Kiwi8

huh? DVBSKY de where can buy?

aiya ... PAL is phasing out le ... what you wanna record? RTM channels?:s22:

http://www.dvbsky.net/Purchase.html
ShenZhen Bestuner Store - Small Orders Online Store, Hot Selling DVB-T2,DVB-S2,DVB-T2 tv card and more on Aliexpress.com

Yah... maybe can record some Indonesian channels when they show sports matches. But perhaps I shall just use my old Hauppauge cards for that purpose and not buy the Blackgold. But then again, the blackgold also has AV input for recording lor.

hachi

Recently just brought a LED LCD TV when my sony CRT got problem after 12 years. Still got 2 29inch CRT TV at home....

harky

anyone use this one? if use sh box no need to have a DVB-T2 right?
Playon!DVRHD Digital Video Recorder - AC Ryan Asia Pacific Pte. Ltd.
playondvrhd-digital-video-recorder.jpg

Apparatus

Recently just brought a LED LCD TV when my sony CRT got problem after 12 years. Still got 2 29inch CRT TV at home....

If you want to save your electricity bills it's better to change your CRTs to LEDs

pjs

MakAntenna Digital Receiver Box can record TV programs. Check out at vr-zone forums.

MakAntenna Digital Receiver Box for Landed Owners (DVB-T2 2nd Generation)

Why pay $200 when u can get Draco @$129?
or other similar ones on e-bay or Aliexpress at abt US$50?

All are similar and China Made.
http://szjunuo.en.alibaba.com/produ...OT_hd_FS_822T2_dvb_t2_set_top_box_Russia.htmlPossible source of MakAntenna box:
http://szjunuo.en.alibaba.com/product/614958165-213065496/HOT_hd_FS_822T2_dvb_t2_set_top_box_Russia.html

Suggest wait for availability and pricing from 'Uracoasia':
FD Digital | Products
Hope is cheaper than Draco.

harky

if i use SH, do i still need DVB-T2?
But than will TV Turner record HD if my SH is HD by using RCA?

cscs3

If you want to save your electricity bills it's better to change your CRTs to LEDs

This statement is only partially right. The money you have to throw into new TV may be able to pay for the electricity consumption for next 10 years !

I still have 1 old 29" CRT TV. It takes 169 Watt. My old LCD TV which is 39" also takes 169 Watt. Sure, my new 47" LED TV only takes 130 Watt max. Now ever, investment is more then $1K. So you can calculate $1K can last you how long for a 39 Watt different !

So if all you want is to save $ from electricity and nothing else. The old TV will serve you well till it gets retired.

cscs3

if i use SH, do i still need DVB-T2?
But than will TV Turner record HD if my SH is HD by using RCA?

Many people get sold by promoter that you do not really need a T2 TV if you have a STB from SH or MIO. Technically this is right and they get what they want - to sell you a non T2 TV, which basically around same price as a T2 capable TV.

There is some different. Now a day many TV model has recording function. But take note recording mostly can be done only from in build tuner. Next is when you use a STB, you need to remote control. One for the TV and 1 for the STB as you channel is select via STB. You are also required to power both TV and STB and wire from STB to TV. RCA connection will not get you HD quality. So you need HDMI connection.

Another reminder is STB does not come free in most cases, and you will not be able to receive free to air channels from near by countries !

L

harky

So in order to rec HD must use HDMI connection lor :(

Many people get sold by promoter that you do not really need a T2 TV if you have a STB from SH or MIO. Technically this is right and they get what they want - to sell you a non T2 TV, which basically around same price as a T2 capable TV.

There is some different. Now a day many TV model has recording function. But take note recording mostly can be done only from in build tuner. Next is when you use a STB, you need to remote control. One for the TV and 1 for the STB as you channel is select via STB. You are also required to power both TV and STB and wire from STB to TV. RCA connection will not get you HD quality. So you need HDMI connection.

Another reminder is STB does not come free in most cases, and you will not be able to receive free to air channels from near by countries !

L

Kiwi8

The concept is different. It's not always a need that u need HDMI connection to record HD.

For example, in the DVB-T2 case, u just need a DVB-T2 tuner that has recording function and u can still record the HD channels on DVB-T2.

StarHub paid-channels used to be output via RF to the TV analog frequency but I notice the HD boxes now only output the paid-channels via HDMI, component, RCA, etc. And only HDMI and component has HD capability. But to record from HDMI stream, u also have to ensure that the box does not output encrypted HDMI connection (the HDCP stuff) otherwise u will be recording only black from the StarHub box. But I'm not sure whether the StarHub STB outputs un-HDCP HDMI signals or not.

harky

I see. if got all in one is best .
for my case i mainly just want to rec SH channel :p
sg channel i dont see one le. But than if got SH box liao, i wont get a additional box just to receive DVB-T2 :s8:

The concept is different. It's not always a need that u need HDMI connection to record HD.

For example, in the DVB-T2 case, u just need a DVB-T2 tuner that has recording function and u can still record the HD channels on DVB-T2.

StarHub paid-channels used to be output via RF to the TV analog frequency but I notice the HD boxes now only output the paid-channels via HDMI, component, RCA, etc. And only HDMI and component has HD capability. But to record from HDMI stream, u also have to ensure that the box does not output encrypted HDMI connection (the HDCP stuff) otherwise u will be recording only black from the StarHub box. But I'm not sure whether the StarHub STB outputs un-HDCP HDMI signals or not.

sunsetbay

This statement is only partially right. The money you have to throw into new TV may be able to pay for the electricity consumption for next 10 years !

I still have 1 old 29" CRT TV. It takes 169 Watt. My old LCD TV which is 39" also takes 169 Watt. Sure, my new 47" LED TV only takes 130 Watt max. Now ever, investment is more then $1K. So you can calculate $1K can last you how long for a 39 Watt different !

So if all you want is to save $ from electricity and nothing else. The old TV will serve you well till it gets retired.

Ur TVs power consumption seen to be on the high side~ my old 34" philips CRT consumes 90 to 124W, got another 14" toshiba CRT that uses 44W and my LG 47" LED only draws 49W on medium eco mode~ all measurements are measured by power meter~

New TV also got an advantage to play all media formats w/o the need of additional media box player which also reduce additional power~ anyway, I dun think many pple buy new tv just to save power, if wanna save money best is dun subscribe cable or miotv, money saved can allow u to buy new tv every few yrs~ :s22:

cscs3

If your TV is those with DVB-T2 tuner. You can record from the HD channels. As far I know, it cannot record sources from HDMI.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.