New <射雕英雄传>.. 黄蓉 super chio

Ylendeth

Fwah very satki mens, i one shot hoot 4 episodes so far.
The Temujin is very familiar, is that Tay Ping Hui? Sibeh garang wo.
First time see him act until so garang.

So far the story is very well made, very high production.
Hope the high standard continues.

LOL anyone knows who act as Guo Jing mother har? Jin chio sia hahahaa!! :s13:
knn going crazy. first time think Guojing's mother is chio :s13:

erwinrommel

It will be interesting to see how this li yitong acts in the coming episodes. So far, her current scenes are pleasing to our eyes because everything is happy go lucky up to episode 16.

There will be a lot of crying and quarreling scenes and crisis in the upcoming scenes.

Ylendeth

lol i one shot hoot all the way until Episode 16.
Must say this adaptation is not bad, location, makeup, and even the stunts look very authentic. No goofy looking kungfu styles.

Very good casting also, the main leads got very nice muo qi.
Both GuoJing/Huang Rong + Yang Kang/Mu Nian Ci are very good stories.
I still prefer Ariel Lin's version, more impish, but this new Huang Rong also not bad. No major story deviation also, mostly stick to story so far.

Especially LOVE the Opening Theme Song is a remake of the original 1983 theme and even better that its instrumental as a sort of respect to original late singer Lo Wen.

A few nitpicks:
Abit disappointed with the casting and acting of Hong 7 Gong and Dong Xie.
Hong 7 Gong look too young with too fake moustache, his friendship with Guo Jing and Huang Rong not as sincere as LOCH2008. Dong Xie also look too young, not xie enough.

LOCH2008 Anthony Wong and Hong 7 Gong still the best IMO.

Xiang Long 18 palms look very weak. Cannot compare to LOCH2008
LOCH2008 18 palms is VERY SATKI. LOCH2017 18 palms looks very MEH.

Overall still very happy with this new version, at least is not overly stupid mushy mushy taiwan style romance. If they maintain the quality for the rest of the episodes, this version will rank quite high for me.

AceofSpade14

Must say this adaptation is not bad, location, makeup, and even the stunts look very authentic. No goofy looking kungfu styles.

I still prefer Ariel Lin's version, more impish, but this new Huang Rong also not bad. No major story deviation also, mostly stick to story so far.

Especially LOVE the Opening Theme Song is a remake of the original 1983 theme and even better that its instrumental as a sort of respect to original late singer Lo Wen.

A few nitpicks:
Hong 7 Gong look too young with too fake moustache, his friendship with Guo Jing and Huang Rong not as sincere as LOCH2008. Dong Xie also look too young, not xie enough.

Overall still very happy with this new version, at least is not overly stupid mushy mushy taiwan style romance. If they maintain the quality for the rest of the episodes, this version will rank quite high for me.

thumbs up to the producers for sticking as close as possible to the novel! can't wait for ep16! Duan Tiande!

DTSxbYD.jpg

WhiteHunter

thumbs up to the producers for sticking as close as possible to the novel! can't wait for ep16! Duan Tiande!

ep 16 already out liao. if haven't watch faster go watch cos dunno when they will remove. next one is ep 17.

Some-one

A few nitpicks:

LOCH2008 18 palms is VERY SATKI. LOCH2017 18 palms looks very MEH.

I like the 18 palms in this version as well. Looks more powerful.

Krabs.

the number 1 fan uploaded more of her 1直播 recordings

Steyr69

Just a recap....Epi 16 ending is Guojing bids farewell to his teachers n manor owner Lu Cheng Feng, expressing his wish to go LinAn to locate his 杀父仇人。
As he walks out, Duan Tiande self pwned himself blurting out his own name.....

Sent from Asus ME173X using GAGT

magnus

finished watching till ep 16 in 2 days. so far not bad.

Ylendeth

Anyone knows who the producer or director is for this version?
I like his style, very realistic and stay true to the story.
I hope they continue to do Shen Diao.

Even better if they can do TLBB + Yi Tian Tu Long Ji + Xiao Ao Jiang Hu!

