Need Advice for a full system

GorGor2015sg

Actually im always lurking on this thread and i think i should speak up to.

From the looks of it, TS there are many things to factor in than thinking of how much power does your rig gonna take. Do you know how much are we paying for electricity in kWh? If you know you wont even need to worry big time about the power drawn from the wall. Be it a 300w gpu or a 95w or 140w cpu.

The fact is that if the pc is on idle, do you actually know how much does the pc draw from the wall?

The fact that tdp does not equate that your actual power drawn when it is on load. It varies.

If you gather all the post from what we gurus have mentioned here, you will know that there is no significant difference when you compare stock vs overclocking.

If you done more research and how games utilize resources, you will know that games are not useful to hyperthread. If there is, then that will be a few games. Probably you wont even play that game in the first place.

You are thinking far too much on an i7 when it is just a quad core cou with hyperthread against the i5. With a little more cache memory.

I believe we all have feedback to you more than enough, and since you are geared towards a different approach than any one of us here would reommend you, i guess you are better off on your own.

When I was gaming 10-16 hours a day for one month, vs light gaming, the power bill difference was up to $100. So that's quite significant.

I don't just want to buy i7 and DDR4 based on my own emotions. I did research on my own and saw some people favoring i7 and higher speed RAM. Here are some links. There are more.

http://www.gamespot.com/forums/pc-m...dogs-confirmed-to-use-all-8-threads-31284235/

http://www.legitreviews.com/ddr4-me...nding-the-best-ddr4-memory-kit-speed_170340/6

But I do take the opinions of you guys into consideration. So am now considering i5 as well, since Qian Lian aka Money Face has showed me that an overclocked i5 does not eat power more than a stock i7. I will google this for more conclusive evidence. So I am also considering i5 as well. I read somewhere that DDR3 - 2166 is best for haswell i5/i7 and DDR3-1600 just doesn't cut it. Even a 5 fps increase going from DDR3-1600 to DDR3 2166 is welcome news to me.

GorGor2015sg

Ur debate is going nowhere. The more u dwell in the i7-6700k, the more confused u become.

I just share my opinion with u here.

U want to game? Simple i5-6400 will do. Spend the rest of the money on a good GPU, like a GTX 980 Ti or GTX 970/R9 390.

U wanna have some control over the CPU? Get the i5-6600k. Able to overclock using multiplier, u get to push the CPU harder and squeeze every ounce u paid for the chip to turn it to computational power.

U need hyperthreading for computational work? Go for i7-5820k, period. By paying just a bit more for an i7-5820k + entry level X99 board vs i7-6700k + decent level Z170 board, u get 2 more cores and 4 more threads to work with. But if u go this option, u wont have as much to spend on GPU unless u up the budget.

i7-6700k is in no-man's land. It is not worth the buy unless u really know wad u r into, coz performance-wise it gets beaten by the i7-5820k, yet price-wise it is nowhere close to a i5-6600k. This is me having upgraded from i5-3570k to i7-5820k telling u this.

At the end of the day, it's your money, so still ur judgement call.

Too bad I already spent the money on a GTX 970 as my ATI 5970 card burnt out. So there's no turning back on using the "more dollar for GPU, less dollar for CPU technique."

The i7-5820K is nice. Seems that I missed out the fact that X99 is available in micro ATX form factor.

https://www.asus.com/sg/Motherboards/X99M_WS/

I will be giving the i5-6600K another good hard look.

Thanks.

GorGor2015sg

Any proof to your hypothesis (again)? I have. And this will be my last time spoon feeding and my final post here.

power3.jpg

power4.jpg

http://www.eteknix.com/intel-core-i7-6700k-i5-6600k-skylake-processors-review/13/

You can see above a supposedly higher extreme clocked Core i5 draws less power than a slightly lower clocked Core i7.

And TDP is NOT a direct indication of power consumption but just telling you how much heat expected to output.

Thanks for the link. I will google for more on power consumption for overclocked i5 vs stock i7.

If other links are consistent in their findings, I'm leaning towards an overclocked i5 then.

