NTU modules

iamalwaysin

i dun understand e popularity of forensic science..issit that really easy to score in this module?..require lots of studying?

RaPtOrZ

xinus84 said:
EE8082 com tech for the digital age - no tutorials, 50% of course calculation needed. if ur maths zai this should b no problem. no maths sure at least a C pass.

some modules like Astrology, Are You OK?, Mind Over Stress, Mental Health something something, magic realism, media in america, etc no nid tutorials.

business side i think accountancy and business finance need tutorials.

hey hey!! i taking ee8082, but some qns are lk essays de leh... how to score ar?? i not eee or ce student... am a CBC student.. took up the elective bcos it fits my timetable.. LOL... my maths not bad la but no engineering backgrd will suffer??

pls provide tips in scoring.. thx!!

RaPtOrZ

i wanna take up hc 805 and gv 17!! any other interesting yet ez modules to take??

siandiao

TiOnGSquare said:
so the exam is in chinese?
u r so damn right, exam is in chinese

but it looks damn easy

anyway i hope they teach the song 千里之外 leh, it'll be so damn inspirational :o

xinus84

RaPtOrZ said:
hey hey!! i taking ee8082, but some qns are lk essays de leh... how to score ar?? i not eee or ce student... am a CBC student.. took up the elective bcos it fits my timetable.. LOL... my maths not bad la but no engineering backgrd will suffer??

pls provide tips in scoring.. thx!!
like i've said.. 50% calculations, the remaining 50% is on internet and communications, mostly theory, try to score for that one.

50% of calculations consists of 25% fibre optics n 25% satellite. the 25% satellite up the lorry, u can giv it to lecturer cos calculations simply too tedious. u may wish to write some rubbish to gain sympathy marks. as for the 25% of fibre optics, no use studying theory. just get the formulas right, cos mostly test on calculations one.

there u go... at least 50-75% scored. i got a B. good ruck!

DryingAgent

HA304 Comparative Public Administration - DryingAgent

Main focus would be the case studies of US, UK, Japan, China, Singapore, Malaysia, through which a comparison is made to bring out the differences in governance in developed vs less developed countries. Short introduction to the academic field of public admin, its past and its future would also be covered.

Not really a module that you can slack through, most people are taking this as part of a minor so you'll have to be consistent too. Readings are not light, but still manageable. Feelings towards the lecturer swing both ways so it really is a matter of personal taste as to whether you would enjoy his lectures. Participation (includes one presentation) - 15%, Mid-term - 15%, Essay (2500-3000 words) - 20%, Final - 50%

DryingAgent

HH101 What is History? Concepts, Practices and Critiques - DryingAgent

This module feels like A level S-paper History, so take it at your own risk. Focus isn't about events in history but techniques to approach historical study. Suitable for opinionated people who have good general knowledge and want a challenging module. Very reading intensive and you'll probably have to put in more time than compared to your average elective.

Essay - 30%, Tutorial participation : 10%, Final Examination : 60%

Essay is 1500 words. The two topics given were: (1) “Historical ‘truth’ or ‘understanding’ implies objectivity but it is actually a subjective ‘truth’ or ‘understanding’”. Discuss this statement with relevant examples. (2) Write a book review of Mao, the Unknown Story by Jung Chang and Jon Halliday.

DryingAgent

HA101 Introduction to Public Administration - DryingAgent

Very straight-forward introduction to the basic theories and history of political science/ governance/public policy. Also covers things like management, HR and budgeting in public administration context, i.e some overlap in content with business modules. Most people don't encounter much problems with this module as the content covered is quite easy to grasp.

Essay (1000 words) - 20%
1. Why do we need a government?
2. If you are a public manager, what can you do to achieve success in a changing government?

Group Projects (debate & report) - 10%
1. Are there essential differences between public organization and private organization?
2. Is contracting out an effective means of providing government services?

Final Exam - 60%
You'll be given a list of questions around a week or two before the exams. The answers to these questions can all be easily found from the course textbook. The questions in the exam is taken from that list of question. Exam is not difficult at all as you can memorize wholesale.

Class Participation - 10%

time_shock

Okay I've dropped HE119 Econs already :D

Now I've taken up 2 electives as insurance. And I'm planning to keep only one of them. Which one should I keep?

EE8091 Sound in our daily life
or
HL809 Music, technology & the novel

Any bros taken these 2 modules before?

DryingAgent

time_shock said:
Okay I've dropped HE119 Econs already :D

Now I've taken up 2 electives as insurance. And I'm planning to keep only one of them. Which one should I keep?

EE8091 Sound in our daily life
or
HL809 Music, technology & the novel

Any bros taken these 2 modules before?

If you want something more technical take EE8091.
HL80* modules usually more readings/essays.

time_shock

ok dropped HL809. i wouldn't want to risk myself with literature when i haven't touched it since sec2.

time_shock

EE8091 Sound in our daily life is a new module sia.. it looks like this batch is the pioneer batch

HS811 Whose rules? Issues in crime and punishment... i heard it's easy to score. any comments? I actually was scanning STARS and i spotted a vacancy just nice :D

Kiddream

hi ppl,i'm currently yr1...wana ask u all...should i take 5 or 6 modules? i hate my additional module...making it a 5 day week

SuperOrange

Kiddream said:
hi ppl,i'm currently yr1...wana ask u all...should i take 5 or 6 modules? i hate my additional module...making it a 5 day week

clear ur modules as much as possible so that when u have much time to do ur fyp in ur last yr

Aeternos

Anyone got advice on BS801 - Genes R Us? Never taken bio before and first lect was like crap. Wondering if I should jus give up and drop or is it actually possible to do well with some effort?

time_shock

hmm i have no idea on genes r us.. but i heard its quite easy to score. most electives with pure lectures are rather dry. you can always bring your laptop and give yourself some entertainment when the lecture gets too dry. :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.