Nintendo Switch thread

Gametaku

Doesn't feel like rubber to me though. It's seems similar to the new 3DS

It does feel slightly rubbery. Seems to be the outer coating. Have the New 3DS XL but it does not feel the same. Well, i am not the only 1 feeling this way. Critics are saying the same thing...

The Joy Cons have a nice rubbery texture to them to maintain grip, and the buttons all have a decent click and travel to them.

Reddits too:

Be very careful if you're removing them again. Dbrand cancelled their plans for vinyl skins, since the rubbery texture Nintendo used came off with them.

hookwai

The charger rating 5.0V/1.5A and 15.0V/2.6A, which works out to 7.5W and 39W, respectively.
5.0V/1.5A is for direct plug into switch charging.
15.0V/2.6A is used when plug into dock, cause dock needed more juice to powerup.
Standard powerbank 5.0V/2.1A will not have issue charging the console directly.

Gametaku

Calculation to Watt i know.
Behind the battery u can see Rated Energy: 38.5Wh/3.7V

Watt hour does not tell u how fast the powerbank can output. It simply tells u how much energy the powerbank has. For the sense 4 powerbank, you get 38.5wh from 10,400mah x 3.7V.

pegasus21

Calculation to Watt i know.
Behind the battery u can see Rated Energy: 38.5Wh/3.7V

Isn't that rating for the battery itself?

Wh is typically a unit for power over time ie it can supply a total of 38.5W over a period of 1 hour at a voltage of 3.7V. So the mAh rating is 10405mAh.

It does feel slightly rubbery. Seems to be the outer coating. Have the New 3DS XL but it does not feel the same. Well, i am not the only 1 feeling this way. Critics are saying the same thing...

Reddits too:

I was referring to the smaller new 3DS rather than the XL. The outer coat feels similar but we'll see.

Gametaku

The charger rating 5.0V/1.5A and 15.0V/2.6A, which works out to 7.5W and 39W, respectively.
5.0V/1.5A is for direct plug into switch charging.
15.0V/2.6A is used when plug into dock, cause dock needed more juice to powerup.
Standard powerbank 5.0V/2.1A will not have issue charging the console directly.

The 15.0v/2.6A at 39W output is only when all the USB ports and the dock are used. The dock itself output at a rate of 15v/1.2a =18w. I know you can still charge the Switch with a 10.5w output powerbank but i am just saying u can charge it faster with a powerbank that allows you to draw 18w instead.

guanguan

Placed order for a xiaomi 20000mah gen 2 that has 18w output. Just checked and my previous powerbank only has like 10-12w output. This will charge the Switch as fast as docked :s13:

stop poisoning everyone :vijayadmin:

But i check xiaomi 20000mah gen 2 is also 5.1v/2.1A single port output. Only dual output 3.6A (So doesn't really output 18W).

Errz

But i check xiaomi 20000mah gen 2 is also 5.1v/2.1A single port output. Only dual output 3.6A (So doesn't really output 18W).

so the 10000mAh Mi Power Bank Pro is better?

Gametaku

No lah.. it is 5A/3.6A if u use both ports at the same time.

If you use only 1 of the faster port... the powerbank gen 2 can output at 9V/2A and 12V/1.5A. 12V/1.5A is the same rating as the Switch dock. So yes, it can output at 18w.

Over the two ports, there’s a 5.1V/3.6A output combined. Meanwhile, using the faster port alone can give an output of 5V/2.4A, 9V/2A, and 12V/1.5A.

hookwai

If you use only 1 of the faster port... the powerbank gen 2 can output at 9V/2A and 12V/1.5A. 12V/1.5A is the same rating as the Switch dock. So yes, it can output at 18w.

The charger says everything...
Direct into console(4000+mAh) is 5V/1.5A, so if u using a 5V/2.1A powerbank(20000mAh) already overkill.
15V only when its plug onto dock. Since we not using powerbank to plug onto dock, no issue at all.
When we discussed 18W is actually refering to plug onto dock. Cannot use this to compare with powerbank which will charge fast or slow.
In fact i used both. Powerbank is as good as charger, personally i find powerbank faster

guanguan

Are you sure? I'm not super knowledgeable on this though. Because what i read is it support quick charge input(Charge the powerbank) but not output.

hookwai

So which power bank? Haha you all test run first and report back here

I using romoss sense 4 n 6 for 2 days liao. Plug n play the % will still increase but slower. Charging overnight, it will auto cut off when my switch is full (90%... it wont go 100%.... i dont know why...).

