NUS SCIENCE(STATISTICS)

Aegis

Haha...
Since you r so gd... can u offer help to the mod i am reading...
I struggling now :(

the first course that people struggle with is usually mathematical stats, then stochastic processes. for those planning to do hons, take your linear algebra and calculus classes seriously, it will go a long way. grad sch need solid grounding in real analysis/measure theory for advanced prob theory. then again also heng suay depends on lecturer.

my level 4 linear models taught by prof bai was quite tough but i learnt alot from him. i still remember first week got 23 students, second week only 7 of us left after the rest dropped it.

Darkzi0n

Hw abt majoring in business and finance stats?

if u r intending to be do actuary, having pass some actuary test will greatly improve ur chance of getting into the field i think. the field place alot of emphasis in passing those tests. and dun forget u will also need to compete against ppl from ntu who will be exempted up to 8 test.. but of cos most of those ppl who went to ntu drop out halfway and most who stayed typically get 2-3 exemptions or less.

Haha...

im not good lar..jus a chao mugger. if u got questions u can pm me, but i will avoid answering tutorial questions until they are being gone through in tutorial. or u can also try asking in the ivle forum. there is a very zai kia in ST2132 who is very active in the forum and he helped me alot. i go there quite often too.

if you're serious about being an actuary do try and take the exams, i think nus stats got offer 1-2 classes that is good prep for the first 1-2 tests covered by
the uk actuarial society to be an associate. usually people take the basic exams join an insurance company and the company will pay for you to take the other exams. iirc it gets pretty expensive for the higher level exams. be forewarned, actuarial work is very boring one. :s13:

haha i dun really mind boring job... and i like the fact that the career path is very structured... the more test u pass the higher ur pay. and they are very well payed too... i heard it takes about 3-5 years to be an associate.. and being an associate alone is very well remunerated liao. :) but of cos im not trying to die die get into the industry... jus trying to widen my option as much as possible.

the first course that people struggle with is usually mathematical stats, then stochastic processes. for those planning to do hons, take your linear algebra and calculus classes seriously, it will go a long way. grad sch need solid grounding in real analysis/measure theory for advanced prob theory. then again also heng suay depends on lecturer.

my level 4 linear models taught by prof bai was quite tough but i learnt alot from him. i still remember first week got 23 students, second week only 7 of us left after the rest dropped it.

for lvl3000 n 4000 mod with very few ppl they longer use bell curve already rite? :s11:

Darkzi0n

the zaikai u toking abt is wei quan ah?
Haha :(
u dun mind pming mi , sharing wif mi hu u r?
Lols

yea weiquan.. he is unbelievably zai.
n paiseh.. i dun wanna sexpose myself :( .... altho im easily traceable with the amount of info bout myself which i put online :s22:

Rusty89

U wan to be acturian go take the test offered by the acturian society/association.. They r offered by a few country tho.. I think Singapore one usually take those offered by uk iirc. I'm planning to pass 1 or 2 test before I graduate.

Yea i read up on the tests offered previously, seems like uk is one of the being recognised in singapore

Haha...

Haha what mod u taking? even though i m not as zai as darkzion but maybe can collude? :D

erm dud, pharma=pharmaceutical industry the folks that invent and make drugs. pharmacy is a place that dispenses drugs.

I think it is harder to go into an international bank for fresh grads without good grades unless you got connections. if your basic stats is average, a financial engineering degree will be very hard work.

if you're serious about being an actuary do try and take the exams, i think nus stats got offer 1-2 classes that is good prep for the first 1-2 tests covered by
the uk actuarial society to be an associate. usually people take the basic exams join an insurance company and the company will pay for you to take the other exams. iirc it gets pretty expensive for the higher level exams. be forewarned, actuarial work is very boring one. :s13:

Haha paiseh, i not so familiar with the pharm side. Hows work over there? interesting?

yea weiquan.. he is unbelievably zai.
n paiseh.. i dun wanna sexpose myself :( .... altho im easily traceable with the amount of info bout myself which i put online :s22:

:s13: are u steven?

Yea man kinda struggling in St2132. Heard it's one of the most difficult stats mod.

Luminol

Yes i do biostats as im in pharma. for stats to get into pharma you need an msc, what i have discovered is that you really need a phd to open doors. not that the things you do are that technical but they recognize that degree in this line. my colleagues 60-70% have phds, I also ll doing a part time one now. if i can turn back time i would just go all the way from the start.
if you want to do into finance, don't bother doing those financial engineering/msc, etc, if your grades are good enough you will stand a chance of getting that interview. whether you can get the job is another thing. my friends in finance most of them did well in fass econs (1st or 2nd upper), some of them are from computational finance.
fresh honors stats if you can get a job in pharma i think should be able to draw close to 3k? im not really sure actually so don't quote me. in the industry with a phd some will pay you more than 10k... finance/banking im not really sure, but should be getting 4k+ at least. cheng hu prob a lot less, for me its just a back up plan if tio retrenched. :s13:
let me know if you have any more questions. if you wanna know where i work, *hint* my office is in med/sci! =:p

U working at sch of public health ah?

