NTU APPEAL

nunchukz

Online Appeal for Singapore-Cambridge GCE 'A' Level (Category A), IB (ACSI) and Local Polytechnic Diploma (Category B) Applicants
The online appeal form will be available from 14 May to 7 June 2008. This form will only be accessible if you have applied for NTU programme(s) during the admission exercise for 2008 and have received your application result from us via postage.

https://wis.ntu.edu.sg/webexe/owa/adm_appeal.login

anybody from last year appealed before?
can tell me what needed/prepare for the appeal?
or is it just a blank textfield, write compo/resume give them?

qwer88

yeah yeah.. can any kind soul give us some info on the appealing process (for both ntu/nus)? hmmm... can we still choose a range of courses or only one now? thanks in advance! :)

laober

why don't you just call them? its always easier to find out the info yourself than hearsay. ntu has put its admissions office number on its site really blatantly for you to call. i'm gonna call only tmr or wednesday itself.

anyway you will need to write a short text for the reason for appeal. that's all i know for now.

hoshiyume

I wanted to call but I'm working and their hotline is office hours right?

Then lunch hours like no body there de lor - I called in the past.. then must wait until 2 something then got thru

facialcotton

anybody from last year appealed before?
can tell me what needed/prepare for the appeal?
or is it just a blank textfield, write compo/resume give them?

hi, i tried appealing last year.

on the page itself, you will have to choose the course (one course) you're appealing for, then a box for you to type whatever you want. if i remember correctly, for ntu, the appeal box is for 500 characters (yes, characters, including spaces). however, i cannot be sure at all. i don't think the space requirements matter that much, just prepare a longer essay, then cut down when the limit is reached.

kiryuu

hi, i tried appealing last year.

on the page itself, you will have to choose the course (one course) you're appealing for, then a box for you to type whatever you want. if i remember correctly, for ntu, the appeal box is for 500 characters (yes, characters, including spaces). however, i cannot be sure at all. i don't think the space requirements matter that much, just prepare a longer essay, then cut down when the limit is reached.

Wow thank you! :) Anyone drafting it now?

kennylkl

That means you gotta know which course you die die want to go in! :s22:

hmm.. this is what i think lah... coz since only can appeal for one... i think must be careful liao leh... especially for those who really wish to enter this intake. ya i do understand that everyone would wanna get into their fav course of study... IMO i think its better to appeal for a course that u'll have higher chances of getting into.

laober

i have personally called up ntu for some questions i have.

1) can i reject ntu's current offer given to me and appeal?
ans: yes you may, just that you would not have any place from ntu to fall back on should your appeal fail.

2) can i accept other university's offer but still appeal to ntu? are there any penalty charges?
ans: yes. after accepting the offer from ntu(if appeal is successful), write a letter to the other university to withdraw. currently there are no penalty charges(still early)

3)when will i be able to receive appeal results? will it be in time for the 2nd acceptance period?
ans: results will only be released early july(that's damn late!), depending on number of appeals. its not in time for the 2nd acceptance period(then i really dont know what is it for). students who enter ntu through successful appeals will not miss out on any classes/matriculation activities because those will only commence in late july.

4)will i receive notification of a failed appeal?
yes, whether the appeal is successful or not, you will be notified by post.

hope this helps!

kennylkl

i have personally called up ntu for some questions i have.

1) can i reject ntu's current offer given to me and appeal?
ans: yes you may, just that you would not have any place from ntu to fall back on should your appeal fail.

2) can i accept other university's offer but still appeal to ntu? are there any penalty charges?
ans: yes. after accepting the offer from ntu(if appeal is successful), write a letter to the other university to withdraw. currently there are no penalty charges(still early)

3)when will i be able to receive appeal results? will it be in time for the 2nd acceptance period?
ans: results will only be released early july(that's damn late!), depending on number of appeals. its not in time for the 2nd acceptance period(then i really dont know what is it for). students who enter ntu through successful appeals will not miss out on any classes/matriculation activities because those will only commence in late july.

4)will i receive notification of a failed appeal?
yes, whether the appeal is successful or not, you will be notified by post.

hope this helps!

hey the information is fantastic LOL! tks.

hoshiyume

laober : Thanks for asking all the qns!

Er for the online appeal- is it possible that i login multiple times? Or izzit once login I MUST submit liao? Can i login to see what they ask then login later again to complete the form?

laober

no problem people.. good luck to all, including myself..

to hoshiyume: shld be can la.. you never fill in any details how to submit the form?

achh21

is it okay to sound abit confident in the short paragraph we submit arh? of course not overly confident larh will sound arrogant and leave bad impression. anyone started/already finish writing already? ahahahhaaa

hoshiyume

is it okay to sound abit confident in the short paragraph we submit arh? of course not overly confident larh will sound arrogant and leave bad impression. anyone started/already finish writing already? ahahahhaaa

I'm thinking of short para... but scare later they think i not sincere... but then again if they die also don't want you.. write so long also no use..

I think i'll visit the site first then start thinking of the content..

achh21

I'm thinking of short para... but scare later they think i not sincere... but then again if they die also don't want you.. write so long also no use..

I think i'll visit the site first then start thinking of the content..

hahahaaa but i thnk i just write what i think is useful larh. cause like what you say if too short looks like i not very sincere in appealing. i thinking how to express the deep interest i haf in the course i going to appeal :s22:

kiryuu

What will you all be mostly focusing on other than the concerns and deep interests in the course? Any other? Are there tips to write appeal letter around? :p

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.