[Official] EDMW Cycling Thread

tecnica

maybe ordering roadie frame
all turning to dark side riaos :o

anyway today i try to pace a roadie.. wah i at 30+kmh liao still cannot keep up after we start off from traffic lights, in a few 10 of a sec the roadie gone riaos.. sibei fast... i bet he smelly smelly also got 40kmh.. :o

oyebto

anyone noe in sg where can get biking clothes like shorts and stuff? got lots of variety?

audioenslave

hi all i juz gotten a 2nd hand giant xtc 3 frm one of the buyer frm togoparts..handles pretty well except that i tink i m facing problems with the disc brakes

the front disc brakes does not stop the tire efficiently, i ve to press the lever all the way for the bike to come to a complete stop and it oso takes a few seconds for it to halt completely.

i oso discovered for the disc brake at the back , though more efficient than the front, but then it makes a loud screeching sound whenever i press the brake lever, either immediate or even when i press the lever in short burst.this means its not smooth,cos i remembered riding my frd's bike, both of his disc brakes does not work this way.

does this mean both disc brakes are whacked liao.? paiseh if sound noob cos this the 1st time i bought this bike with disc brakes so not very sure. wld appreciate some advice frm u bike enthusiasts.thanks

pew

all turning to dark side riaos :o

anyway today i try to pace a roadie.. wah i at 30+kmh liao still cannot keep up after we start off from traffic lights, in a few 10 of a sec the roadie gone riaos.. sibei fast... i bet he smelly smelly also got 40kmh.. :o

maybe only, that's y i close the mo 1 week later, give myself 1 more week to think

tecnica

hi all i juz gotten a 2nd hand giant xtc 3 frm one of the buyer frm togoparts..handles pretty well except that i tink i m facing problems with the disc brakes

the front disc brakes does not stop the tire efficiently, i ve to press the lever all the way for the bike to come to a complete stop and it oso takes a few seconds for it to halt completely.

i oso discovered for the disc brake at the back , though more efficient than the front, but then it makes a loud screeching sound whenever i press the brake lever, either immediate or even when i press the lever in short burst.this means its not smooth,cos i remembered riding my frd's bike, both of his disc brakes does not work this way.

does this mean both disc brakes are whacked liao.? paiseh if sound noob cos this the 1st time i bought this bike with disc brakes so not very sure. wld appreciate some advice frm u bike enthusiasts.thanks
that red/white XTC? i think its mechanical disc, use wire to pull one.. i gonna just give some suggestion but u have to go goggle how to do it.. so...

Front disc
-adjust wire tension
-could be brake pad finishing also
-sadly, some lower end mech disc just work this way~ :s22:

Rear disc
-could be due to oil on rotor, use denatured alchohol to wipe the rotor surface
-if got oil on rotor, maybe got oil on brake pad also, need to sand away the top surface
-rotor could be warp

anyway when it is raining and the rotors are wet, screeching will occur also, under such circumstances then it is consider normal.. :)

zenotic

there's a bike asia going on right now, you folks think that it'll be good for us consumers to drop by for purchases ?

tecnica

i say dun bother~ :s8: must be some show for atas pple :s8:

General Information

Exhibition Information:

Dates : 27th February – 1st March (Friday – Sunday)

Show Hours :
27 February : 10am to 6.00pm (Trade Only)
28 February : 11am to 8.00pm (Trade & Public)
1 March : 11am to 8.00pm (Trade & Public)

Venue: Singapore Expo, Hall 3

Admission Details:

For Trade Visitor:

- Admission is restricted to trade professionals on 27, 28 February and 1 March and open to Public on 28 February and 1 March.

- Children are not allowed on the 27 February 2008.

- Trade Visitors are advised to pre-register and bring along their confirmation letter.

- Visitor badges are non-transferable due to security reasons. You may be asked by security personnel to present proof of identification before entry into the exhibition.

- Visitor registration will stop 30 min before the closing time during all three days of the exhibition.

For Public Visitor
Onsite Admission Ticket: SGD 15
Online Purchase Special Price: SGD 10
Bulk Online Purchase Special Price (Min. 10): SGD 8.50
SAFRA Member Special Price*: SGD 8.50
National Library Board (NLB) Member Special Price1: SGD 8.50
Togoparts Member Special Price*:
SGD 8.50
Student Special Price*: SGD 8

*Proof of SAFRA Member/Student Pass required upon collection of tickets

*Please produce Togoparts cutout coupons upon collection of tickets

1 Proof of Loan Receipt for at least 1 book starting January 2009.

Attire (Only applicable on 27 February 2009):

All visitors must be in smart casual attire. Those in shorts, bermudas, singlets, slippers will not be allowed entry.

Alpha_Hippo

check out the principias, 60 over % discount. i also dunno good anot, i just buy cuz it's cheap.

haha same sentiment. Must be chio cause when cross over to roadie. It is a fashion statement.:o

Principias is from Denmark :o . Anyway, i going to Europe soon so I might just buy there.

audioenslave

that red/white XTC? i think its mechanical disc, use wire to pull one.. i gonna just give some suggestion but u have to go goggle how to do it.. so...

Front disc
-adjust wire tension
-could be brake pad finishing also
-sadly, some lower end mech disc just work this way~ :s22:

Rear disc
-could be due to oil on rotor, use denatured alchohol to wipe the rotor surface
-if got oil on rotor, maybe got oil on brake pad also, need to sand away the top surface
-rotor could be warp

anyway when it is raining and the rotors are wet, screeching will occur also, under such circumstances then it is consider normal.. :)

woah..thanks for the headsup man.. so the difference between mechanical n hydraulic disc brakes differs by a great disparity?

tecnica

woah..thanks for the headsup man.. so the difference between mechanical n hydraulic disc brakes differs by a great disparity?
yes of cos... hydraulics works with oil.. mechanical works with wire pulling..

in terms of modulation, hydraulics win hands down :o

dirtysock

How you all pump tires @ petrol station ah? :o

That time I tried cannot lei.

-Remove valve cap.
-Set PSI to 55
-Press the gauge against valve
-Tire deflate instead. :(

:bandit:

zenotic

tecnica, pew, alpha .. what are the essential components to get for a brand new mtb huh ? should I get a cateyes or fenix for the front ? know where I can get a planet bike superflash blinky ? any recommendation for computers ?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.