NTU Computer Science

IAmZTX

What kind of advice do you need?

1) Go read up on Discrete Mathematics
2) Learn Python and practice
3) Go read up on Digital Logic
4) Recap your maths if needed

Most importantly, be mentally prepared if you are from Polytechnic. Do not expect them to provide you with answers.

1) Be positive at all times (Sometimes you will feel demoralize when you didn't perform well during class test, project assignment)
2) Go for Freshmen orientation no matter how busy you are. VERY IMPORTANT! ~ Make new friends ~
3) Do not get influence by others easily (Social Media, Games, etc)
4) Do not skip lectures or lab, always do your revision before class starts
5) Ask questions if you are not sure (Do not assume you know because you need to understand the topic WELL. Exams questions will be tested based on your understanding)
6) Do not procrastinate. You may think you understand a topic well or too easy for you. It might not be the case.
7) Do not rely on the lecture notes too much for exams. Read up on textbook reference for more information.

The reference books can be found at NTU website.

ONeDegree

Most importantly, be mentally prepared if you are from Polytechnic. Do not expect them to provide you with answers.

1) Be positive at all times (Sometimes you will feel demoralize when you didn't perform well during class test, project assignment)
2) Go for Freshmen orientation no matter how busy you are. VERY IMPORTANT! ~ Make new friends ~
5) Ask questions if you are not sure (Do not assume you know because you need to understand the topic WELL. Exams questions will be tested based on your understanding)
6) Do not procrastinate. You may think you understand a topic well or too easy for you. It might not be the case.
7) Do not rely on the lecture notes too much for exams. Read up on textbook reference for more information.

digital logic as in the module ?

recap maths as in emaths ?

the course is heavily in maths ? seems like it is tough in order to score well.

do you regret taking this course ?

Havok_ex

Recap math as in Poly level math. Or A math at the very very least. Uni level math is a level above H2 math. That's very far away from e math leh.

IAmZTX

i was a NTU drop out if you ask me. Yes it is heavily focus in maths and it mostly testing your logic thinking.

Try to check the past year exam papers as well. Anyway, its degree level. No longer Poly level. Make a choice and don't regret! Work hard for it.

zero_88

Please dun come com science

in local uni

u all will regret it

dun say nvr warn u all!!!!

Is it not that difficult, however I think of changing course or even quit school. my standard is not good enough for NTU.

cos the environment is a bit too fast paced for me, and it is like more rewarding for those "elite", if you are those average or below average student, your life will only get harder, when u reach year 2 or year 3, ytou might feel that you dun have interest in computing anymore

I have interest in programming and computer, but not this kind of "computing", it is a bit too chim for

I dk how to explain to you here

in short, if you are those zai kia or programming pro, it will be a heaven for you, cos u will enjoy coding and ADVANCE MATH for you, and the MATH is like SUPER CHIM that kind.

If you are those want to just smoke your way through the 4 years and want to just get a normal degree, you might have a very hard time. This course is not for people who want a "easy life".

it is 70% math related content there, it is super chim

if you all really not scare of being trash until siao by FT and JC people...go ahead :)

If you open house, they wun tell u the hard-truth one la

davidktw

If you have no passion for your goal, then anything difficult is not worth it. If you have passion, you will want it to be difficult so that you gain something at the end of the day.

If everything is easy, that means you knew it already. If that's the case, why even bother to waste your time going through the process ?

Computer Science courses expose you to the fundamentals of how technologies are born, what are the theories that drive them and the foundation that are to be applied to real world applications.

If you are interested in pursuing a dream or goal in understanding technologies and wanted to have a career in it hoping that you will be creating meaningful solutions for the end-users, or perhaps even discover more technological advancement in the field, then you will want to go through with a Computer Science course.

It is not a course to make you a programmer, that's the low bearing fruit. The higher level is appreciation of technologies and giving you the opportunity to discover a specialisation in the multitude disciplines in Computer Science.

davidktw

Please dun come com science

in local uni

u all will regret it

dun say nvr warn u all!!!!

Your message is pretty crystal. We probably wouldn't know if all others will regret it, but certainly all others knows you regret it badly.

The reason is because you have claimed your incompetency in the course, so I think logic and reasonings pointed out that we can believe the problem is between the keyboard and the chair.

The very fact you can come into the public forum and publicly position your incompetency and claimed the problem is elsewhere is exactly why you can't do well in Computer Science. You basically don't qualify the prerequisite in exercising good judgement in logics.

When you go into an education having your objectives such as "easy life", "smoke your way thru", "get a normal degree", is what we called mismatched of expectation. In the Computer Science stream, we don't want easy life, what want challenging life. We don't want to smoke our way thru because what makes things work is we understand as much as possible of them. We definitely don't like a normal degree, the degree for respectable IT professionals is a pride we carry long after we graduated.

Have you finally realise it ? :)

CarEnthu

I am going comp science at ntu this coming August and I'm thinking of getting a MacBook Pro, is it advisable to get one for the course. Can any seniors help me in this? Is it advisable to get a Mac over windows?

Thank u.

mistersatki_

hmm heard u graduated with a FCH
u can fug all the 7 points and still graduate with honors if you are smart enough la

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.