[Official] EDMW Cycling Thread

toRRez

hi. jus finish night cycling with my frens. anyway i got a question to ask...

during the night cycling, my chain came out twice, once in front and once at the back. both time is when im shifting gears at a slope. so, is it normal? or issit something somewhere is too loose? anyway i juz bought my bicycle recently and haf only rode on it like 3-4 times.
the shifters are
DERAILLEURS-F/R Shimano TZ30 42, 31.8 / Sram ESP
DERAILLEUR(FRONT) Shimano TZ30 42, 31.8 mm
DERAILLEUR(REAR) Sram ESP.

can some advise me? thanks in advance.

pew

hi. jus finish night cycling with my frens. anyway i got a question to ask...

during the night cycling, my chain came out twice, once in front and once at the back. both time is when im shifting gears at a slope. so, is it normal? or issit something somewhere is too loose? anyway i juz bought my bicycle recently and haf only rode on it like 3-4 times.
the shifters are
DERAILLEURS-F/R Shimano TZ30 42, 31.8 / Sram ESP
DERAILLEUR(FRONT) Shimano TZ30 42, 31.8 mm
DERAILLEUR(REAR) Sram ESP.

can some advise me? thanks in advance.

Could be either chain too long or tuning out,. go to the shop and get it done up.

By the way, try not to shift on a slope, anticipate the climb and shift before. Ease your paddling abit when engaging gear

TheoDR

Under advice from EDMW folks, it seems like the Jamis SX Ranger falls within my budget and is a better bet compared to the Hasa.

Thoughts?

Personally, I'd go for the Jamis, which I did a few years back, but have since sold off the bike due to underuse. :o You can ask tatsit for comments on the bike. :D What's your budget again?

TheoDR

Anyone up for Pulau Ubin some time soon? Next weekend maybe? :D

Wryer

Personally, I'd go for the Jamis, which I did a few years back, but have since sold off the bike due to underuse. :o You can ask tatsit for comments on the bike. :D What's your budget again?

Hello Batman~

Tsk, heart pain. My budget WAS $300 (for the Hasa Comp 1.0), then after some poisoning become $350 (Jamis Ranger SX), then again poisoned by Gilbert become $380 (Jamis TrailX2). OMGWTFBBQ. :s13: Cannot tahan.

But really, I'm not intending to spend too much on my first bike, simply because I don't know if it is '3-minute hot'. But I did enjoy my rides from Pasir Ris to Bedok Reservoir. Yeah, I'm a PCN rider.

Anyone heard of Extronic bikes? My gf's brother is using, and it looks decent to me. Can't find any online specs though! :s13:

BTW, hope everything is going good for you! :D

TheoDR

Hello Batman~

Tsk, heart pain. My budget WAS $300 (for the Hasa Comp 1.0), then after some poisoning become $350 (Jamis Ranger SX), then again poisoned by Gilbert become $380 (Jamis TrailX2). OMGWTFBBQ. :s13: Cannot tahan.

But really, I'm not intending to spend too much on my first bike, simply because I don't know if it is '3-minute hot'. But I did enjoy my rides from Pasir Ris to Bedok Reservoir. Yeah, I'm a PCN rider.

Anyone heard of Extronic bikes? My gf's brother is using, and it looks decent to me. Can't find any online specs though! :s13:

BTW, hope everything is going good for you! :D

Yo, thanks! Ya, better now than a few days back =:p

Hmm.. ask Gilbert if he has some old stock, those will be cheaper at clearance prices. Most important is getting a good and reasonably lightweight frame.

Look for frames (mountain bike, in this case) made of either good chromoly steel or 6000 or 7000 series aluminum, with rear disc brake mounts as the minimum. 6000 series alu is a tad heavier than 7000 series, but iirc Jamis uses 7000 series. Giant usually uses 6061 series alu.

To find out what the numbers stand for, can google for those. Usually its to specifiy the treatment and heating process used on the metal.

$350-400 is a pretty good budget for entry level bikes, that way you'll get at least a 21 or 24 speed transmission.

I think at that price point, you'll either get V-brakes or very basic/low-end disc brakes. The disc brakes will be heavy, but could save you money in the long run by not having to get a new pair of disc ready hubs AND disc rotors AND disc brake system. :crazy:

Next thing you've to do after you got your bike is to ride with some buddies. :D L&T Cycle in Tampines has group rides about 3-4 times a week if I'm not wrong. Joined them for a Mon nite ride once after work. :o Btw, parts also can get from L&T, they've pretty reasonable prices.

Wryer

Yo, thanks! Ya, better now than a few days back =:p

Hmm.. ask Gilbert if he has some old stock, those will be cheaper at clearance prices. Most important is getting a good and reasonably lightweight frame.

Look for frames (mountain bike, in this case) made of either good chromoly steel or 6000 or 7000 series aluminum, with rear disc brake mounts as the minimum. 6000 series alu is a tad heavier than 7000 series, but iirc Jamis uses 7000 series. Giant usually uses 6061 series alu.