Gametaku

The charger says everything...
Direct into console(4000+mAh) is 5V/1.5A, so if u using a 5V/2.1A powerbank(20000mAh) already overkill.
15V only when its plug onto dock. Since we not using powerbank to plug onto dock, no issue at all.
When we discussed 18W is actually refering to plug onto dock. Cannot use this to compare with powerbank which will charge fast or slow.
In fact i used both. Powerbank is as good as charger, personally i find powerbank faster

If you look at the back of the Switch unit itself (not the charger), it has a input rating of 15v/2.6A. This means it can still draw 39w if a charger allows it too. The Switch charger output rating does not mean it is the optimized way to charge the Switch itself. Tested charging with Xiaomi 10000mah gen 2 (with a maximum output rating of 15w) and it definitely charges faster than Romoss sense 6P (10.5w). Charging time from 0 to 100% is about 1 hr faster. Have both batteries and tested them myself so i know.. GPGT.

ptWZtz8.jpg

ksCevZ1.jpg

So yes, go for the Xiaomi gen 2 20000mah (18w output) or Xiaomi gen 2 10000mah (15w output) for faster charging.

Cleaver

Notice my switch stop charging at 90%. Anyone experience this? Tried dock, direct and powerbank. All same result.

Same thing happen to me first 2 times , I off the console let it charge at dock and it stop and auto on by itself .

Only during 3rd time it charge as per normal till full .

You may want to try again . Hope this is a one time issue for us .

hookwai

Xiaomi output 5.1V vs Romoss 5V. Yes xiaomi will charge faster. As for amp is dependent on source, said enough on that liao.

hookwai

Same thing happen to me first 2 times , I off the console let it charge at dock and it stop and auto on by itself .

Only during 3rd time it charge as per normal till full .

You may want to try again . Hope this is a one time issue for us .

Ok will keep checking on that. Thx.

Gametaku

Xiaomi output 5.1V vs Romoss 5V. Yes xiaomi will charge faster. As for amp is dependent on source, said enough on that liao.

Stop contradicting yourself. What we are trying to prove here is that which charger/powerbank can charge the Switch to full in a shorter time.

If the Xiaomi gen 2 10000mah 5.1v at 15w can charge 1 hr faster than Romoss 5v at 10.5w... y is it overkill :s22:?

Dont forget.. u also mentioned yourself that out of the dock... the switch charger output at 7.5w and is slower than your powerbank which output at 10.5w.

Therefore the conclusion is.. if the Switch unit itself accepts a input of 39w (pictured below)...a Xiaomi 20000mah Gen 2 with a output rating of 18w can charge the Switch faster than all of the above mentioned method.

BTJUI2x.jpg

hookwai

If you look at the back of the Switch unit itself (not the charger), it has a input rating of 15v/2.6A. This means it can still draw 39w if a charger allows it too. The Switch charger output rating does not mean it is the optimized way to charge the Switch itself. Tested charging with Xiaomi 10000mah gen 2 (with a maximum output rating of 15w) and it definitely charges faster than Romoss sense 6P (10.5w). Charging time from 0 to 100% is about 1 hr faster. Have both batteries and tested them myself so i know.. GPGT.

ptWZtz8.jpg

ksCevZ1.jpg

So yes, go for the Xiaomi gen 2 20000mah (18w output) or Xiaomi gen 2 10000mah (15w output) for faster charging.

U can try another test. Use the charger plug direct into switch.
It actually wont charge that fast cause its output is 5V/1.5A
Xiaomi powerbank is faster due to its 5.1V

Also would like check with u, does xiaomi gen 2 has the auto cut off function when source is fully charged? Really like that function. Xiaomi gen 2 really jin ex...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.