[Official] DVB-T2 USB/PCI-E/PCI TV Tuner Thread

hwsinn

TBS6281 DVB-T2/T/C Dual Tuner PCIe Card Dual Tuner Hybrid DVB T2 and DVB C TV tuner Card [TBS6281] - US$98.99 : BuyDVB Online Store

I saw this and from the specs sheet it seem to fit what i want but i should seek opinions here

Since this is a dual tuner i assume they have 2 chips so i can, for example, watch ch8 from one input and record ch 5 from the other right?

And also does it operate if i connect one input to scv port (for dvb-c) and the second to a antenna (for T2)

And lastly i should email them abt the v1.3.1 compliance right?

TIA

Kiwi8

TBS6281 DVB-T2/T/C Dual Tuner PCIe Card Dual Tuner Hybrid DVB T2 and DVB C TV tuner Card [TBS6281] - US$98.99 : BuyDVB Online Store

I saw this and from the specs sheet it seem to fit what i want but i should seek opinions here

Since this is a dual tuner i assume they have 2 chips so i can, for example, watch ch8 from one input and record ch 5 from the other right?

And also does it operate if i connect one input to scv port (for dvb-c) and the second to a antenna (for T2)

TIA

Each tuner allows u to tune to one frequency. So the dual tuner allows u to tune to two frequencies. The TV tuner program can allow u to watch/record all the channels that are on the same frequency.

Examples of channels on the same frequency are:
522MHz: Channel U, Channel News asia, okto
538MHz: Suria HD, CH5 HD
554MHz: CH8 HD, Vasantham HD

No, there is only one antenna input for this card. The other port is an output for u to pass the same antenna signal to another card/device, to avoid using splitter.

The TBS6281 and TBS6285 cards are v1.3.1 compliant (at least the ones selling on that website from now). I had to send my TBS6285 to them to exchange for a newer hardware version that supports 1.3.1 but that's just a small blip for me. :o

sunsetbay

TIA

I'm using tbs6281 and yes it works on Sg's DVB-T2~ at the mmt, there's no combine drivers for DVB-C and DVB-T2 for this card, the C & T2 drivers are separate~ which means whenever I wanna change from DVB-T2 to DVB-C or vice versa, I hv to install the respective drivers~

This is unlike tbs6280 which I'd used before where there's combine drivers~ I do hope that they will release combine drivers for tbs6281 soon~ :s22:

hwsinn

Thanks bros for the quick responses but im still quite confused

Each tuner allows u to tune to one frequency. So the dual tuner allows u to tune to two frequencies. The TV tuner program can allow u to watch/record all the channels that are on the same frequency.

Examples of channels on the same frequency are:
522MHz: Channel U, Channel News asia, okto
538MHz: Suria HD, CH5 HD
554MHz: CH8 HD, Vasantham HD

No, there is only one antenna input for this card. The other port is an output for u to pass the same antenna signal to another card/device, to avoid using splitter.

My reply: I rmb seeing a dual tuner card few years back receiving 2 of the same input so that i can record and watch different channel at the same time, during analog and DVB-T days.

But anyways, so this means for this card, i have one input (interface) that can play channels from 2 frequencies at the same time? For example, I can watch channel 5 and 8 at the same time (based on your example), is that correct?

The TBS6281 and TBS6285 cards are v1.3.1 compliant (at least the ones selling on that website from now). I had to send my TBS6285 to them to exchange for a newer hardware version that supports 1.3.1 but that's just a small blip for me. :o

I'm using tbs6281 and yes it works on Sg's DVB-T2~ at the mmt, there's no combine drivers for DVB-C and DVB-T2 for this card, the C & T2 drivers are separate~ which means whenever I wanna change from DVB-T2 to DVB-C or vice versa, I hv to install the respective drivers~

This is unlike tbs6280 which I'd used before where there's combine drivers~ I do hope that they will release combine drivers for tbs6281 soon~ :s22:

So is the reception for DVB-C better? I am basing on the assumption it comes through SCV point hence high chance for better signal compared to OTA (I know they have some error checking algorithm but LAN surely safer than WLAN ma)

