Notice got more and more singles in SG

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

flowerpalms

More singles good what, can hang out together. Everybody no need to stress over kids, expectations, etc. The Govt should allow singles to buy 3-rm BTO - most families don’t even buy these type of housing, all mostly want 4-rm and above or private, even if they are just a couple without any kids.
Single source of cpf is harder

Brionic

The ones who are single mostly unwanted goods left on the shelf, either no money, no looks or both.

xiaosinsinful

Singles living ish actually more expensive because the amenities and supplies or appliances cannot be shared. Some nations literally gib additional benefits to singles or tax married ppl more... Sinkieland ish exactly the opposite.:o

Coupled with the fact that it makes no sense to get married without chewren( => getting pwnz by WC for no reason :s13: ).
Sho the proper balance typically ended up with 3 route.
1) Singles, trade off expensive self living with freedom and living with inner peace
2) Married with 1 child, trade off freedom with shared expenses and a child to experience life
3) Married with NO child, trade off some freedom with shared expenses and get high life but no experience of life with chewren

:o
First time in my life , I’m hearing living single is more expansive then with wife and kids :s22: which universe are you living on?

A man earning 50k is easily richer then a man with 100k with SO+ kids

arsenalfc85

I used to think no sinkie charbors want me n feel v sian.

now i think most sinkie charbors are pure garbage, n its a good thing that im single.

even if i wanna find i also wll find jipun or korean or prc or tw young females. not materialistic + princess attitude chao sng sinkie charbors above 30 years old. pui _|_

roronoa_zoro

First time in my life , I’m hearing living single is more expansive then with wife and kids :s22: which universe are you living on?

He's right, well at least in SG context

If you are single, you can't buy a flat until 35. Renting a room/apt alone is expensive if you cannot tahan living with parents.

If you can buy a flat, you have to singlehandedly pay for own flat. One person pay 200-300k is a lot.
Dont forget furniture, mortgage, bills etc pay ownself.

Couples usually everything share. Buy house share cost. Buy furniture share cost. For couples with children, I understand raising a kid not cheap, but if you both of you got difficulty raising kid until no money spare left then very poor financially planning

xiaosinsinful

If you are single, you can't buy a flat until 35. Renting a room/apt alone is expensive if you cannot tahan living with parents.

If you can buy a flat, you have to singlehandedly pay for own flat. One person pay 200-300k is a lot.

Couples usually everything share. Buy house share cost. Buy furniture share cost. For couples with children, I understand raising a kid not cheap, but if you both of you got difficulty raising kid until no money spare left then very poor financially planning
I’m just saying in terms of expanses. do you spend more $ when you are single or do you spend more when you are attach with your SO?

I go out have a meal , cost me $10
i go out with SO , that same meal will cost me $20.(that’s if your SO is not high SES and expect high end restaurant)

have not included gifts yet

effectively my spending power is halved
1 Salary spend on yourself = shiok
1 salary spend on yourself + SO = 50% shiok
1 salary spend on yourself + SO + kid = 33% shiok
1 salary spend on yourself + SO + kid + kid = 25% shiok.

So if you spend on yourself only, you get to shiok 4x literally speaking... single or attach or married? The choice is obvious...
*this is from a guy POV. ofcourse women is ownself earn ownself spend, dosent matter

roronoa_zoro

I’m just saying in terms of expanses. do you spend more $ when you are single or do you spend more when you are attach with your SO?

I go out have a meal , cost me $10
i go out with SO , that same meal will cost me $20.(that’s if your SO is not high SES and expect high end restaurant)

have not included gifts yet

effectively my spending power is halved

If both of you go out for a meal, then you shouldnt be paying $20. The cost should be divided. Or you can pay first, then she pay later on the next date. If you are the one always paying, then something is wrong.

xiaosinsinful

If both of you go out for a meal, then you shouldnt be paying $20. The cost should be divided. Or you can pay first, then she pay later on the next date. If you are the one always paying, then something is wrong.
In b4 people calling you “a stingy buay guan guy”

AZE

Wife ish supposed to chip in on expenses, that ish what I ish trying to say, sho after accounting for shareable resources and shared expenses, whatever left ish just about enough to raise 1 child without being more expensive than living 100% alone.:o
Sho most ppl ish willing to only hab 1 child, or better still no chewren at all...:s13:

Of course if the guy ish becoming the role of walking ATM while the wife ish tai tai life and child ish charsiew then it will be the worst thing...:s13:

neo_aw

Not all couple will share 50/50..... Most of the time they want the guy to pay the heavy/higher value stuff while most woman/wife choose to pay small/lower value stuff.....

xiaosinsinful

Not all couple will share 50/50..... Most of the time they want the guy to pay the heavy/higher value stuff while most woman/wife choose to pay small/lower value stuff.....
In an idealistic utopian world(which there is real gender equality like females are always complaining about) yes 50-50 hence the cost of when you single or married should not change.

but like you mention, even in this age of gender equality , majority of the time guys are the only that’s putting up the dough when the time comes

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.