To find out what the numbers stand for, can google for those. Usually its to specifiy the treatment and heating process used on the metal.

$350-400 is a pretty good budget for entry level bikes, that way you'll get at least a 21 or 24 speed transmission.

I think at that price point, you'll either get V-brakes or very basic/low-end disc brakes. The disc brakes will be heavy, but could save you money in the long run by not having to get a new pair of disc ready hubs AND disc rotors AND disc brake system. :crazy:

Next thing you've to do after you got your bike is to ride with some buddies. :D L&T Cycle in Tampines has group rides about 3-4 times a week if I'm not wrong. Joined them for a Mon nite ride once after work. :o Btw, parts also can get from L&T, they've pretty reasonable prices.

Woohoo, nice chunk of information. I'll slowly munch on them.

I'll check if Gilbert if he has old stock of the Ranger. To be honest, I don't mind old bikes. At this stage, I just want a bike that I can take through longer distances without falling apart. Weight is secondary. And for the bling blings, stop poisoning me! :s13:

Noted about L&T. I'll probably drop by SCH later to check out their Jamis prices. Apparently, they also carry Jamis; other than Hup Leong. As for group cycles, don't know leh. I prefer riding alone. I got hooked on to the activity when I was riding alone (on my Dura market bike, no less) with my MP3. Very soothing and relaxing!

TheoDR

Woohoo, nice chunk of information. I'll slowly munch on them.

I'll check if Gilbert if he has old stock of the Ranger. To be honest, I don't mind old bikes. At this stage, I just want a bike that I can take through longer distances without falling apart. Weight is secondary. And for the bling blings, stop poisoning me! :s13:

Noted about L&T. I'll probably drop by SCH later to check out their Jamis prices. Apparently, they also carry Jamis; other than Hup Leong. As for group cycles, don't know leh. I prefer riding alone. I got hooked on to the activity when I was riding alone (on my Dura market bike, no less) with my MP3. Very soothing and relaxing!

LOL! Ya check if he has old bikes. Usually the bike design and material doesn't change much at all through recent models, at the most got some geometry difference, but usually parts updated through the years.

Ha, ya, sometimes I enjoy a nice ride to ECP alone too :D

Btw, factor in the costs of these too, if not immediately but in the near future:

- Tyre pump (for Schrader and Presta valve types)
- Helmet (safety first! Min $60+ for a Bell helmet)
- Gloves (to ease hand fatigue)

If you want to, you can change these out on the shop floor to get immediate performance upgrades for your bike:

- Faster rolling tyres if you're cycling mostly on road
- Brake pads (either KoolStop or EBC or similiar brands)

Those shouldn't cost much more if you're trading them in on the shop floor. :D

Wryer

LOL! Ya check if he has old bikes. Usually the bike design and material doesn't change much at all through recent models, at the most got some geometry difference, but usually parts updated through the years.

Ha, ya, sometimes I enjoy a nice ride to ECP alone too :D

Btw, factor in the costs of these too, if not immediately but in the near future:

- Tyre pump (for Schrader and Presta valve types)
- Helmet (safety first! Min $60+ for a Bell helmet)
- Gloves (to ease hand fatigue)

If you want to, you can change these out on the shop floor to get immediate performance upgrades for your bike:

- Faster rolling tyres if you're cycling mostly on road
- Brake pads (either KoolStop or EBC or similiar brands)

Those shouldn't cost much more if you're trading them in on the shop floor. :D

Basket! Stop all your poisoning. Few lollar here and there, all add up then crazy already.

But okay lah, I'm intending to get the helmet anyway. As for gloves, intending to use the SAF one. :o

What's the going rate for the cheapest cyclometer? Just need something to keep track of distance and speed.

TheoDR

Basket! Stop all your poisoning. Few lollar here and there, all add up then crazy already.

But okay lah, I'm intending to get the helmet anyway. As for gloves, intending to use the SAF one. :o

What's the going rate for the cheapest cyclometer? Just need something to keep track of distance and speed.

LOL! =:p Can la, get bike liao then join us for one of the rides :D

Iiirc, cheapest wired cyclometer should be around $25.

Wryer

LOL! =:p Can la, get bike liao then join us for one of the rides :D

Iiirc, cheapest wired cyclometer should be around $25.

Hokay! :D

Oh good, within my budget. :s13: Poor student everything also want cheap cheap.

pew

:s13: But gf trying to dissuade me to get a >$300 bike. :(

we trying to save u money, rather than spending money on a new bike after u get poison, u can just upgrade ur current bike

Wryer

we trying to save u money, rather than spending money on a new bike after u get poison, u can just upgrade ur current bike

I know I know, and I appreciate it. :o I've been down that road before with other hobbies. But its very hard to persuade other people who don't share the same passion~

toRRez

eh. im looking for an allen key set for my bike. the allen key bolts size is it in inches or mm 1 ar?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.