[OFFICIAL - GE2020] Sengkang GRC discussions

mcylo

This I agree. Jamus most probably end up as ncmp.

No..... PAP doesn't need to fix sengkang wp team..... becos ground feel is good for a win. Maybe slightly below 65%, it will not be a close fight lah. IMHO, wp scoring 40% is considered as a good result.

EDMWer sibei funny, they thought only edmwer vote nia.... :s13::s13:

civicguy

Don’t worry. 2/3 majority. Change constitution. Change law to have by-election in a GRC.

Sounds familiar? Ya. Change law to make Indian become Malay

You voted for Super majority.

They already self snook when Halimah resigned from Marsiling and the five-judge court dismissed the appeal for a by-election citing “when amending the Constitution to implement the GRC scheme, Parliament never intended that a single vacancy in a GRC would trigger an obligation on the Government to call a by-election”

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/new...ction-in-marsiling-yew-tee-grc-after-11429138

wlalala

Don’t worry. 2/3 majority. Change constitution. Change law to have by-election in a GRC.

Sounds familiar? Ya. Change law to make Indian become Malay

You voted for Super majority.

they dun need to change the law

PM can call election any time he wants

he can dissolve parliament again a few months later if he feels like it

ctstalin

Honestly, even before this 'saga', no matter what the internet said about Jamus and WP, the truth is PAP is still the favourite to win here.

Now with this 'saga', Khan will be a convenient scapegoat for WP's defeat :o

tamago_

They won't voluntarily vacate their seats. But the PM can choose to call a by-election to force them out.
https://sso.agc.gov.sg/Act/PEA1954#pr24-

Writ of election

24.—(2A) In respect of any group representation constituency, no writ shall be issued under subsection (1) for an election to fill any vacancy unless all the Members for that constituency have vacated their seats in Parliament. [Oct 1988]

24.—(1) For the purposes of every general election of Members of Parliament, and for the purposes of the election of Members to supply vacancies caused by death, resignation or otherwise, the President shall issue writs under the public seal, addressed to the Returning Officer.

lcyt89

Saw the PAP candidates posted the following on their FB:

"When voting, do not just look at words, but what the candidates can actually deliver."

Stayed here for 20 years but nothing much delivered by incumbent.

Sibei_lowprofile

Sengkang has a lot of new citizens. I got an acquaintance in Sengkang who is from China converted Singaporean and served his NS, he will be voting for PAP. New citizens were also a factor why LLL lost Punggol East in 2015. And then you also have the daft Sinkies who just want to stubbornly stick to the status quo. This GE 93-0 to PAP liao la. Singaporeans will never change one. I’m not even going to watch the results this Friday.

tamago_

I believe part of the reason why a new citizen might vote PAP is they prefer not to see a weak government and the ensuing chaos. People migrate here for a stable life. Once there is no guarantee of this, there won't come anymore, and we can say bye-bye to Singapore. We are not like Hong Kong that is backed up by China, they can riot all they want, but they will outlast Singapore in existence in the long-run, if we are not careful.

surfman

Honestly, even before this 'saga', no matter what the internet said about Jamus and WP, the truth is PAP is still the favourite to win here.

Now with this 'saga', Khan will be a convenient scapegoat for WP's defeat :o

Yup agreed. Don’t think this will impact the overall result too much and pap will still win comfortably. After all this is pap traditional pattern for election. Die die must find one opposition member to smear. Most singaporean used to it alr.

jeffrey745

I agree with you no doubt, but it is to address any wishful thinking that there can be a re-match. We all know GRCs are a double-edged sword. Same with elections and its 5-year term. If the issues were raised after she was elected and they were forced to resign hence, it's fair. But if electors went in with their eyes open, even the PAP would not have the power to remove them. And why would the WP team then remove themselves for nothing? That's just what I meant. You want to vote WP, no U-turns allowed. It's not fair for WP.

U do know a number of pap mps made remarks of the same nature right? Were they forced to resign from their mp position?

But Anw all these is up to Sengkang residents...

I dun see wp more seats...

If they can retain ahtc its good enuf...

etyx84

If worker party, jamus win in my GRC, I will uproot myself and go pulau ubin to stay, which is under east coast GRC.
When wanna sell can let me know. My ceca colleague on the lookout.

Sent from Xiaomi MI 9T PRO using GAGT

Starbutt

I believe part of the reason why a new citizen might vote PAP is they prefer not to see a weak government and the ensuing chaos. People migrate here for a stable life. Once there is no guarantee of this, there won't come anymore, and we can say bye-bye to Singapore. We are not like Hong Kong that is backed up by China, they can riot all they want, but they will outlast Singapore in existence in the long-run, if we are not careful.

It's a no brainer. New citizen for sure will vote for PAP. perhaps until a time when they face the same bread and butter issues like local do or when they become old citizens and have to compete with newer citizens, if they ever will. Perhaps, they might have moved to greener pastures by then.

That is why WP need to have a strategy to win their votes. I am always curious what is the voters demographic in terms of 'old' versus new citizens. The government probably have these number and is anybody's guess if the slicing and dicing of constituency would have this taken into account. :)

netbookcraze

I just hate SJW to the core.

Imagine male in 30s and 40s are the most suffering lots.

Sandwich generation. Take care old. Take care young and owned by woman charter.

If one of them got long term illness then you are quite gone case.

Have to Compete with FT without job security.

Served 2.5 year NS and 10 years reservist.

Somemore have to listen to this SJW JJWW inequality.

Smlj.

After JJWW, she go chill in hipster pub while we eat cai PNG to save cost.

SJW are irresponsible lots who have too much free time because they are rich.

Fck it. wP will not get my vote if I live in SK.

tamago_

U do know a number of pap mps made remarks of the same nature right? Were they forced to resign from their mp position?

But Anw all these is up to Sengkang residents...

I dun see wp more seats...

If they can retain ahtc its good enuf...
We were discussing this with the assumption WP wins and ask Raeesah alone to resign to trigger a by-election to swap another person in, so I cannot tailor it to your thinking. Paiseh...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.