[OFFICIAL - GE2020] Sengkang GRC discussions

TopGun

Sometimes rly v disheartened one.
Is like i voting for the ppl to benefit then we disadvantaged
Tbh, I childless also, life also not say bad, vote is rly for whole of singapore. Not saying noble or what la, just that rly the heart is that.

But u see even own acquaintances say happy win but happy not their ward... walau, some more these kinda selfish ppl procreating...

Honestly, as young(ish) childless couple, We also feel alienated from many WP and PAP speech aimed at young couples with young children. But aiya~~~ ah well

5 years once come back see EDMW.
5 years later come back review again :”)

Well... At least you could do your part. I could only watch across the street tho I did my part in my own ways. What's amazing was my estate was cheering when the Sengkang results were out but we are not under the grc. Lol

tonyc

Will they change all the SK blocks no & the one at the carpark entrance signages to corresponds with the other AHTC areas?

They did that last time when LLL won Punggol East. However Black liver Charles changed it back again after won back Punggol East.:o

ctstalin

Me think at most is given stern warnings lah. Some of the things edmwers said are worse :s22:

I hope WP can do a thank you drive about tomorrow or next week. I want to wave my 2011 wp umbrella :s13:

Posted from PCWX using HD1900

wav35_

I hope WP can do a thank you drive about tomorrow or next week. I want to wave my 2011 wp umbrella :s13:

i think thank you drive not allowed this GE, cos they dun want ppl to congregate.

Carnage

Me think at most is given stern warnings lah. Some of the things edmwers said are worse :s22:

Problem is EDMWer aren't public figures, she is.

In all likelihood, there might be a by election for SengKang GRC if she is disqualified because she was found guilty by police.

batniss

Problem is EDMWer aren't public figures, she is.

In all likelihood, there might be a by election for SengKang GRC if she is disqualified because she was found guilty by police.

Why will there be a by-election even if she is sacked? Care to explain?

Carnage

Why will there be a by-election even if she is sacked? Care to explain?

1 seat vacant, and you can't contest a single seat in GRC.

So all 4 seats will be contested again.

This didn't happen when Halimah Yacob stood down to stand for PE, but you can bet your last dollar that the PAP will do anything to win back Sengkang.

batniss

This didn't happen when Halimah Yacob stood down to stand for PE, but you can bet your last dollar that the PAP will do anything to win back Sengkang.

The law provides that a by-election need only be called in a Group Representation Constituency (GRC) if all the Members of Parliament (MPs) in the constituency vacate their seats.

Tell me, is the law wrong? I dare not bet

blurwulf

Wah just now pass by sengkang mrt, can see the people there really walk got wind sia
Bcos ppl see a new hope in this area.
This morning when I waiting for lift, got 1 stranger unker nodded and smiled at me, with a gleam in his eyes...
I hope the WP don't disappoint the ppl here.

Sent from My Butthole using GAGT

sCuzzZy

Proud to be part of the grc to make history. Stayed here for 20 years... was briefly under wp for 2 years and then back to pap. Hope the wp will prove themselves worthy in parliament and continue to bring Singapore to greater heights!

ooh fellow punggol East resident! LLL was a very good MP.

Sibei_lowprofile

I don't think the PAP will force a by election, it will backfire on them again. They underestimated the young demographic in Sengkang. I think that stats said that >60% of the voters in Sengkang are 45 years old and below? That's higher than the national average. Truth is we young voters are worried about the future. It seems bleak, and foreign talent continue to take away our jobs. Many of us feel that a change in the political landscape is required, and I'm glad that I made my vote count.

Looking at all the other close fights elsewhere, I think there's a general trend of greater dissatisfaction towards the PAP in this GE. I hope they focus on bucking up instead and truly help Singaporeans, rather than playing gutter politics which is the only thing they're best at.

kleong

If this happen, more ppl will be pissed with the double standard and vote for wp. Beside, oppo usually do better in by election.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.