And do you mind explaining how this "dual" tuner works. Cos now im kind of confused. My main aim is to watch/record any 2 channels at one go (i mean thats the purpose of a dual tuner right)

Thanks alot people, and have a great weekend :)

sunsetbay

Thanks bros for the quick responses but im still quite confused

So is the reception for DVB-C better? I am basing on the assumption it comes through SCV point hence high chance for better signal compared to OTA (I know they have some error checking algorithm but LAN surely safer than WLAN ma)

And do you mind explaining how this "dual" tuner works. Cos now im kind of confused. My main aim is to watch/record any 2 channels at one go (i mean thats the purpose of a dual tuner right)

Thanks alot people, and have a great weekend :)

DVB-C's signal is 100% stable but only gives u one HD channel, i.e. HD5 and the rest SD, while DVB-T2 offers 5 HD channels (5, 8, Suria, Vasan & Test) & the rest SD~

Ya, the dual tuner enable u to watch and record two or more channels at the same time~ kiwi had explained hw it works on his post~ :s22:

hwsinn

ok then i will go with T2 for the moment, and let me see if my understanding is correct and correct me if i am wrong.

For the card itself, it has one signal (antenna) input. There are 2 chips functioning on the board (and i should be able to see 2 interface on my software?), each decoding one frequency, so i can watch/record ANY 2 programme at any one time?

Kiwi8

hwsinn said:
My reply: I rmb seeing a dual tuner card few years back receiving 2 of the same input so that i can record and watch different channel at the same time, during analog and DVB-T days.

But anyways, so this means for this card, i have one input (interface) that can play channels from 2 frequencies at the same time? For example, I can watch channel 5 and 8 at the same time (based on your example), is that correct?

hwsinn said:
ok then i will go with T2 for the moment, and let me see if my understanding is correct and correct me if i am wrong.

For the card itself, it has one signal (antenna) input. There are 2 chips functioning on the board, each decoding one frequency, so i can watch/record ANY 2 programme at any one time?

It's more than that, in terms of recording.

Taking example from the previous list that I gave u, since CH U, CNA and okto are on the same frequency, your dual tuner can use one tuner to tune to that frequency and record all TV channels residing on that frequency. That means CH U, CNA, okto on the same frequency. And if what u wanna watch is for example, CH U, all this can be done using just a single tuner even when it's occupied recording TV channels from the same frequency as the watching channel. The other tuner can still be tuned to another frequency to get the other TV channels.

hwsinn

It's more than that, in terms of recording.

Taking example from the previous list that I gave u, since CH U, CNA and okto are on the same frequency, your dual tuner can use one tuner to tune to that frequency and record all TV channels residing on that frequency. That means CH U, CNA, okto on the same frequency. And if what u wanna watch is for example, CH U, all this can be done using just a single tuner even when it's occupied recording TV channels from the same frequency as the watching channel. The other tuner can still be tuned to another frequency to get the other TV channels.

Is that due to the multiplexing of multiple streams into one frequency?
So for example i wanna watch a show on CH U and CNA from 7 to 8pm and i am not at home. So i set the recorder to record 7 to 8pm for that frequency? And i have all 3 channels?

And what software is recommended to watch or record from the device? I currently use powercinema for my current card

Kiwi8

Is that due to the multiplexing of multiple streams into one frequency?
So for example i wanna watch a show on CH U and CNA from 7 to 8pm and i am not at home. So i set the recorder to record 7 to 8pm for that frequency? And i have all 3 channels?

And what software is recommended to watch or record from the device? I currently use powercinema for my current card

Yes, it's the multiplexing.

As for the recording, it depends on your recording program.

For me I use the freeware NextPVR.

hwsinn

Yes, it's the multiplexing.

As for the recording, it depends on your recording program.

For me I use the freeware NextPVR.

Thanks. Maybe i shld order and play around first.

But i still dun understand. If they multiplex 3 video streams into one frequency (in the case of Ch U, CNA, okto) then wouldnt i just need to record one frequency and i have 2 or 3 programmes in it?

And if i wanna watch CNA and okto, do i need to make use of two tuner or 1 tuner can watch/record both?

Kiwi8

Thanks. Maybe i shld order and play around first.

