New Scam Variants

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

wongkc

Recently I received calls on 3 occasions, claiming they were from WeChat, informing that WeChat will be charging for their service. Sounds fishy. They wanted me to do something or cancel my account if I don't want to be charged. Something to that effect. I said if that's the case, I would cancel on my own and he said he would call back again if I didn't. Another person did indeed call back after a few days, but his Chinese accent was so strong, and my Chinese isn't that good to fully understand him well so I hung up. Tried calling back but I ignored the call.

Not sure if anyone has encountered this?

This is a known scam... I kenna this few months back... First time called me tell me my WeChat dunno what is expiring... tell me to either renew or it will suspend my account... I just tell him I dun have WeChat account...

Then yesterday I kenna again... this time the guy keep asking if I can speak Chinese... I just keep talking in English... and hang up...

All these from local numbers...

cet87

I think we should list down the latest scam variants for awareness.

Recent encounter in Jan 2025:
Scammer impersonate as bank's Anti-fraud officer, quoting your name and NRIC number (last few digits), and informing you that they suspect your identity has been stolen as someone applied (via SingPass) for and used the credit card in your name. Scammer will then ask if the fictitious mailing address and email address are correct or not. If incorrect, they deem it as a fraud and request that you make a trip to a specific address/place to update your particulars with their anti fraud dept and also lodge a fraud report to MAS. They will emphasise the urgency of the matter, as the identity thief has charged some significant amount of money to your account, so that you will make a trip to meet them.
I got this too. He even helped me to block the card. Also said will direct me to MAS.

cet87

wah, quote name and nric i havent encounter.

issit the kind they call u, when u pick up, is a person on the other end already?

most of the kind i kenna is automated voice recording, then i kup by that time.
my google phone oso help to identify scam calls that other people reported now so i see liao wont even pick up
The guy speaking at the end spoke perfect English.

Mephist0pheLes

I think we should list down the latest scam variants for awareness.

Recent encounter in Jan 2025:
Scammer impersonate as bank's Anti-fraud officer, quoting your name and NRIC number (last few digits), and informing you that they suspect your identity has been stolen as someone applied (via SingPass) for and used the credit card in your name. Scammer will then ask if the fictitious mailing address and email address are correct or not. If incorrect, they deem it as a fraud and request that you make a trip to a specific address/place to update your particulars with their anti fraud dept and also lodge a fraud report to MAS. They will emphasise the urgency of the matter, as the identity thief has charged some significant amount of money to your account, so that you will make a trip to meet them.

they will meet u in person? wont it be obvious if u r not meeting at a bank or police station?

Philipkee

I ever had one case. Met with a minor accident. So called my insurance agent and he said he will call me back

Then I kept getting calls from one number that’s flagged as scam. Called and called and finally I dulan and pick up and he (the insurance agent) say I keep calling u why u never pick up and I shoot back how come your number is flagged as scam?

Could almost hear a knn in the background.

Apparently I called his office for details and he called me back with his Hp.

TA20222025

Recently I received calls on 3 occasions, claiming they were from WeChat, informing that WeChat will be charging for their service. Sounds fishy. They wanted me to do something or cancel my account if I don't want to be charged. Something to that effect. I said if that's the case, I would cancel on my own and he said he would call back again if I didn't. Another person did indeed call back after a few days, but his Chinese accent was so strong, and my Chinese isn't that good to fully understand him well so I hung up. Tried calling back but I ignored the call.

Not sure if anyone has encountered this?

Read this:

https://www.police.gov.sg/media-roo...n_involving_impersonation_of_chinese_services

Emperor_Hippo

Is really ironic until now miw can’t resolve scammer problems in sinkland…. And is getting out of hand
u dun understand the complexities of cross-border jurisdiction huh?

how would u like it if a rando stranger came over to ur house and telling how u shld be running ur own household huh?

hmyoth

Bank officers not supposed to use WA for such matters
I m referring to hp number that I received. I realized that those that are not on WhatsApp is suspicious. For landline number I simply don’t pick up.

Emperor_Hippo

Some of them is to make friend with you , let you understand their businesses, tell you they are very successful doing the business etc etc. enticing you to invest your money blah blah blah. Do you call this scammer? He can be a real person who can meet you outside.
if any fella cold calls u for business, u sure u can trust 'em?

era for cold calling for business only applies to scammers and desperados.

hmyoth

Official officers use landlines. How to have WhatsApp.

