Need Help! Unit trust investment

Jisoo87

Any of you guys invested into unit trust?
Which fund?
Risk rating?
Dividend paying or cap growth?
Return rate?

I’m thinking of investing my money. Have 300k. No time to manage and my friend told me unit trusts no need to manage actively and it’s better than stocks.
:s11:

addict951

Where got such thing no need to manage I also want!
Put it simply: the unit trust is a basket of individual share counters that the fund manager put together to sell. So if the individual shares all go down (like currently), the unit trust value will go down too.

Unit trust more boh hua than stocks cos need to pay admin fee periodically whether gain or lose.

300K I think you go buy Singapore bonds liao, really no need to manage and guaranteed by garment.

JuniorLion

Which fund?
Risk rating?
Return rate?

I’m thinking of investing my money. Have 300k. No time to manage and my friend told me unit trusts no need to manage actively and it’s better than stocks.

If you insist on unit trusts, then do STI ETF.

Maeda_Toshiie

Which fund?
Risk rating?
Return rate?

No.

No.

No.

Your "friend" is selling those things?

Unit trusts typically underperform the market. You are needlessly losing money that way. You will reget it.

Jisoo87

Where got such thing no need to manage I also want!
Put it simply: the unit trust is a basket of individual share counters that the fund manager put together to sell. So if the individual shares all go down (like currently), the unit trust value will go down too.

Unit trust more boh hua than stocks cos need to pay admin fee periodically whether gain or lose.

300K I think you go buy Singapore bonds liao, really no need to manage and guaranteed by garment.

I just googled and Singapore bonds only give 2-3% p.a?
Is it a bit low (but still much better than putting inside the bank lah)?

Jisoo87

No.

No.

No.

Your "friend" is selling those things?

Unit trusts typically underperform the market. You are needlessly losing money that way. You will reget it.

Really? The unit trust fund my friend recommended me, pays monthly dividend leh. To me this means realised profits and I could potentially use this amount to invest into other stuffs. If not unit trust, what would you suggest?

akwl88

Really? The unit trust fund my friend recommended me, pays monthly dividend leh. To me this means realised profits and I could potentially use this amount to invest into other stuffs. If not unit trust, what would you suggest?

gg

u better read up more on investment

:eek:

BBCWatcher

The primary objection to unit trusts sold in Singapore is that they are high cost ways to accomplish particular investment objectives. Because of the high costs (management fees), they are best avoided....

....Unless you can find a genuine low cost unit trust. It's possible for a low cost unit trust to exist. They do in the United States, where they are called mutual funds. There are some perfectly lovely, low management fee, index mutual funds available in the United States. However, I'm not aware of any low cost unit trusts sold in Singapore, although I keep an open mind and hope that unicorn will be spotted some day.

So, what are the total costs for the unit trust(s) that you are considering? What's the total initial sales charge, what's the annual total management fee, and what's the redemption fee (if any)?

Unit trusts sold in Singapore are not unique in terms of offering "hands off" investing. That's an argument a unit trust seller often makes, but it's not actually true in Singapore any more. There are perfectly fine Exchange Traded Funds (ETFs) that offer the same generalized characteristic. [That argument is more reasonable in the United States where there are so-called "target" mutual funds (Vanguard's, for example) which really are "hands off," even more than anything sold or traded in Singapore. Unfortunately, "target" mutual funds don't seem to be available in ETF form yet, and they haven't been made available in Singapore yet either.]

antonpoh

Let us know which fund your friend recommended and we tell you if it's really ok to invest in that.

alexchia01

Which fund?
Risk rating?
Return rate?

Never invest in Unit Trust.

They rarely make money, just make money for your RM.

Nobody care more about your money than you yourself. If you don't have time, just put into a FD. You are a fool to think that your RM friend care about you and your money.

Maeda_Toshiie

Monthly dividends isn't automatically good. Why? Those monthly dividends can be paid out not only from dividends from the underlying securities, but also from selling the securities within the fund. Where are those dividends paid out from? What is the management fee charged by the manager of the fund? What kind of information was given to you about the fund?

I (and many others) invest for the long term (for future retirement). Hence, we prefer gains to be compounded, not paid out.

Look, your "friend" gets a cut from selling those products to you. He/she has a vested interest there. It is up to you to protect your interests, not your "friend".

kuehteow

Never invest in Unit Trust.

They rarely make money, just make money for your RM.

Nobody care more about your money than you yourself. If you don't have time, just put into a FD. You are a fool to think that your RM friend care about you and your money.

Honestly, not all Unit Trusts are bad right? Yes, it definitely take a longer time to generate a decent return unlike shares. But so far, it does not usually fail me in the long run. I don't usually monitor much unless there is a unexpected major downturn like what happen late last month.

Putting into FD is really the last alternative.

final1

It's not true that unit trusts (aka mutual funds) never make money. Some do in fact perform very well. But, you do have to make your own decisions on what to invest in whether its unit trusts, shares etc.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.