Note 2 Data disconnection whatsapp lag

mingean

i am on starhub and face this lag issue with my note 2 as well
some messages can get 5 minutes later

diamondback

so far my battery usage and hours are fine, did not notice any big difference.

I tried the push notification fixer... set to the recommended 5 minutes.

only slight improvement. but still having delays in whatsapp and viber. Sian...

Feuerwehrmann

M1 and Note 2, facing the same problems (delayed Whatsapp messages)...
sometimes tio kan by boss when he got urgent messages and I couldn't see before its too late...:(

kennynair

Easiest fix without root.
Install tasker (Might have to purchase).
Create profile to set var a when screen on and unset when screen off.
Create profile to set var b to 1 if wifi is connected and 0 if not connected.
These profiles can be found easily on the internet.
Create a final profile to run every 5 mins. In this profile, run a task that will off and on the mobile data when screen is off and wifi is not connected.

Or you can get get automate it. Which is much much simpler.
After that, notification will be much smoother. Same as the rooted version. But well, no need to be rooted for this one and minimal impact on battery.
Prob abt 5% more for the whole day.

diamondback

sometimes tio kan by boss when he got urgent messages and I couldn't see before its too late...:(

HAHAHA... i also lor!! that's why hoping to find a solution.

Create a final profile to run every 5 mins. In this profile, run a task that will off and on the mobile data when screen is off and wifi is not connected.

After that, notification will be much smoother. Same as the rooted version. But well, no need to be rooted for this one and minimal impact on battery.

mmm... what's the rooted solution?

quiet77

My samsung galaxy s4 with starhub provider is still experience the same problem. Could not received any whatsapp , fb notification when my screen is off. =.= any1 experiencing the same problems?

royfrosty

My samsung galaxy s4 with starhub provider is still experience the same problem. Could not received any whatsapp , fb notification when my screen is off. =.= any1 experiencing the same problems?

I think its a fact that whatsapp is currently unreliable now.

Andrea_T

can share with us the rule you created using automate it for whatsapp push notifications?

cheryl81

same. ppl send me whatsapp I only receive it like 5-10min later

oz_yuber

Same issue here. On Starhub 4G network. I noticed the phone goes into no network at times with me being stationary in the same spot be it in the office, on the move or at home.

Called Starhub, was told to change my SIM but i have yet to get it done.

kennynair

can share with us the rule you created using automate it for whatsapp push notifications?

Not using automate it. Using tasker. Automateit should be able to create almost the same thing.
Just a work around to re-register the google notification. i.e. turn off and on the mobile data when the phone screen is off every 5 mins.
Think that's the max. Else you will get your google notification every half hour. As the default gtalk keep alive timing is 30 mins.

kopi22

Could it be Android problem? Perhaps that's how Android Gtalk heartbeat interval works for notifications? Because my friend who is using iPhone and on Singtel, Whatsapp get prompted instantly for new messages. While I need to access into Whatsapp, then messages flow in. I doubt is Whatsapp nor the telco issues, is the OS itself perhaps?

Wowster

Could it be Android problem? Perhaps that's how Android Gtalk heartbeat interval works for notifications? Because my friend who is using iPhone and on Singtel, Whatsapp get prompted instantly for new messages. While I need to access into Whatsapp, then messages flow in. I doubt is Whatsapp nor the telco issues, is the OS itself perhaps?

I am using Note 2 and with Singtel, so far nvr encounter any delay in whatsapp notifications.

kl39717

After searching high and low for a fix and why is this happening... I guess I finally found the answer.
This test is done using the following...
IPhone 4s on starhub 3g
Galaxy S4 on starhub 4g
StarHub cable broadband

Tried texting from 1 phone to another on a 20mins interval via mobile data and whatsapp msgs are delayed.

Same thing at 20mins interval, using 1 phone on mobile data to text the other connected to my cable broadband, msgs r received almost instantly. Vice versa and results is almost instantly.

Went back to test number 1 n msgs r delayed again.

So I conclude that it's actually starhub mobile data problem already.

diamondback

I called starhub before. they say nothing wrong with their network and signal. then ask me to switch off data, restart phone and on back data... but doesnt help at all.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.