News| ‘Have a life besides driving’: Death of private-hire driver a wake-up call, say those in industry

TiedInsurer

I disagree again. What’s wrong for a family of 3-4 including young kids living in 2 bedroom.? Clearly, you cannot differentiate what is to survive and what to fulfil a decent standard of living
Nothing with that. But you want them to live in a 1 bedroom, not a 2 bedroom. There's something wrong with that. Clearly, you either have reading comprehension problems, or you are now backtracking fast when you realise how absurd your claims were.

Akky85

Now job market shrinking, poor outlook and budget cuts along with some AI implementation means eventually ppl will get kick out faster then they can get back in, then you have fresh grad joining the competition + FT.

The pool of jobseekers will only grow from now but jobs will no longer grow as fast. For some positions and level, the job already replaced or non existence.

But of cos in EDMW, it's always the ppl that cannot find a job despite their best efforts, that must be buay kan. Whole world only they eh kan.

Cannot blame Govt, cannot blame other ppl cannot blame this and that. Despite more and more of such cases coming up. Sometime i think it's blind fanatic loyalty without common sense that has a mouth that's speaking.

Alot of thing easy to say when ownself never tio. Simi must rest more, must balance.

When Gen Z ask for more work life balance, the same set of ppl kan them for being strawberries.

Then kpkb 我們不一樣 la, 想当年 la.....

MynameisS

Knn. Who dont want a life? But sg too expensive. No money need to work till uplorry mah.

Rulers : I am going to ignore above statement and buy Kopi-O-Kosong at 80p at a Ulu place and pretend cost of living isn’t sky high

Teyemittisi

Nothing with that. But you want them to live in a 1 bedroom, not a 2 bedroom. There's something wrong with that. Clearly, you either have reading comprehension problems, or you are now backtracking fast when you realise how absurd your claims were.
1 bedder or 2 bedder, no issue as long as a hdb under their name. It’s decent living still. Food on the table. Home to go back to.

focus1974

thot this kinda thing, ppl would know automatically to not over exert themselves

but to some, they are still thinking of making more money to make ends meet

telling themselves nvm, they can take that extra hours w/o adequate rest

🤷‍♂️

But this case .. single father .. have to support 2 teenagers.
maybe he really need to work that type of hours to support the whole family.

Most times, people at the lower end of the spectrum, have no choice, they just have to do it to sustain the family expenses. Probably his HDB has not been paid off . The house usually is the biggest expense item in your working life. So the sooner you pay it off, the more you can relax. (assuming you dont do investment)

focus1974

that's why me only drove a total of 6 hr : morning 7 am to 10 am, evening from 5 pm to 8 pm. with tea break and toilet break in between.

money is important but no health got money also no use.

fellow PHV drivers, pls take care.
most likely , it is your financial circumstances allow you to do that.

a lot of retirees last time.. the taxi uncles also like that.
drive only on hours they like.. and then the rest of the day lobo ...
until .. got one time.. taxi company say must clock X mileage per day . lol (donno remove that rule already or not)

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
But this case .. single father .. have to support 2 teenagers.
maybe he really need to work that type of hours to support the whole family.

Most times, people at the lower end of the spectrum, have no choice, they just have to do it to sustain the family expenses. Probably his HDB has not been paid off.
this me can't deny but still own health should still be the utmost priority

to be driving almost all day is no joke

what more sitting continuously on an airplane on a long haul flight

perhaps a 12hr work would suffice but not 7 days a week

at least give self a rest by driving lesser hours for 2 days?

gotta know how to divide the time, if not it's the person him/herself gonna feel the burnout :/

🤷‍♂️

TiedInsurer

1 bedder or 2 bedder, no issue as long as a hdb under their name. It’s decent living still. Food on the table. Home to go back to.
This is where we will have to agree to disagree. 3 ppl in a 1 bedroom HDB is not decent living. Especially when one of the 3 is female.

I was in this crappy situation once. The two males obviously got the bedroom, as there were two of them. The female had to live in the living room, but she, a woman, had no privacy as a result.

focus1974

question we should all be concerned is why must he over work to support his 2 kids.

working normal hours, eg 40hrs/week not enough?

