[Official] EDMW Cycling Thread

firdie

U mean my bike worth $500 ??SERIOUS AH??Anyway how much should i sell my fi:zi'k gobi xm spanking new ?Got it at arnd $180 at T3 at east coast..The age is arnd 18 days/..

firdie

what's wrong with your Mojave 5.5 Disc? :alien:

but since you have money to throw, and you already have a nice base setup that i assume you're already comfy with, i say stick with it and upgrade your wheelset to 9-speed since you say you have to replace anyway, change to BB7 disc brakes, Thomson seatpost, and Deore groupset (FD, RD, Shifters etc) will do absolutely fine for your purposes since it's similar to mine. and i'm only on an "old" v-brakes system.

if you wanna buy new one, GT Ava 2.0 Disc brake lor. or Giant Yukon which i personally prefer. Kona Caldera/Blast/Cinder Cone also good stuff.

i dunno. man if i were you i'd just upgrade. cos you'd still upgrade even if you get a new one. the poison never ends

er...how much would the deore setup cost??

tecnica

what's wrong with your Mojave 5.5 Disc? :alien:

but since you have money to throw, and you already have a nice base setup that i assume you're already comfy with, i say stick with it and upgrade your wheelset to 9-speed since you say you have to replace anyway, change to BB7 disc brakes, Thomson seatpost, and Deore groupset (FD, RD, Shifters etc) will do absolutely fine for your purposes since it's similar to mine. and i'm only on an "old" v-brakes system.

if you wanna buy new one, GT Ava 2.0 Disc brake lor. or Giant Yukon which i personally prefer. Kona Caldera/Blast/Cinder Cone also good stuff.

i dunno. man if i were you i'd just upgrade. cos you'd still upgrade even if you get a new one. the poison never ends
ok la deore groupo enough for his use.. haha.. the 2009 deore hydros quite chio wor :o

tecnica

**** ah
feel like getting those Deore cranks to replace my stock Truvativs, SLX overkill :o

and i just spent a 100+ bucks today just on lights and a pouch! :slant:

gonna change stem, bar, saddle and tires soon also, time to play offroad :s34:
deore ht2 is good value.. i using also :)

:D

Agent Shoots

deore ht2 is good value.. i using also :)

:D
you tell me i also dunno what you talking about, only know how to ride
bike parts and tech details n00bzors

but my main changes other than my bar/stem is my crankset and rusty cassette ah, can feel they're getting sluggish and don't really move as well as before already but there are so many numbers attached to these things whenever ppl sell online, i don't understaaaaand, what must i look out for? pls help n00bzzzXX :s34:

and nope, not changing to discs anytime soon so don't tell me change wheelset
vees are cheap and light and good enough for me :D

tecnica

you tell me i also dunno what you talking about, only know how to ride
bike parts and tech details n00bzors

but my main changes other than my bar/stem is my crankset and rusty cassette ah, can feel they're getting sluggish and don't really move as well as before already but there are so many numbers attached to these things whenever ppl sell online, i don't understaaaaand, what must i look out for? pls help n00bzzzXX :s34:

and nope, not changing to discs anytime soon so don't tell me change wheelset
vees are cheap and light and good enough for me :D
just buy a deore 9spd cassette can liao.. no need think so much :o

crankset buy deore also can liao :D

Agent Shoots

just buy a deore 9spd cassette can liao.. no need think so much :o

crankset buy deore also can liao :D
steady. i gonna hoot the black deore crankset.

i not trial rider also.. no DH, no FR buy saint for wat :s22:
for fashion show lor. a lot of ppl nowadays also buy for show only. just like the fascination with disc brakes when ppl don't even go fast enough to use them to their full potential. :crazy:

xypher

Ya the disc brake part is true. many non-hardcore riders were doing well with the V-brake. Cosmetic factors are making teh disc brake more popular among those who 'dont need it'. But hey, no one can dictate how others spend their money.

bigbadber

gt ava 3.0 2009 v-brakes is 550, disc is 650
Alpha_Hippo got it at C2C, but afaik they're already out or are running really low on 09 GT Avas already
you can try Soon Hock at AMK Ave 1 though, just opp Bishan Park 1, talk to the auntie, she offers slightly cheaper prices with freebies thrown in

as for gt ava 2.0 2008 disc brakes, brand new i'd say you're looking around $460+/-
there's not much diference in the 08 and 09 bikes actually.

sorry my bad, that was my estimate for 2nd hand. cos i didnt think there'd still be new stocks for 2008 GT Avas around

ok thanks for the info!
cos i saw a 2nd hand GT ava 2.0 disc brake at $450. i dunno if its worth at that price. i very gian to get it but i oredi got an old bike which i just spent some $150 on servicing and parts.... :(

Alpha_Hippo

Hi bros of HWZ ..just asking if i had $500 what should i get or what should i upgrade of my Raleigh Mojave 5.5 Disc ?Current specs

Frame - Ralleigh Mojave 5.5 7005 Alu
Fork - Marzocchi MG400
Shifters - SRAM TRX
FD - Shimano Acera
RD - Shimano Tourney
Saddle - Fi:zi'k Gobi XM
Seatpost - Raleigh ...(Dunno just write there raleigh)
Brakes - Avid 5
Levers - Tektro (Don't know)
Wheelset dunno but all i know is that the rear wheel need to replace as the hub cage spoil
as it sunk in hence need to change hub but my hub is 28 spoke so hard to find so need to change rims...Haizzz

OR

What bike can i get but i need to sell my bike first so can u guys recommend me a decent price i can sell it for ??

I want a good hardtail for daily cycling at ECP,PCN XC??

And I wanna start Road biking so i can go green and travel on 2 wheels ...I got a budget of MAX $800 ..And what is the average spd difference of MTB n RB??

Answers are greatly appreciated..Thanks all!!

just change yr wheelset la.

xypher

In terms of Trek, Kona, Giant and Specialized, for $650 budget is there anything bettter than the ava 3.0? i'm really busy this 2 weeks so i cant go to the shop see see...

tecnica

In terms of Trek, Kona, Giant and Specialized, for $650 budget is there anything bettter than the ava 3.0? i'm really busy this 2 weeks so i cant go to the shop see see...
seeing is believing :)

Alpha_Hippo

650 won't get u a good kona , trek or specialised first hand. Giant I think yukon and it is really not bad. Otherwise, can try Jamis.

Do u intend to do off-road with it?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.