But i still dun understand. If they multiplex 3 video streams into one frequency (in the case of Ch U, CNA, okto) then wouldnt i just need to record one frequency and i have 2 or 3 programmes in it?

Most TV tuner programs just record by TV channels regardless of the frequency. U still need to set what channel u want and the time to record it, either manually, or use Electronic Programme Guide. The backend of the tuner program will then decide whether the TV channels u wanna record are at the same frequency, and if they are, the program will use just one tuner for that set of channels when recording.

Kiwi8

And if i wanna watch CNA and okto, do i need to make use of two tuner or 1 tuner can watch/record both?

Since CNA and okto are at the same frequency, a single tuner can watch one and record the other, with the right program. NextPVR can do it, as are many other TV tuner programs like XBMC, Windows Media Center, etc etc.

hwsinn

Most TV tuner programs just record by TV channels regardless of the frequency. U still need to set what channel u want and the time to record it, either manually, or use Electronic Programme Guide. The backend of the tuner program will then decide whether the TV channels u wanna record are at the same frequency, and if they are, the program will use just one tuner for that set of channels when recording.

Since CNA and okto are at the same frequency, a single tuner can watch one and record the other, with the right program. NextPVR can do it, as are many other TV tuner programs like XBMC, Windows Media Center, etc etc.

Ahhhh that basically clears 99% of my doubts. Thanks kiwi for your patience and other bros who helped :)

Is there anything i shld take note when buying from buydvb website? I just register an acc and ship straight to SG or which way is preferred

LxIxVxE

Senior Mentor
Ahhhh that basically clears 99% of my doubts. Thanks kiwi for your patience and other bros who helped :)

Is there anything i shld take note when buying from buydvb website? I just register an acc and ship straight to SG or which way is preferred

If buying TBS6281 from buydvb now, all stock should be latest revision already, so can just buy
Both box and tuner got the "DVB-T2 Lite Compatible" wordings

Use singpost registered mail can already, cheap and fast too
Sometimes, me used DHL though, only few days faster than singpost

LxIxVxE

Senior Mentor

so no missing T2 channels when using combined signal :s11:

last time C + T got missing T channels, so me dun trust combined signal anymore
but now can just use my 2 yrs old "useless" TBS6280 for C signal and the rest of my T2 tuners for T2 signal only, more "clean" without affecting one another

Kiwi8

maybe to save cost can conduct mo for more orders

hwsinn

so no missing T2 channels when using combined signal :s11:

last time C + T got missing T channels, so me dun trust combined signal anymore
but now can just use my 2 yrs old "useless" TBS6280 for C signal and the rest of my T2 tuners for T2 signal only, more "clean" without affecting one another

i think he meant combined drivers as he mentioned this new card's driver is either T2 or C. The old one can received T and C with one driver installation and can be switched in software.

Combined signals may overlap hence some missing channels (this is just my assumption)

maybe to save cost can conduct mo for more orders

Sure, but i not sure of the rules or how to go about doing it. Im sure many bros from the other threads wanna get it as well

LxIxVxE

Senior Mentor
i think he meant combined drivers as he mentioned this new card's driver is either T2 or C. The old one can received T and C with one driver installation and can be switched in software.

Combined signals may overlap hence some missing channels (this is just my assumption)

Sure, but i not sure of the rules or how to go about doing it. Im sure many bros from the other threads wanna get it as well
me understand what he is saying
me got all his cards too, but never play with combined signal anymore since me got more cards for seperate signals

juz wanna ask him, has he tried scanning for T2 channels with combined signal(even without combined drivers at the moment) to check is there any missing T2 channels
if there is missing T2 channels which he wants, then having combined drivers oso quite pointless for him

anyway, unless u r getting a few cards from the MO, or else not worth wasting time on MO
if juz 1 card, the time/$$$ u need to travel out to collect the card may make the saving become very little only
even more sian if u r the MO organiser, not worth the trouble just to save that few dollars
order urself and sit at home wait for the card to come might be better

kcleong88

Yea I am interested (in joining the MO) but for the TBS5220 USB DVB-T2 / T / C Tuner TV Stick.

Thanks

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.