NUS SCIENCE(STATISTICS)

Tatami

Woots! Back from holidays. eh world havent end ar?

Btw tatami what yr are u in? maybe we can play more of such guessing games again.lol. yea St2137 is only offered in sem 1 so the only alternative is to take nx yr sem1. i heard some ppl not taking that this sem. so u probably can see some familiar faces. And i think taking next yr shouldnt be much of a problem as in it is not rly a prerequisite for other mods unlike ST2132.

Answered your question in prev post. Yes we are alive! Mayans aren't that reliable.

Thanks for the info~

Tatami

I gt two sem worth of ST3131 stuff from senior + my sem ST3131 stuff (pyp soln +tut soln+lecture notes)
I send u when my exam is over cus the zip file is huge! ( 3 sem in total!)now still gt exam lazy upload :(

Is your offer to share St3131 notes still valid? :D I need it too

Darkzi0n

Woots! Back from holidays. eh world havent end ar?

Btw tatami what yr are u in? maybe we can play more of such guessing games again.lol. yea St2137 is only offered in sem 1 so the only alternative is to take nx yr sem1. i heard some ppl not taking that this sem. so u probably can see some familiar faces. And i think taking next yr shouldnt be much of a problem as in it is not rly a prerequisite for other mods unlike ST2132.

wah so good, where u go arh?

Heys, I'm year 2. Yes heard that st3236 would be hard! But it will not be offered for the coming sem.

Sian regret not planning my timetable well.

i think it is offered, but under the math department which will probably make it even harder lol

Rusty89

wah so good, where u go arh?

i think it is offered, but under the math department which will probably make it even harder lol

Went to bangkok to shop and eat :s13::s13: Good life man.

Yea now come back suddenly feels like holidays v short. havent even plan for next sem yet. what u guys taking ar? Hmm tatami nv take 2132,2137,3131, then what u took last sem ar?

Darkzi0n

Went to bangkok to shop and eat :s13::s13: Good life man.

Yea now come back suddenly feels like holidays v short. havent even plan for next sem yet. what u guys taking ar? Hmm tatami nv take 2132,2137,3131, then what u took last sem ar?

so shiok so jelly :(

i will definitely (assuming i can successfully bid for them) be taking:
ST3131
ST3236
EC3312

den the remaining will be any of the 2:
ST3239
ST3232
EC3101
EC3333
GEM2901
SSS1207

u leh?

Rusty89

so shiok so jelly :(

i will definitely (assuming i can successfully bid for them) be taking:
ST3131
ST3236
EC3312

den the remaining will be any of the 2:
ST3239
ST3232
EC3101
EC3333
GEM2901
SSS1207

u leh?

Most likely taking St3236 and ST3239. Like dont really have much review on the rest of the st32xx modules.

Eh for other mod wise. i havent rly decide. maybe taking 1 ss, though maybe kinda hard to bid it. i also havent clear arts gem. But definitely wont be taking gem2901 with u around. haha

Darkzi0n

Most likely taking St3236 and ST3239. Like dont really have much review on the rest of the st32xx modules.

Eh for other mod wise. i havent rly decide. maybe taking 1 ss, though maybe kinda hard to bid it. i also havent clear arts gem. But definitely wont be taking gem2901 with u around. haha

there was a review on st3232 i think.. n lol, with me ard anot does not make a difference one lar..

hi there :)

darkzion, why you take sss1207? haha bid points quite high. you dodging essay writing mods arr!?

yea loh, i cannot write one :( and i onli have 2 mods left which require G account, so i can whack all my G points for it (although not much) :D

oh yea. i'm assuming you guys are doing FBS too right?

wat is fbs? :eek::s11::s11:

Rusty89

oh yea. i'm assuming you guys are doing FBS too right?

Hey jk, u MIA v long liao sia. and simi is FBS?

there was a review on st3232 i think.. n lol, with me ard anot does not make a difference one lar..

yea loh, i cannot write one :( and i onli have 2 mods left which require G account, so i can whack all my G points for it (although not much) :D

wat is fbs? :eek::s11::s11:

Yea i read that review. only one review coming from A- student like abit out of my league le. lol.

Btw u still have alot of G points left? that EC2101 really drains alot.

Darkzi0n

Yea i read that review. only one review coming from A- student like abit out of my league le. lol.

Btw u still have alot of G points left? that EC2101 really drains alot.

not alot left lar cos i spent quite alot on EC2102 two sems ago.

but based on past year's succ bid points, i think sld be enough to get sss1207

gtr913

I guess I can contribute some information about the 3000 modules. Everything would be based on when I took them, so it may not be the same now.

ST3239 Survey Methodology seems to be offered once every 2 years as the last time I saw it was 2 years ago. The materials are quite easy to understand and most of the problems involve calculations. I guess you could consider it to be one of the easier stats module around, making it a fine choice to take.

ST3232 Design and Analysis of Experiments involves ANOVA and experimental designs. Although not required, having prior knowledge of ST3131 is an advantage. R is also used.

ST3241 Categorical Data Analysis includes contingency tables, odds ratios, likelihood ratios, generalised linear models and logistic regression. SAS is used. Overall I found it to be doable and not too difficult.

I didn't take ST3242 Survival Analysis but from what I heard it is quite OK.

