[OFFICIAL - GE2020] Sengkang GRC discussions

Sibei_lowprofile

If SK is still 50% older citizens then WP won’t have a chance because while Jamus is such a solid candidate, will the aunties; uncles; ah gongs; ah mas be able to relate to him?

So you’re saying that they can relate to paper generals NCM, LPM, Amrin and Raymond Lye? :o

Some-one

sengkang people, Ng Chee Meng can be replaced by Seah Kian Peng. Only 4 people, not a loss to PAP also. Remember how LPM flip-flop on PMD's policy...

lcyt89

Hope WP will stay in SK if they lose this time round.

There will come a time, whether is it 5 or 10 years later, when PAP will introduce unpopular policies like raising GST to recoup this year's budget. It will be a vote swinger.

As a taxpayer, I am more worried about the post-Covid future.

xtwis7

They don’t need to relate to those people. As per status quo, they will just feel what’s the point. It’s the younger generations who really have a more radical way of thinking.

Being traditional you will always tend to go for safety. I do hope I’m wrong because I believe this SK party can really win.

So you’re saying that they can relate to paper generals NCM, LPM, Amrin and Raymond Lye? :o

sCuzzZy

UwZzWhH.jpg

Different budget man. one booklet on estate plan. separate booklet on candidate introduction.

vaxvms

There will come a time, whether is it 5 or 10 years later, when PAP will introduce unpopular policies like raising GST to recoup this year's budget. It will be a vote swinger.

20 years ago i also heard this from someone haha

vaxvms

SK imo 4 man disadvantage

family problem or char bo problem man no good listerner

dun understand why white this time no brain send all 4 men to SK

SK bao jiak perhaps they think due to prc /ceca immigrants

twosix

pap used $90b+ of our reserves, do u think they will do nothing to crawl it back in the coming years? besides increasing gst, I'm sure they have a basket of "dis-incentives" ready to roll out after they are given the "mandate".

DrakeBlaze

Sorry to bust ur dream my friend, if an unpopular policy from PAP will swing vote that easily, Singaporeans will not have been called daft already. How many a time during the 5 years, everyone is complaining about policies PAP had put through but to still give them the vote at the end of the term. I used to be very hopeful and now I’m already numb. I can only say I will do my part to vote for alternative voices, but I can’t say so for the majority of the voters in Singapore

Bertrand Traore

U mean last 5 yrs no unpopular policies?

tamago_

On the cost of food in Sengkang, my take is, the cost of providing cooked food is never cheap. However, I know many stallholders in the mature estates have resisted from raising their prices because the people they are serving are only getting older, and they would rather earn less from each and try to improve sales. They have also said, as the folks leave the world one by one, business is getting harder and young people do not eat their kind of food (can be as simple as wanton mee) anymore, but they are putting up the stall just so that they can still eat. People always complain, why the portions from that stall keeps getting lesser, we should not eat there anymore. I'm not the old generation yet, I grew up eating it, so I will go buy and say, I'll pay you $5 for the large one, which could be just the normal size elsewhere. The observation that food is cheaper in mature estates is more than meets the eye.

And then there is the problem of moving to a new estate or area, where demand is not high enough to sustain costs at the same level, unlike mature areas. Every developing town has this problem. The only way to solve it is to increase the supply of eateries to force prices down, but after a few years, many stallholders will just give up as they cannot afford to compete on price. Some stallowners might innovate to justify selling higher-priced items and get business, this raises the average price of food in the area, but is this considered bad? And young people these days, they get bored of food easily. Even with a coffeeshop underneath, they will travel far out to eat something nice, cos the best stalls won't set up in Sengkang when you can have a ready base of customers elsewhere. And how can the typical Sengkang coffeeshop survive? In the mature estates, the uncles will still come down to have a coffee to contribute some business. It is a vicious cycle.

Anyway, someone mentioned that food in Buangkok Kopitiam is bad. Yeah, but the tze char is quite good. I will take bus and train there just to eat.

tamago_

If PAP is serious about SK, they will send HSK there.

SK suffers from high cost of living. But each election, they promised hawker centers, but nothing happens. To lower the cost of food in SK, we should have one hawker center at each precinct.

Look at SK sports complex. After almost 15 years, there is still no covered walkway to the bus stop or LRT station.

Then look at the condition of SK Interchange, it seems to be permanently under repair. Try crossing the overhead bridge from Sengkang interchange to Compassvale interchange, you can see how they save in cleaning cost.
I think the lesson learnt from new hawker centres these days are, having a hawker centre does not mean food will be cheap. I can likely get my food cheaper at the Foodfare kopitiam nearby with my NTUC card. $2.50 economical rice with 1 meat and 2 veg, why not? Though also cannot everyday eat economical rice, will sian one :o

If I'm not wrong, the first bus stop ever to serve that place along Sengkang East Way since 2006 is too far from the entrance at McD side, before the complex opened in 2008. The bus stop along Anchorvale Rd came only in 2017 with 110 and 374. A covered linkway from Farmway LRT would straddle the junction, not something that is a priority for physically fit people going over for exercise or a swim (just bring an umbrella?), as compared to daily commutes (volume) or links where old people frequent (safety). So, covered linkways were provided for adjacent blocks for all-weather access from Farmway LRT.

That bridge at SK Int is indeed bad. It is a leftover from many years back, and is trying to adapt to its purpose; I think there are some stairs on the intetchange side. I'd just cross the road at ground level most of the time. But it did provide a backup sheltered path from the old interchange and the linkway towards HDB blocks at Compassvale Rd. I do hope when Compassvale Int moves out (likely in 2023 or after), they will re-do the whole area a little :o

My point is, you can vote WP if you don't like the PAP, but some things are there for a reason. If you say these things are the deciding factors, I think we, as a nation, we are all in trouble.

Xiaomehmeh

UwZzWhH.jpg

Different budget man. one booklet on estate plan. separate booklet on candidate introduction.
Ya. But the future plan not good as compared tampines and marine parade plan. all plans are super budgeted 1-5m facilities. Compared to billion in tampines and marine parade

runforyourlife

Ya. But the future plan not good as compared tampines and marine parade plan. all plans are super budgeted 1-5m facilities. Compared to billion in tampines and marine parade

Probably not enough time to plan such major scale. How long ago do you think this team of 4 know they are contesting SK?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.