[Official cycling thread]

pew

Anybody want to go T15, scorpion, BT this thursday 19/2/09?

Only slow riders and bike pushers need apply hehe

cuz i very slow, faster riders will feel bored.

Meet at either Sengkang or T15 bus stop (around mandai zoo there)

Maybe leave Sengkang at 830, reach T15 bus stop at 915

can call me 96924203

WuSangui

One thing I found out in bikes is there is almost always something better for a bit more money. If you didn't set a limit on what you want and your budget, there is a chance of spending and spending...that is known as "Poison" in our biking community. :D

Basically this sort of poison exist in almost all sort of expensive hobbies I know of, like photography, computers, fish keeping, cycling, RC cars etc...

Do it within yr financial limit. And I will say use bicycle for very practical use.

If u use bike for cosmetic purposes. I will say there is no limit to upgrade.

If u use it for performance purposes. Try to save up and get the best. If not u will be spending lts of unneccesary money on mid range product.

zenotic

the guy say 2.0 is better than 3.0...

he recommends me buy 1.0...

so i a bit stunned... need 2 do more study on bikes then...

Actually I also looking at Ava 1.0 but also comparing it with Giant Iguana and Jamis Durango. I heard for that price Durango has got better parts and Giant has a slightly lighter frame. I'm also trying to max my budget more to get a Giant XTC SE 2.

bigbadber

hmmm
got a place selling 2009 gt avalanche 2.0 disc for ard $700
1.0 disc not in yet. it shld be abt $900.

u guys think its worth it boh?
actually i wanna look for 2008 2.0 disc, white color, cos its the color i want and its cheaper.

any advice? or places tat still can get 2008 models?

thankssss

bigbadber

any1 know if i get a tee brake GT ava 3.0, can i later upgrade to a disc brakes system like a GT ava 3.0 disc brake??

went to a few shops on saturday.
best price i found was at soon hock store
blk 330 AMK ave 1
tel: 6455 5006

3.0 disc = $630
2.0 disc = $720
prices b4 discount

i would advise u to get 2.0 disc if u can afford to increase ur budget
saves u alot of hassle in future if u want to change to disc

tremor

went to a few shops on saturday.
best price i found was at soon hock store
blk 330 AMK ave 1
tel: 6455 5006

3.0 disc = $630
2.0 disc = $720
prices b4 discount

i would advise u to get 2.0 disc if u can afford to increase ur budget
saves u alot of hassle in future if u want to change to disc
Disc brake definitely more worth it. Dun get v-brake for mountain bike, cos when rims dirty, no biting power, means no brake, may buang.

Hydro disc brake is the way to go.

bigbadber

Disc brake definitely more worth it. Dun get v-brake for mountain bike, cos when rims dirty, no biting power, means no brake, may buang.

Hydro disc brake is the way to go.

lol
tat sounds like a load of bull leh
for donkey years pple has been using conventional brakes
nv heard of such thing, dirty rims = no biting power = no brakes = buang

its just a bicycle leh. u're not going downhill at 100kph
disc brakes just bling bling only lah, nice to look at

Alpha_Hippo

lol
tat sounds like a load of bull leh
for donkey years pple has been using conventional brakes
nv heard of such thing, dirty rims = no biting power = no brakes = buang

its just a bicycle leh. u're not going downhill at 100kph
disc brakes just bling bling only lah, nice to look at

I disagree. Having using v brakes for 15 years and switched to Disc brake last year and never look back since.

The braking power is really solid.

tecnica

er.. actually lemme say a word from a neutral point of view..

it all depends on the style of riding and where u ride..

if u do road riding more, vees will do more then enough..

trails and others tat requires modulation and power, of cos hydros ftw...

but having change to hydro, me too will not turn back to vees again.. the part where tremor said rims dirty and no power is true to an extent.. i brought my bikes with vee to trail and can hardly brake because of the wet condition and mud clogging issue..

so buy the right thing for the right use.. hehe :o

hippo! its all ur fault tat i upgrade my bike! :(

runeruin

hi,anyone knows the pricing of shimano rear derailleur like altus/tourney
or something of the same category

Auggie

hmmm
got a place selling 2009 gt avalanche 2.0 disc for ard $700
1.0 disc not in yet. it shld be abt $900.

u guys think its worth it boh?
actually i wanna look for 2008 2.0 disc, white color, cos its the color i want and its cheaper.

any advice? or places tat still can get 2008 models?

thankssss
yeah i would recommend gt ava 2.0 too if u are lookin at ava series. Alot of ppl thought just component diff. The extra 100 (2.0 and 3.0) if i am not wrong is the frame butted for 2.0 but not for 3.0 and the hydro disc brakes. I say the 100 is well spent ba.

Auggie

er.. actually lemme say a word from a neutral point of view..

it all depends on the style of riding and where u ride..

if u do road riding more, vees will do more then enough..

trails and others tat requires modulation and power, of cos hydros ftw...

but having change to hydro, me too will not turn back to vees again.. the part where tremor said rims dirty and no power is true to an extent.. i brought my bikes with vee to trail and can hardly brake because of the wet condition and mud clogging issue..

so buy the right thing for the right use.. hehe :o

hippo! its all ur fault tat i upgrade my bike! :(
wah tecnica using hydro liao so xian mu...... i still on my stock mechnical.... :). If my budget permits maybe end of year den change ba. nice ride btw :)

tecnica

wah tecnica using hydro liao so xian mu...... i still on my stock mechnical.... :). If my budget permits maybe end of year den change ba. nice ride btw :)

just another peasant bike.. :o

my neck like giraffe liao man.. wait for hydros dunno wait how long liao :s13:

resized-20090215201022577.jpg

:o

patcheon

Haiz...why people like to draw conclusion of things when they have not experience it yet.

laststraw

yeah i would recommend gt ava 2.0 too if u are lookin at ava series. Alot of ppl thought just component diff. The extra 100 (2.0 and 3.0) if i am not wrong is the frame butted for 2.0 but not for 3.0 and the hydro disc brakes. I say the 100 is well spent ba.

hi guys,

i have a few noob questions.

what does it mean by frame butted?
can we remove the wheels for disc brakes as easily as vee brake for transportation?

hdrcorp

Is Kowa. A good fork brand? Can't seem to find much info on it. Intend to change out my cheapo fork from my cheapo bike.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.