Because wearing a green shirt (for now) means I must be very very power conscious now. The Nvidia camp and their fanboys are well known for their emphasis on power efficiency and consumption. I was previously an AMD fanboy wearing Red and don't give a **** about Maxwell superior power efficiency and consumption. I bought a GTX 970 after much deliberation comparing against AMD's R390 refresh.

GorGor2015sg

TS, it seems like you are trying to find someone to agree with you to justify yourself.

If you are so fixated on the i7-6700k, i recommend to just get it along with your asus mobo and rams. The debates seem to be going nowhere.

A quick opinion, i would prefer to go for high end gpu rather than high end cpu for future proof gaming.

I might have given ppl an impression that I'm being defensive about the i7. Probably because I have the budget to burn, so was thinking maybe hyperthreading can be more future proof. I read this link, so sharing.

http://www.gamespot.com/forums/pc-m...dogs-confirmed-to-use-all-8-threads-31284235/

Now Qian Lian aka Money Face has shown me one link about an overclocked i5 drawing less power than a stock i7, I might go the i5 route.

We shall see where this takes me to.

Or maybe just stick to my old AMD Phenom II x4 965 and wait for AMD's new Zen CPU to come and start crashing Intel's mid range party. And all prices will start to drop.

enenyi

Too bad I already spent the money on a GTX 970 as my ATI 5970 card burnt out. So there's no turning back on using the "more dollar for GPU, less dollar for CPU technique."

The i7-5820K is nice. Seems that I missed out the fact that X99 is available in micro ATX form factor.

https://www.asus.com/sg/Motherboards/X99M_WS/

I will be giving the i5-6600K another good hard look.

Thanks.
Just remember that there is no way to future-proof any rig, at the rate technology is advancing now. Before the end of this year, u might be staring at Intel 3D Xpoint technology and 14nm GPU chips, making wadever u r going to buy now look obsolete and ridiculous by the end of next year.

I too also entered DIY computer rigs with future-proofing in mind. Back then it was Ivy Bridge chips, USB3.0 technology, PCIe3.0 technology, SATA3 SSD etc. It only sustained me for abt 3 years. I find that from my experience, the moment I upgraded my monitor resolution from 1080p to 4k, my rig could not support 4k and needed to be 'overhauled' (talk about future-proofing yeah). So it might also be the case for u, the moment u jump to a better monitor resolution, the idea of future-proof just goes out of the window, no matter wad u say now.

GorGor2015sg

TS... juz get something like my setup n dont turn back maybe 6600k + 800W psu if on budget... im also using 970 now mayb upgde to 980ti or titan in future who knows... before i use only d duo core processor (from legacy gen to 6th gen super step-up)....

Nowadays... things get refresh only in 6mths.... forget future proof of 5yrs n abve....

Show yr budget to them n they will hapily recommand u....

LOL manja your setup is an Intel i7 not an Intel i5 leh!!!!! LOL

GorGor2015sg

Just remember that there is no way to future-proof any rig, at the rate technology is advancing now. Before the end of this year, u might be staring at Intel 3D Xpoint technology and 14nm GPU chips, making wadever u r going to buy now look obsolete and ridiculous by the end of next year.

I too also entered DIY computer rigs with future-proofing in mind. Back then it was Ivy Bridge chips, USB3.0 technology, PCIe3.0 technology, SATA3 SSD etc. It only sustained me for abt 3 years. I find that from my experience, the moment I upgraded my monitor resolution from 1080p to 4k, my rig could not support 4k and needed to be 'overhauled' (talk about future-proofing yeah). So it might also be the case for u, the moment u jump to a better monitor resolution, the idea of future-proof just goes out of the window, no matter wad u say now.

On a side note, I am considering upgrading my 6 year old ViewSonic 21 inch 1680 monitor to an Asus 144 Hz 1080p monitor. I'm skipping G-sync unless it falls in price significantly. I'm actually a neutral fanboy of AMD and Nvidia, or try to be. But I find it disgusting for Nvidia to be a blood sucker on monitor tech. Compare freesync vs g-sync. The price difference is significant. Some may argue g-sync is superior to freesync but still it it really that noticeable? At the end of the day, freesync is superior to a no sync monitor anytime.

