2009 jamis trail x2 at $450
the frame and parts is it worth it?
adding in a bit transportation and workmanship

dirtysock

Bicycle pump doesn't seem as effective as petrol station pump

Tried bicycle pump once, the tire wasn't as hard as compared to station pump. :(

:bandit:

WuSangui

Bicycle pump doesn't seem as effective as petrol station pump

Tried bicycle pump once, the tire wasn't as hard as compared to station pump. :(

:bandit:

If u pump roadie tyre. I bet u will take back yr words! :D

Of cos u must spend some money on a good bicycle pump with gauge

tecnica

went to one of the bike shop at taman jurong was quoted $430 for the whole xt hydra disc brake set.......izit worth to get?

then the uncle recommend me the shimano deore lx hydra disc brake set for $307...which is oso tempting.....

which one wld b better..cos i wld go more for trail riding ( but at a more leisurely pace rather than competitive, my gut is telling me to stick to deore lx for the pricing)hmm..

wat do u guys reckon?
$430 includes wat? brakes lever and calipers? rotors? ur hub is 6 bolts or centrelock?

i suppose LBS still selling the older LX hydraulics... current XT comes with servowave.. can tune the brakes to ur riding style...

$100+ more for better brakes, more bling, i will go with XT anytime..
erm, i already gone with XT.. haha.. :s13:

but somehow.. it still boils down to ur needs and expectation of ur bike.. if u have a low budget, plus u think u dun need the extra bling and stuffs.. by all means get the LX... u seldom go wrong with shimano hydraulics anyway.. :o

audioenslave

$430 includes wat? brakes lever and calipers? rotors? ur hub is 6 bolts or centrelock?

i suppose LBS still selling the older LX hydraulics... current XT comes with servowave.. can tune the brakes to ur riding style...

$100+ more for better brakes, more bling, i will go with XT anytime..
erm, i already gone with XT.. haha.. :s13:

but somehow.. it still boils down to ur needs and expectation of ur bike.. if u have a low budget, plus u think u dun need the extra bling and stuffs.. by all means get the LX... u seldom go wrong with shimano hydraulics anyway.. :o

$430 for everything lor..brake calipers,tubing,brake levers,rotors...the hub i not sure...6 bolts n centre lock is wat meaning..

still got a lot of bike terminology to learn..haa...

but isit true that hydraulics kinda sensitive? cos the uncle told me go trail riding sometimes some bikers dun like hydraulic brakes cos sensitive to touch..touch a bit or if movement along bumpy trail, the brakes will b triggered..:s13::s13:

tecnica

$430 for everything lor..brake calipers,tubing,brake levers,rotors...the hub i not sure...6 bolts n centre lock is wat meaning..

still got a lot of bike terminology to learn..haa...

but isit true that hydraulics kinda sensitive? cos the uncle told me go trail riding sometimes some bikers dun like hydraulic brakes cos sensitive to touch..touch a bit or if movement along bumpy trail, the brakes will b triggered..:s13::s13:
6 bolt hub uses 6 bolt rotor, centrelock hub(usually shimano) uses shimano centrelock rotor, pls google for diff.. this is impt as it will affect rotor choice and ultimately the price..

by default 6 bolt rotor cannot be use for centrelock hub and vice versa, unless u get a adapter which to me is lppl.. and also at the expense of the weight of ur bike(this one need to be ultra weight weenie to feel the diff) :s22:

hydraulic to an extent can be tuned to ur liking as i said before... maybe those who dun like hydros din tune them properly... disc brake has higher braking power compare to vees... u can easily lock ur wheels if u dunno how to use ur brakes..

if u noe how to use ur hydros.. they can save ur life..

audioenslave

6 bolt hub uses 6 bolt rotor, centrelock hub(usually shimano) uses shimano centrelock rotor, pls google for diff.. this is impt as it will affect rotor choice and ultimately the price..

by default 6 bolt rotor cannot be use for centrelock hub and vice versa, unless u get a adapter which to me is lppl.. and also at the expense of the weight of ur bike(this one need to be ultra weight weenie to feel the diff) :s22:

hydraulic to an extent can be tuned to ur liking as i said before... maybe those who dun like hydros din tune them properly... disc brake has higher braking power compare to vees... u can easily lock ur wheels if u dunno how to use ur brakes..

icic..thanks for the headsup dude....will nid to google n read up more b4 finalising my decision to buy.

Panzerf

XT - value for money.
XTR - Bling
SLX- Good Performance Level
Deore - Good for those on low budget.

jamesteo88

i am currently thinking of getting a MTB,budget around 800 cos still secondary student,hehe! got any recommend??i hope i can get good basic base parts,then upgrade from there.read from here GT ava 2.0 or 0.1 power power??how about giant or ploygon??and jamis also =DD

pew

XT - value for money.
XTR - Bling
SLX- Good Performance Level
Deore - Good for those on low budget.

deore - dont bother buying brand new
slx - good value for money
xt - if u cannot afford xtr
xtr - value for money high end component

pew

i am currently thinking of getting a MTB,budget around 800 cos still secondary student,hehe! got any recommend??i hope i can get good basic base parts,then upgrade from there.read from here GT ava 2.0 or 0.1 power power??how about giant or ploygon??and jamis also =DD

save a bit more for ava 1.0disc, and dont think bout upgrading

tremor

Or get formula brakes. Thes best in the business.

I got formula oro puro, 2nd hand. Compared to avid juicy, huge huge huge difference.

pew

ditto, but u can only last for that little time before the upgrade bug bites you. the upgrade bug bit me just 6 months after i got my 1.0 disc.:(:(:o

6 month very long liao lo,

if can tahan resist poison for 2 month i say u very good liao

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.