Darkzi0n

:s13: are u steven?

Yea man kinda struggling in St2132. Heard it's one of the most difficult stats mod.

lol.. even if im steven i also wont admit :s8:

and chingway very good liao, leave out chapt 7.5 (but waste my time reading it... :mad:).. it was the hardest portion of the first 2 chapt. but wait till u all see chapter 8.5.2 n 8.6 bah... i got no idea wat im reading in those part :s13:

Rusty89

lol.. even if im steven i also wont admit :s8:

and chingway very good liao, leave out chapt 7.5 (but waste my time reading it... :mad:).. it was the hardest portion of the first 2 chapt. but wait till u all see chapter 8.5.2 n 8.6 bah... i got no idea wat im reading in those part :s13:

Stratifield Random Sampling ar? wa u finish the whole textbook liao? :eek:

Anyway i think the notes is rather insufficient leh :(

Wonder where the mid term until

Rusty89

So u r the guy wif the laptop tt always sit beside wei quan?
Haha :)
Btw do u noe how to obtain the solution for the john A. Rice book?

Haha you wanna make use of the solution to do tutorial ar? :s13:
Anyway wanna collude mah? :(

Darkzi0n

Stratifield Random Sampling ar? wa u finish the whole textbook liao? :eek:

Anyway i think the notes is rather insufficient leh :(

Wonder where the mid term until

no lar.. startin 8.6 onli.. too chim for me liao.. waiting for them to be gone through in lecture first... n i also think the lecture notes alone is not enough.. but it is super effective in clearing ur doubts if u had read ur textbook ahead.. sometimes it provide alternative solutions which are more elegant than the one which was provided in txtbook also.

So u r the guy wif the laptop tt always sit beside wei quan?
Haha :)
Btw do u noe how to obtain the solution for the john A. Rice book?

haha nope im not. :s13:
n i was trying to find the solution also.. but couldnt find any..

Haha you wanna make use of the solution to do tutorial ar? :s13:
Anyway wanna collude mah? :(

Anyway, there is one slight misprint in the solution behind the textbook... the solution for question 49 is actually for question 48.. so it might be useful for tutorial 3 question 4.

Rusty89

no lar.. startin 8.6 onli.. too chim for me liao.. waiting for them to be gone through in lecture first... n i also think the lecture notes alone is not enough.. but it is super effective in clearing ur doubts if u had read ur textbook ahead.. sometimes it provide alternative solutions which are more elegant than the one which was provided in txtbook also.

Anyway, there is one slight misprint in the solution behind the textbook... the solution for question 49 is actually for question 48.. so it might be useful for tutorial 3 question 4.

Yarloz like got some formulaes i dont seem to see it in the notes but can be found in the textbook. Thanks for the heads up! :)

Sure :) how do i identify you in lecture?

Er i am actually quite obvious to spot :s13:

FlashMX

hi junior here. Jus checking with Darkzi0n. You're dng stats and econs double major rite, does that mean EC1301 is a wasted module?

Darkzi0n

hi junior here. Jus checking with Darkzi0n. You're dng stats and econs double major rite, does that mean EC1301 is a wasted module?

nah. y would it be a wasted mod? it will count towards the second major requirement for EC and it is equivalent to EC1101E.

u planning to do double major too? :)

FlashMX

nah. y would it be a wasted mod? it will count towards the second major requirement for EC and it is equivalent to EC1101E.

u planning to do double major too? :)

Lol because i thought those dng econs major cant take ec1301, or is it just those from fass econs?

Darkzi0n

Lol because i thought those dng econs major cant take ec1301, or is it just those from fass econs?

the requirement for Econs major is EC1101E.. but for those doing it as second major, either one is fine.

Rusty89

Guys, can I ask about the fac requirement for stats ar? Coz I think I read somewhere that it's not any modules outside your major but within your fac. As in there are specific major de mod to take. Is it true ar?

Darkzi0n

Guys, can I ask about the fac requirement for stats ar? Coz I think I read somewhere that it's not any modules outside your major but within your fac. As in there are specific major de mod to take. Is it true ar?

I think u cannot take ma n st as ur fac requirement. And the 2 fac req mod u take must be of different prefix. I dun think there r other restrictions Liao.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.