I really think you have the high potential to be the next victim. Better withdraw all your money and send to your Nok to handle. :o
Thanks for ur concern. I m not that stupid. I m referring those hp that I received n not on WhatsApp means something suspicious liao. Landline I don’t pick up at all. Even my sister called me from her office I never pick up cos I didn’t save the number .

Epee

I know of a friend who got such a call. At least he has some sense to call the bank back to verify. The scammers even called a second time to follow up.

We just need to help each other by spreading such awareness. Banks should setup hotlines to perform such verification. Every outgoing calls towards customers should be logged so that any agent can reference it and tell you straight away if the call is legit or not. Banks should also publish the number they use to call. Customers can then keep it inside their contact so that it appears as a known number. I just feel that the banks are not doing enough here. So hard to use a fixed set of number to call? IMS solutions are a dime a dozen these days.

BTW, banks do call you for transaction verification, be it PayNow or CC. These are usually from landlines. Scammers called almost exclusively from mobile numbers because it's easier to get hold of one illegally. I have seen some level 3 numbers also so do take note. These are usually from low cost call centers.

English Teacher

For me , just need to check the hp number is on WhatsApp or not. If is not, then highly scammer. Anyway I don’t pick up phone call anymore unless is from my contact list. To me if the person can call u using hp n u never pick up , he can always WhatsApp u if is urgent matter. If not confirm is scammer .
i just LOL at this

mustsic

Scams are indeed becoming increasingly sophisticated and widespread, making it essential for communities like ours to stay informed and vigilant.

I completely agree with your suggestion of creating a dedicated thread to consolidate and update the latest scam tactics. A central hub where people can share their experiences, identify patterns, and learn from one another would be incredibly valuable. It could also serve as a resource for preventive measures and raise awareness about how to detect and avoid these schemes.

For instance, government impersonation scams are especially alarming because they prey on our trust in authority. As someone who has fallen victim to identity theft through such a scam, I understand firsthand how convincing these tactics can be. In my case, I let my guard down during a call that appeared legitimate, only to realize later that my personal information had been compromised.

To prevent others from experiencing similar situations, here are some actionable tips I’ve learned:

• Verify the Source: Always cross-check the legitimacy of calls, emails, or messages claiming to be from government agencies. Call official hotlines directly to confirm.
  • Beware of Urgency: Scammers often use urgency to pressure victims into acting without thinking. Take a moment to step back and evaluate.
  • Protect Personal Information: Avoid sharing personal details like NRIC numbers, banking information, or OTPs over unsolicited communications.
  • Leverage Community Updates: Participate in forums and community alerts to stay ahead of evolving scam tactics.
If we collectively share experiences and new tactics we encounter, it can help strengthen our defenses against these threats. Perhaps forum moderators could also pin or organize this thread for easy access and updates.

Let's work together to stay informed and protect one another from falling victim to these ever-evolving scams.

English Teacher

I know of a friend who got such a call. At least he has some sense to call the bank back to verify. The scammers even called a second time to follow up.

We just need to help each other by spreading such awareness. Banks should setup hotlines to perform such verification. Every outgoing calls towards customers should be logged so that any agent can reference it and tell you straight away if the call is legit or not. Banks should also publish the number they use to call. Customers can then keep it inside their contact so that it appears as a known number. I just feel that the banks are not doing enough here. So hard to use a fixed set of number to call? IMS solutions are a dime a dozen these days.

BTW, banks do call you for transaction verification, be it PayNow or CC. These are usually from landlines. Scammers called almost exclusively from mobile numbers because it's easier to get hold of one illegally. I have seen some level 3 numbers also so do take note. These are usually from low cost call centers.

Banks call me for verification?

Rubbish. I paid $22,000 at Hour Glass but no one called me,
Transferred $150,000 for car downpayment, also no one called me

Epee

Banks call me for verification?

Rubbish. I paid $22,000 at Hour Glass but no one called me,
Transferred $150,000 for car downpayment, also no one called me
That's probably because these are transferred to known businesses. It is also bank dependent. They stop a few of my PayNow to individuals. And some CC transactions to overseas entities.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.