[Official cycling thread]

runeruin

guys, I'm intending to get a bicycle for casual riding.

Budget around $300, any suggestions?

Regards,
Andy

i also looking for a bicycle around,seen around the forum that ppl suggest raleigh m20 for $300 budget
maybe you can go smbf or togoparts to check more info about bicycle shops

Alfie77

am planning get biking backpack, carry sling bag around very pekcek, haha, anytips on where to get? or what to get?

You may want to look at Camelbak brand. Their mule or hawg series not bad. Most importantly got water bag, whch is important for outdoor cycling. Qweensway or beach road (army market). But dun expect to be cheap. $< $200

iceboy1183

You may want to look at Camelbak brand. Their mule or hawg series not bad. Most importantly got water bag, whch is important for outdoor cycling. Qweensway or beach road (army market). But dun expect to be cheap. $< $200

how big's the mule / hawg?

i googled them up and they didnt really give dimensions..
just that the fact hawg is big enough to shove work clothes in(which would be a huge plus cos i do cycle to work at times)

and also.. must really go all the way to queensway shopping centre? or do LBS sell them?

Alpha_Hippo

just that the fact hawg is big enough to shove work clothes in(which would be a huge plus cos i do cycle to work at times)

and also.. must really go all the way to queensway shopping centre? or do LBS sell them?

Smaller than your back for sure. They are designed to be small and not get in the way. Won't be able to shove your work clothes in for sure.

Alpha_Hippo

Some upgrade :o

photo0135.jpg

oyebto

er guys in the east right, ohter than pasir ris and east cost park, bedok reservoir tamp biking trail, still got where else have good trails for cycling?

hdrcorp

How do you get to Tamp Trails? I drove past Tamp a few times but just can't find the enterance, and can I survive riding Tamp Trails on a chepo bike?

Andy0601a

i also looking for a bicycle around,seen around the forum that ppl suggest raleigh m20 for $300 budget
maybe you can go smbf or togoparts to check more info about bicycle shops

What's smbf?

Been googling and surfing to not much help, like alot of choices, may upgrade my budget to $500+.

Any suggestions guys? Giant Boulder?

Andy0601a

I think I'm pretty much decided on Raleigh M20(2005).

Any idea where I can get it? I'm staying around choa chu kang, hoping to find a shop around my area to get it so I won't have to worry so much about transportation and stuff.

Suggestion and Opinions greatly appreciated.

proddy

i'm looking for bicycle locks as well. i know it only serves as a deterance.
i went to hardware shops, they cost $15-$20 for the chains but they look fugly and all the same brands "orawa" or something. The Ulocks also around the same price range.
i just need to lock the bike to run quick errands or go for a pee.

runeruin

What's smbf?

Been googling and surfing to not much help, like alot of choices, may upgrade my budget to $500+.

Any suggestions guys? Giant Boulder?

smbf is a forum
there's a bicycle shop nearby teck whye ntuc/keat hong prime market if you know and at limbang(this one is kns,my old bike wheels a bit loosen the auntie dont even want to lend a spanner)

dont know if they have raleigh

Andy0601a

smbf is a forum
there's a bicycle shop nearby teck whye ntuc/keat hong prime market if you know and at limbang(this one is kns,my old bike wheels a bit loosen the auntie dont even want to lend a spanner)

dont know if they have raleigh

Teck Whye ntuc? those small shops or?

anw, yup.. i went to the one at keat hong just now, its call "ulu bicycle". The uncle recommend me a Giant Boulder, he's friendy but don't sound very reliable leh.

I remember there's this bicycle shop at lot 1 302 there, near the bank.. is it still there?

runeruin

Teck Whye ntuc? those small shops or?

anw, yup.. i went to the one at keat hong just now, its call "ulu bicycle". The uncle recommend me a Giant Boulder, he's friendy but don't sound very reliable leh.

I remember there's this bicycle shop at lot 1 302 there, near the bank.. is it still there?

its just beside 7-11,the lot 1 bike shop is gone

Ore0_Cheescake V2.0

How do you get to Tamp Trails? I drove past Tamp a few times but just can't find the enterance, and can I survive riding Tamp Trails on a chepo bike?

the entrance doesnt say that there is a bike trail inside. its directly opposite sunset park. i can bring u there if u want. we can meet somewhere at tampines mall or interchange.

timelf

bag wise.. go beach road army market can get liao la. those small and can put hydration pack ones. cheap and good.

if you have extra cash and wanna get better ones, can try camelbak, northface or deuter ones. just visit their distributor sites in sg and you will know where to buy them. there is also a newly opened northface shop in Suntec City which you may wanna take a look.

anyway here's my mule. got it to use for overseas biking trip too. i put a shoe box beside so that you ar gah know the size of the bag. hope it helps.

21oy0ww.jpg

iceboy1183

bag wise.. go beach road army market can get liao la. those small and can put hydration pack ones. cheap and good.

if you have extra cash and wanna get better ones, can try camelbak, northface or deuter ones. just visit their distributor sites in sg and you will know where to buy them. there is also a newly opened northface shop in Suntec City which you may wanna take a look.

anyway here's my mule. got it to use for overseas biking trip too. i put a shoe box beside so that you ar gah know the size of the bag. hope it helps.

21oy0ww.jpg

looks quite small leh =/
i dont think can put any spare shirt if fill up with water.. =/

how much you got your mule?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.