:( :( :(

the same logic as .. hawker prices must be cheap, if not we cannot afford.

focus1974

Impose a limit - full time driver not more than 12 hrs, part time not more than 6 hours of fare earning driving per day. Once limit is reached, driver cannot take any more calls. Imagine each hour of driving yields $20 net earnings, a full time driver can still earn up to $240 a day or more than $6K a month with some rest days included.

then they will switch app.
8 hours Grab,
8 hours GoJek.

focus1974

Talk to one grab driver ytd. He told me if they really chiong 1 month easily 8-10k

they don't know the difference between revenue and profit one.

you better check their numbers. lol

focus1974

i took a gojek about 4 years ago to collect my car from workshop. i still remember the conversation until today. driver face super tanned probably with all the sun in his face. but despite being so tanned, still can see very dark panda eyes.

he say one day drive 15 to 18 hours a day sleep abt 5hrs a day. he is divorced no kids. totally no life besides drive/ shower/ eat/ sleep. he say he likes to read comics before bed but he can barely finish a few pages will fall asleep. his aim is to earn $10k a month (net) for 5 years and he will stop and use the money to start business. - just completed 2 years, 3 years to go.

i ask him he not tired? he say yes, so he hope passengers can talk to him, thats the best way to stay awake. he say most hard to endure is 1pm to 4pm. he sometimes doze off when driving. but after power through these few hours, he wont feel sleepy anymore. he say fatigue is ever present but sleepiness is on and off.

your story only make me very scared to drive on the road..

I think govt really need to start penalizing Grab and Gojek .. for letting workers work too long hours.

Maybe the companies have to now share their database of drivers ..
so the drivers cannot off one app and on the other app ... to continue their 16hours journey.

Dudick

This is where we will have to agree to disagree. 3 ppl in a 1 bedroom HDB is not decent living. Especially when one of the 3 is female.

I was in this crappy situation once. The two males obviously got the bedroom, as there were two of them. The female had to live in the living room, but she, a woman, had no privacy as a result.
How come the 2 males got the bedroom and not the female? bedroom is smaller than living room so the 2 males should get the living room and female get the bedroom mah

focus1974

Now job market shrinking, poor outlook and budget cuts along with some AI implementation means eventually ppl will get kick out faster then they can get back in, then you have fresh grad joining the competition + FT.

The pool of jobseekers will only grow from now but jobs will no longer grow as fast. For some positions and level, the job already replaced or non existence.

But of cos in EDMW, it's always the ppl that cannot find a job despite their best efforts, that must be buay kan. Whole world only they eh kan.

Cannot blame Govt, cannot blame other ppl cannot blame this and that. Despite more and more of such cases coming up. Sometime i think it's blind fanatic loyalty without common sense that has a mouth that's speaking.

Alot of thing easy to say when ownself never tio. Simi must rest more, must balance.

When Gen Z ask for more work life balance, the same set of ppl kan them for being strawberries.

Then kpkb 我們不一樣 la, 想当年 la.....

edmw crowd is not so naive lah.
u talking about outside and reddit.

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
your story only make me very scared to drive on the road..

I think govt really need to start penalizing Grab and Gojek .. for letting workers work too long hours.

Maybe the companies have to now share their database of drivers ..
so the drivers cannot off one app and on the other app ... to continue their 16hours journey.
noob question here:

does Grab even knows who are their employees, the food deliverers espc

🤔

focus1974

noob question here:

does Grab even knows who are their employees, the food deliverers espc

🤔

then how they go online to do deliveries and drive grab? .
The phanton owner who outsource to the illegal riders (i think that one is for food), is a minority ...i'm sure.
but the onus is on the company to enforce. .and the government must push for it.

tatsit

friggin restrict the driving hours of vocation drivers la.. govt pus$y to mandate

in europe:
  • Daily Driving Limit:
    A driver can generally drive for a maximum of 9 hours per day. This limit can be extended to 10 hours twice a week.

• Weekly Driving Limit:
    The maximum driving time in a week is 56 hours.

• Fortnightly Limit:
    Over two consecutive weeks, the total driving time must not exceed 90 hours.

• Break Requirements:
    After driving for 4.5 hours, a break of at least 45 minutes is mandatory. This break can be split into two shorter breaks: a 15-minute break followed by a 30-minute break.

• Rest Periods:
    Drivers must take daily and weekly rest periods. Daily rest must be a minimum of 11 hours, and weekly rest must be at least 45 hours.

TiedInsurer

How come the 2 males got the bedroom and not the female? bedroom is smaller than living room so the 2 males should get the living room and female get the bedroom mah
Not the case for 1 bedroom flexi hdb. The living room is basically also the corridor leading to the kitchen and bedroom. There's space for one sofabed plus one dining table at best. The rest of the space can't be blocked.

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
then how they go online to do deliveries and drive grab? .
The phanton owner who outsource to the illegal riders (i think that one is for food), is a minority ...i'm sure.
but the onus is on the company to enforce. .and the government must push for it.
that's why me asked :s13:

how they even keep track of the hours these Grab workers are clocking in on a daily basis

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.