Krabs.

the director from hongkong ...... past 10 years do those china modern drama in the city ..... romance / family / business

his last wuxia drama was 30 years ago

Ylendeth

the director from hongkong ...... past 10 years do those china modern drama in the city ..... romance / family / business

his last wuxia drama was 30 years ago

30 years ago! Wow...old bird siol.
And he from Hong Kong. No wonder pay tribute to 1983's opening music.
Anyone feel this version got a very movie-like quality?

I really want him to do a Shen Diao to erase that HORRIBLE 2014 version with Princess Leia Michelle Chen Ughhhhh the 2nd worst XLN ever. (Worst was that taiwan version with richie ren) :s13:

Ylendeth

My Grading of the Actors/Actresses and their roles so far:
===================================

Guo Jing actor: Good looking boyish look, slow but not retarded. Very sincere acting. He and the Huang Rong nice muo qi. Delivers romantic lines although mushy, but feels very sincere. (But i prefer Hu Ge's sincerity abit more) In LOCH2008, there was a scene when he first learn from Ma Yu and discuss why its wrong to kill even though the person did you wrong. That is a very good scene that would have added alot of depth to Guo Jing's XIA YI feel. LOCH2017 should have added this scene IMO.

Huang Rong actress: Cute and impish, smart and likable (but lose to Ariel Lin abit) Can act quite unorthodox at times which is perfectly true of the character tbh. Tbh when Ariel Lin was cast for LOCH2008, I was one of the first to condemn her, but now I am completely convinced that Ariel was the best Huang Rong ever which really took me by surprise. There's something very youthful and bubbly feel about Ariel in LOCH2008 that this new actress can't quite capture.

Yang Kang actor: Handsome yet Cunning yet can act very good as a Tormented soul. You really pity him when Bao Xi Ruo died and can understand how its very hard for him to suddenly call someone "Father" after never seeing him for 18 years, yet also feel its despicable not to do so.

(Alot of people say the hardest role to play is Huang Rong, which i agree, but I feel YANG KANG is a more harder role to play tbh. Actor needs to be Handsome, Cunning but most of all must correctly portray a TORTURED SOUL. He is a VILLIAN yes, but the circumstances that led to his Denounce his Song Blood is also very complicated. He is a complex Villian that is completely detestable, yet you also sometimes pity his situation. A good actor that can pull it off well is hard to find)

Very good acting from this guy. I love that he NEVER once call Yang Tie Xin "Father" at all so far. A welcome change from the HORRIBLE DRASTIC STORY CHANGE in LOCH2008!!

Mu Nian Ci actress: Got the correct sad yet beautiful willowy look, her eyes very mesmerizing. she's obviously very naive in romance matters, but not overly dumb. Best Mu Nian Ci so far for me liao.

Dong Xie: I understand that this is the original 1983 Yang Kang right? Nice tribute, but unfortunately he doesn't feel very Dong Xie for me. Best Dong Xie for me is Anthony Wong LOCH2008 who got that exotic, powerful, yet wo xing wo su look.

Hong 7 Gong: One of the worst looking Hong 7 Gong unfortunately. He's very obviously a young guy paste very fake moustache, acting very meh, can see he tries hard, but i feel he is the worst miscast of the series so far. And whats with that plastic finger? Talk so much but his 18 palms is SO UGHHH!!!! Worst version of 18 palms for me so far. LOCH2008 is the best version, Old but Funny, Very likable and Honorable, Most SATKI 18 palms ever.

Mei Chaofeng: Very good looking woman, got that despicable evil look, very good makeup and costume. But I prefer LOCH2003 version, got a more ghostly stylish look.

Ouyang Ke: Some people feel he is not good. I feel is ok lah, got the lecherous look. Nothing overly special, but his looks and acting can say is good.

Jiang Nan 7 Guai: All are quite good, comparable to LOCH2008 version. But i prefer LOCH2008 got one scene where they discover they thought Guo Jing learn from Mei Chaofeng and say sorry to Guo Jing. This very important scene however is missing in LOCH2017. Its a good scene that adds alot of depth to them. Not sure if novel has this or not, but its a good scene that should have been added.