I bought my ATI 5970 dual GPU card 6 years ago and it has served me well for 5 years. Its only in the past year or so that games are starting to demand for AMD 290 level power for max settings. The AMD Phenom II X 965 is not so future proof. But the ATI 5970 that I bought for $720 second hand is truly an amazing future proof card. Probably because I bought x2 GPUs in a PCB board...lol

Given my own personal journey and having lots of satisfaction from the ATI 5970 (RIP and run free at the ATI/AMD bridge), I think an i5 or an i7 will probably last for many more years to come. Maybe I think too much about hyperthreading. Maybe I was thinking that by spending about $100+ more, why not get a hyperthreading CPU? Might come into good use. If the price difference is $300 between an i5 and i7, I would shoot straight for the i5. But if we compare an i5 + Z series board and an i7 + H series board, then difference comes up to be only about $100+. And that's something I need to think about.

aismanja

$1500 alrdy include d cost u had buy d 970.... or stil $1500

n $1500 go for i5.... u cant make it i7 with tht budget.... cuz u gonna kill other parts u needed....

Use my spec as gauge... like everyone say i5 is good enough... n if u insist going to i7 roots... help yrself... yr budget gonna b abve $2.5k....

by d way i buy tht 1000w is from garage sales n cost me less not juz for show-off but had more updge of parts in mind for future (self learning)... 90% in my diy is from there too... from my setup is alrdy $2k-2.5k... if u buy all new parts will b higher cost than mine unless u are class1 bargain hunter...

I may be juz join here but i had been reading n learning from many sifu from tis forum more than 10yrs hiding behind........:D:D:D

***Im only try to help... plz dont kick me:o

GorGor2015sg

u sure bo moneyface dunno about coil whine :s22::s22::s22:

He speaks like he dunno leh.

My windowed panel did block out the coil whine from my palit gtx 970. And that's not hypothetical hor. I took out the windowed panel and can hear the coil whine but when the windowed panel is fixed up, the coil whine disappears.

That's why I'm concerned about whether a vented side panel will let out the whine, or will it shut the dam card up also. lol

GorGor2015sg

LOL too long never log into HWZ..

I just discovered the rig make up of posters are on the right hand side..

will take a look at how many i5s vs i7s...

lol

GorGor2015sg

$1500 alrdy include d cost u had buy d 970.... or stil $1500

n $1500 go for i5.... u cant make it i7 with tht budget.... cuz u gonna kill other parts u needed....

Use my spec as gauge... like everyone say i5 is good enough... n if u insist going to i7 roots... help yrself... yr budget gonna b abve $2.5k....

by d way i buy tht 1000w is from garage sales n cost me less not juz for show-off but had more updge of parts in mind for future (self learning)... 90% in my diy is from there too... from my setup is alrdy $2k-2.5k... if u buy all new parts will b higher cost than mine unless u are class1 bargain hunter...

I may be juz join here but i had been reading n learning from many sifu from tis forum more than 10yrs hiding behind........:D:D:D

***Im only try to help... plz dont kick me:o

LOL I didn't see properly that you got yourself a 1000 watt nuclear supply (for showing off too...lol)

Sorry the 1500 exclude the monitor, ssd and the gtx 970..lol

Ok, I also need recommendations on cooler...will post in another thread as this thread is about mobos...

enenyi

On a side note, I am considering upgrading my 6 year old ViewSonic 21 inch 1680 monitor to an Asus 144 Hz 1080p monitor. I'm skipping G-sync unless it falls in price significantly. I'm actually a neutral fanboy of AMD and Nvidia, or try to be. But I find it disgusting for Nvidia to be a blood sucker on monitor tech. Compare freesync vs g-sync. The price difference is significant. Some may argue g-sync is superior to freesync but still it it really that noticeable? At the end of the day, freesync is superior to a no sync monitor anytime.

