NUS SCIENCE(STATISTICS)

Luminol

Wa. Chingway last time hair like quite long de. Lol.

Sidenote: How come ST2132 like skip here and there ar? quite mafan to read the textbook like that. Prior prob quite useful de leh.

Maybe covered in Bayesian?

Darkzi0n

haha good mah.. i rather he skipped them.. no need to read and practice so much. all the test/project deadline last week make me cannot keep pace with ST2132 and EC2101 liao. if he pack somemore content inside i think i sure gg liao :(

Rusty89

Maybe covered in Bayesian?

Eh no leh. He also never cover Bayesian.

haha good mah.. i rather he skipped them.. no need to read and practice so much. all the test/project deadline last week make me cannot keep pace with ST2132 and EC2101 liao. if he pack somemore content inside i think i sure gg liao :(

Coz got one of the tut qn asking about outcome favor H0 then will be better to use posterior prob to find instead of like small values of X which is rather vague.

Haha u sure can de la.Week 13 liao. should be free le ba. like not alot of tut and lect left le.

Darkzi0n

Guys...
How do u all do for ST2137 proj?
Mine buang liao :(

how u know u buanged... dr david nvr say the mean/median marks hor? :(
Actually i also scared i buanged... dr david looks like the type that will give alot of 14-15 out of 15 :(

Darkzi0n

Cus i ask quite a no. of ppl for their marks...
So far i heard noone get 14-15...and one of the grp i asked made up mainly GPA of at least 4.5 de...
Btw how much u get? Can share? I share mine too
Haha:)

My group got 12. Can share wat is the average or the range of the ppl u ask too? :)

Darkzi0n

Lol I also hear he anyhow mark midterm one... code does not work also can get full marks for the question lol

Aegis

Mid term not always marked by lecturer, I've marked before as a graduate student many years back. Marked until damn shack, 250 students... The lecturer choot stunt say can dispute if not feel not marked fairly. In the end I got a stack of papers back, I vividly remember one joker tell me he deserves more marks cos his wrote his name. Nearly wanted to nit pick and minus some more points. :s13:

Rusty89

Mid term not always marked by lecturer, I've marked before as a graduate student many years back. Marked until damn shack, 250 students... The lecturer choot stunt say can dispute if not feel not marked fairly. In the end I got a stack of papers back, I vividly remember one joker tell me he deserves more marks cos his wrote his name. Nearly wanted to nit pick and minus some more points. :s13:

O.O our fates is in your hand! Need to prepare roasted duck and pig head as offerings liao

Aegis

That was long ago, now I dunno how it's like. Think only big class then tutor mark. Most of us actually do give benefit of doubt when marking. If I marking now probably easier to bribe me with wine or beer. :s22:

Darkzi0n

hi guys... anyone can tell me how to do ST2132 tutorial 6 question 1(c)?
i did it the long and stupid way where i derive the inverse gamma and integrate it.. :s22::s22: .. but i rmb there is a much easier alternative solution presented in the tutorial... anyone can tell me wat was it?

thanks

Darkzi0n

X~gamma(lamda,aplha)
Let Y=1/X

Y~Inverse gamma (1/lamda,aplha)
Beta=lamda
Use the formula for inverse gamma:
E(Y)=beta/(aplha-1)
Var(Y)=beta^2/((aplha-1)^2)(aplha-2)

If i am not clear enulf, u can wiki formula for expectation and variance for inverse gamma
Alternatively,there oso a forum post in ST2132 ivle, which gives the exact formula by a student, do check out

Hope it helps :)

oh, so we can assume we know the expectation and variance of the inverse gamma arh? haha kk thx alot :)

Darkzi0n

How do u all study for ST2132 de?
Pyp only gt 2...text bk qn so many irrelevant and tough?
Can share?
:)

Lol I havnt even do the pyp yet.. Now still redoing tutorials. And those tb question jus cross out irrelevant parts and do the rest loh.

Darkzi0n

Yea. But I listen finish the first one den left Liao.. Wan to See how prepared I'm by doing atleast one paper without knowing the answer first.

N yea started Liao lol

Rusty89

Oh that guy who left early is u ar? Lol.

Anyway the ec2101 paper so different format from last yr sia. They got teach Nash and lagranian last time.

Aegis

Are you guys still using Rice's text for ST2132, the best advice I can give you is to finish all the questions. That or any other textbook you are using. It will all click after a while.

Darkzi0n

Oh that guy who left early is u ar? Lol.

Anyway the ec2101 paper so different format from last yr sia. They got teach Nash and lagranian last time.

lol, i tot u knew who im already.. and yea loh.. Nash like very interesting leh.. guess we have to wait till EC3101 den got.. and got one paper got monopolist also.. ours like very watered down like that.. but im not complaining :s13:

Are you guys still using Rice's text for ST2132, the best advice I can give you is to finish all the questions. That or any other textbook you are using. It will all click after a while.

aint nobody got time for that :(

Rusty89

lol, i tot u knew who im already.. and yea loh.. Nash like very interesting leh.. guess we have to wait till EC3101 den got.. and got one paper got monopolist also.. ours like very watered down like that.. but im not complaining :s13:

Haha I still duno who u are. Can't possibly go look around for someone with puma watch. Haha I was kidding. So long ago de review lect how to rmb sia. Yea. If u are interested in Nash I recommend the movie A beautiful life. Yarloz like alot module all cut down alot. Like 2132 cut down on prior. Last time seems abit xiong.

Rusty89

Yea we are still using that rice text. Planning to do up his questions but hard to get the answer plus some really irrelevant.

Rusty89

But textbk mainly no answers leh
The pyp paper is tough man:(
No answers oso...LCH nvr go thr everything
Haiz...
Life is tough :(

Lol don't so emo and negative leh. I also don't think chingway will set too difficult since the mid term quite easy. 2132 your last paper ar?

Darkzi0n

No leh... Still gt ST2137 & MA2311
Btw u all noe how to do the last 2 qn of sample paper for ST2137? Oso the R-code for qn 1 for ST2137 tut 08 ans dun work?
Haiz

havnt try the sample paper yet, but the r code works leh, i jus tried.. did u have any typo?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.