made for gamers specially one. Non gamers confirm wont understand one lor.

Overseas confirm will slow one. Speed is dependant on how their servers, if they can only take 1Mbps then no matter how fast you have also sure is slow one.

True to a certain extent. The way your connection is routed, throttling etc also comes to play. Some ISPs throttle international bandwidth :o Some ISPs have terrible routing to certain countries too.

So it will be nice to see overseas benchmark as they tell much more of the quality of the service provider.

Johnnny

I receive a call from MR saying I cannot cancel the 1gbps. Because although I arrange for 21 April installation and they cannot make it due to opennet issue. They had to reschedule. This means I have confirmed on the signup. Is this true? Now they want to rearrange the 1gbps appointment. Means what stuck with MR?

I was still thinking whether to sign up. Now they say this. I hear Liao also sian

Hi there, I have dropped you a PM, do check.

ArleFK

True to a certain extent. The way your connection is routed, throttling etc also comes to play. Some ISPs throttle international bandwidth :o Some ISPs have terrible routing to certain countries too.

So it will be nice to see overseas benchmark as they tell much more of the quality of the service provider.

One thing the game plan provides is the Custom Routing which I think gamers will be thankful for.

I would like to see the benchmarks, but I don't think the ISPs can show or will want to show it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.