No one states that G-Sync is better than FreeSync or vice versa. The fanboys of both sides are the ones trying to claim this. In fact, I would ask u the same question: is CUDA better or OpenCL better? U probably can't give me a satisfactory answer, the best u can muster is that CUDA is more efficient and OpenCL is a more open standard for compatibility. Same here for G-Sync vs Freesync. Wad is the tool used to measure which side is better? How reliable or unbiased is that tool? No one really knows, except that G-Sync and Freesync are technologies by 2 rival companies to introduce the same variable monitor refresh rate technology.

But for me, I'm skipping G-Sync/Freesync altogether coz I have no need for fast refresh rate. Video editing and rendering don't benefit from 144Hz refresh rate anyway, only gaming does.

I bought my ATI 5970 dual GPU card 6 years ago and it has served me well for 5 years. Its only in the past year or so that games are starting to demand for AMD 290 level power for max settings. The AMD Phenom II X 965 is not so future proof. But the ATI 5970 that I bought for $720 second hand is truly an amazing future proof card. Probably because I bought x2 GPUs in a PCB board...lol

Given my own personal journey and having lots of satisfaction from the ATI 5970 (RIP and run free at the ATI/AMD bridge), I think an i5 or an i7 will probably last for many more years to come. Maybe I think too much about hyperthreading. Maybe I was thinking that by spending about $100+ more, why not get a hyperthreading CPU? Might come into good use. If the price difference is $300 between an i5 and i7, I would shoot straight for the i5. But if we compare an i5 + Z series board and an i7 + H series board, then difference comes up to be only about $100+. And that's something I need to think about.

I think this is wad a lot of other HWZers have been trying to tell u: do u even use hyperthreading? Under wad circumstances? If u even make use of hyperthreading, then i7 is the clear way to go, don't even bother about i5 at all. Even more so, get the Extreme versions of the i7 like the i7-5820k, i7-5930k or (if budget allows) the 8-core i7-5960X. People like me who actually use hyperthreading for CPU-intensive stuff like rendering appreciate wad hyperthreading does for us, so will skip mainstream i7 and just go to the high-end i7.

But if u don't use hyperthreading, then hyperthreading becomes another feature that becomes white elephant to ur daily usage. Games don't use hyperthreading coz they are designed to run on all 4 cores (unless the game developer is super hardworking). Other simple activities like office work and web browsing surely don't use 8 threads; sometimes the CPU will even down throttle to use only a single thread for such activities to save power. So buying an i5 to use all 4 cores vs buying an i7 to use 4 cores and incur the hyperthreading white elephant - the answer should be pretty obvious.

GorGor2015sg

Need Recommendations on Which CPU Cooler to get

Hi all,

as I will be getting either an Intel skylake i5/i7 cpu and mobo, which CPU cooler would you recommend?

Need for overclocking.

I like those coolers with fancy LEDs like Sigmatek series.

Also, are water coolers as sexy looking as those fancy LED light air coolers?

Budget ranges from $49-$100.

Thanks.

Allanlee82

stop starting so many thread, ask in your "Need Advice on which motherboards to buy" will do, if not i think the mods will not be happy and you will either get a infraction or ban!!
lol, seems like all your thread got combine my mod already

for cooler can get the GTX H100i/H110i, depending on your casing and the size of fan you are going for

trento

yes most itx cases at least the ones i have got vented side panels. Core V1 allows swapping panels but yr gpu won't be getting intake cool air, which will affect temps slightly.

as itx cases are small, u probably need to cover the side and top to prevent hearing coil whine. my suggestion is go for Core V1. It's only $70. place the window panel beside the gpu. if it works, then great. if not, try covering the top with something. if tats optimal, u can order another window panel from TT.

Building pc is a very personal thing. it's not always possible to assume one's results will be similar to another. so good to always experiment and find out which is best.

commach

@GorGor2015sg

3 points infraction given for spamming the forum despite previous reminder not to do so.

Any new thread asking for advice or recommendation will result in infraction and restriction to access the forum.

You're warned, no further reminder before we impose restriction to access the forum.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.