Wangyan Honglie: I like this guy. He acts very good, and you can tell he REALLY REALLY love Xiruo. You understand that all his actions is because he love his own Jin Empire and very sincere to find Yang Kang even though he knows he is not his son. Yang Kang's downfall is due to him, yet you cannot blame him because he really loves Yang Kang like own son. Could be the best version for me so far.

Temujin: Satki man Tay Ping Hui! First time I see him act in such a mature role. His first meeting with Zhe Bie and his "Use Battle Helmet as Cup" scene moved me to tears! OMG SO HONORABLE!!!!! So proud our own Tay Ping Hui does such a garang Temujin!!! Older versions of Temujin definitely got a more Exotic Mongolian look, but Tay Ping Hui can say overcomes this with his Garangness which is not something i expect from Tay Ping Hui.

Paiseh i write so much lol!!! I'm a big Jinyong fan (unfortunately i never read the novels. I grew up with LOCH1982 altho maybe I was too young to appreciate it that time, and I find it hard to enjoy it now because the effects are TOO DATED. So paiseh i dun think Barbara Yung is a good Huang Rong.)

So far are my review of the characters lah.
What about you all?

Steyr69

Very nice analysis, Ylendeth.
I think it is unevitable viewers will always compare with previous versions for all these jinyong dramas.
Imho, just view as standalone, this 2017 got its own merits.
Some of the outdoor landscape scenes are very nice.
At least they didnt use back the same backdrop as previous wuxia drama used.

Ylendeth

Very nice analysis, Ylendeth.
I think it is unevitable viewers will always compare with previous versions for all these jinyong dramas.
Imho, just view as standalone, this 2017 got its own merits.
Some of the outdoor landscape scenes are very nice.
At least they didnt use back the same backdrop as previous wuxia drama used.

Thanks!
And i agree. If the quality continues, this version would rank quite highly i'm sure.
Sadly i don't read the novels because my chinese sadly is very LAN lol!!
I can hear, but cannot read and write, so my opinion will be very biased
and will not reflect how the true version should be. (No the english versions will not do justice to the chinese version because there are some feelings and concepts that is not easily translate to english)

I dun understand why people feel remaking jinyong drama sian leh.
i feel he writes very timeless classic stories that resonate even today.
True that they should make his other stories lah, but I still feel the best 5 are:
TLBB > LOCH > ROCH > HSDS > XAJH because they chronologically fit each other the most nicely. For me, when I see Guo Jing use 18 palms, my mind suddenly will drift to TLBB Xiao Feng and suddenly feel sad that while Guo Jing is a worthy successor, Xiao Feng is the one that really push 18 palms to its MOST ULTIMATE level and of course we all know how Xiao Feng ended up. haizz....

Thats why i say these 5 stories fit very nicely. You will unconciously and fondly remember the past practioner of a certain skill etc etc. And these stories are so good, that at a forum i visit i realized even Ang Mo also like them very much. In fact, they like them so much that they are even willing to do english subtitles for them, and even help other Ang Mo explain some wuxia terms like "Meaning of Jiang Hu".

And every remake is a reflection of the times and improvements in filmmaking. Once upon a time, I swear that only HK versions are the best. But the Tiong versions really open my eyes how beautiful the REAL landscapes can really look, and how authentic Tiong portray the weapons and makeup, and how CGI can really improve battle scenes and of course fantasy animals like the Diao instead of using a puppet lol!! Also, after watching the Tiong versions, i realize..."Oh ya hor, these Jinyong heroes ARE TIONGS afterall!! Who better to portray a Tiong, then a Tiong himself right? HAHAA!!" :s13:

And every remake can see the different subtle actions and skill of the actors which is something a book can never replicate.

Just my opinion lah lol!!

Krabs.

the whole set of jinyong books cost about 770 reminbi at taobao while it's available at library , nobody want to borrow

wackykid

i also hope for a good remake of TLBB...!!! my fav jinyong novel... which was totally destroyed by the last TLBB with the dildo stick etc...

regards,
wacky

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.