ST3244 Demograhic Methods is an interesting one. There is not a lot of statistics involved. It talks about growth/mortality/birth/death/fertility rates, life tables, survival probability and population projections. If you have taken Acuturial Statistics last sem, the chapter on survival models would be familiar. I recommend it as I enjoyed it and found it to be applicable to real-world situations. The lecturer(same for this sem) is good too.

Like I said in my last post ST3236 Stochastic Processes 1 is offered by the maths department this coming sem so I think it would be a better idea to take it next AY sem 1 when it should be offered by the stats department. It is really tough and some abstract concepts are dealt with. But then again who knows, the maths department might teach it better.

Take a look at the past year materials for those modules at the usual source to see more of what they are about.

Rusty89

I guess I can contribute some information about the 3000 modules. Everything would be based on when I took them, so it may not be the same now.

ST3239 Survey Methodology seems to be offered once every 2 years as the last time I saw it was 2 years ago. The materials are quite easy to understand and most of the problems involve calculations. I guess you could consider it to be one of the easier stats module around, making it a fine choice to take.

ST3232 Design and Analysis of Experiments involves ANOVA and experimental designs. Although not required, having prior knowledge of ST3131 is an advantage. R is also used.

ST3241 Categorical Data Analysis includes contingency tables, odds ratios, likelihood ratios, generalised linear models and logistic regression. SAS is used. Overall I found it to be doable and not too difficult.

ST3244 Demograhic Methods is an interesting one. There is not a lot of statistics involved. It talks about growth/mortality/birth/death/fertility rates, life tables, survival probability and population projections. If you have taken Acuturial Statistics last sem, the chapter on survival models would be familiar. I recommend it as I enjoyed it and found it to be applicable to real-world situations. The lecturer(same for this sem) is good too.

Like I said in my last post ST3236 Stochastic Processes 1 is offered by the maths department this coming sem so I think it would be a better idea to take it next AY sem 1 when it should be offered by the stats department. It is really tough and some abstract concepts are dealt with. But then again who knows, the maths department might teach it better.

Take a look at the past year materials for those modules at the usual source to see more of what they are about.

Woah, thanks alot senior for your input. when did u take those modules?
Din know about the difference in teaching by different department. thanks for the heads up. BTW ST3239 really once every 2 yrs? lol wow sounds like rather rare.

haha yea MIA quite long. don't really visit hwz often :p

Haha u busy dating those stats girls right? =:p

Darkzi0n

actually hor.. i dont think st3234 and st3239 onli offered once every 2 year.. it jus so happen that there was a 3-sem gap for the last 2 years.. if u look at the archive of earlier years, those 2 mods are actually offered every alternate sem. but i might be wrong :s22:

n yea i wan to do FBS also

Fishbelly

For ST3244 Demograhic Methods, I heard from my other seniors that there is no cheatsheet for this particular module and only help sheets given. Will we required to memorise a lot of formulas(those that are not given in the helpsheet) for the exam?

Thx in advance

ForTheWind

hello korkor zehzeh(or maybe all korkor), just curious abt stats major and the 2nd major in financial maths or minor in financial maths thing.
I noted that we can choose our modules in such a way that we can complete stats major requirement and just take 1 additional module to fulfill the minor in financial maths requirement too. Is it I just need take 1104 then can get the minor at the end of the day already?
Or is it smth like i need to take say 3 or 4 extra modules(that are ma/st) on top of those chosen modules then can get the minor?

Darkzi0n

hey darkzion. good job on your results man! it's pretty sick, nabbing A+ like free haha!
As a side note, are you doing any other random modules like gem or gek? from past semesters, seems like we've got similar taste.

thanks :) but the grades does come with a price in the form of health and social life :(

i will only be needing one more Arts gem which most likely will be GEM2901.. but depending on wat others modules i got, i may not take it this sem.

Rusty89

Hey guys, i am still quite confused about the faculty requirement even after reading the relevant website. Say i am stats major, so what should be my fac requirement? It says 8MC so 2 mods of fac req. I took PC1322 which suffices as one of them so can the other one be a MA mod?

Darkzi0n

Hey guys, i am still quite confused about the faculty requirement even after reading the relevant website. Say i am stats major, so what should be my fac requirement? It says 8MC so 2 mods of fac req. I took PC1322 which suffices as one of them so can the other one be a MA mod?

no, MA mod cannot be used to fullfill ur fac req.

† Students under the B.Sc. and B.Sc.(Hons.) programmes are required to fulfill 8 MCs of faculty requirements from any two of the four subject groups: Chemical Sciences, Life Sciences, Physical Sciences or Multidisciplinary & Interdisciplinary Sciences;

But not from the following groups: Computing Sciences or Mathematical & Statistical Sciences.

Also, if u have taken a PC mod, then ur second fac req mod must not be a PC mod

Rusty89

no, MA mod cannot be used to fullfill ur fac req.

Also, if u have taken a PC mod, then ur second fac req mod must not be a PC mod

So that means it can be any mod in sci fac besides MA and PC? hmm alright. i have a clearer picture now. thanks man!

What did u take for your fac req ar?

strawberrygirl

hey, i took pc and lsm mods, can both be used as fac req?

and anyone has any suggestions to tackle cs1010?? like take in which sem under which lecturer or? i heard that it1006 is useful to help cs1010?? true??

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.