*Official* General Market Chit Chat Thread - Part 2

Kinetic88

Interest rate hike. More unemployment. Capital outflow.

this ish where the differential of a smart investor and a behkan Jin Power Morgan trader mind set look at thing.

Asia Financial crisis, Pan Ele stock market crash and SGX closed for a history 3 days no trading, CLOB share saga, ppl still huat big big by buying property.

when char kuay teoh was selling at S$1.00 per plate, condos selling for S$300K, ppl say condo very expensive, eventually, the condo fetched S$1.2M after 20+ yr.

when HDB 5 rm point block selling S$30K, ppl all say very expensive, eventually it fetch S$120K after only 10 Yrs.

Kinetic88

The natures of the Singapore housing market and the entire US housing market are different. Singapore is a land scarce city with little room to expand. People can't move from one region to another. Look, Singaporeans are not going to move to Ubin or JB en mass to cause prices to collapse. The US is different. People can move from one area to another, from the city center to the suburbs. Prices in one area can collapse or skyrocket without any financial crisis, just by urban developments.

well say. :s12:

starfish.starfish

I treat those posts as popcorn bo liao entertainment, like what you get in EDMW.

I sometimes find that peeps in ssi generally are the 2nd most pessimistic group in sg, most pessimistic group of cos in edmw. Lol. Which is strange as the group here has the money and knowledge to make it good yet seemed so pessimistic about future.

Everyone seems to 打保守牌, no one aiming for 清一色...heehee including me lah. Maybe we have to change our mindset, no guts no glory like what some here say.

ccostagmont

moi can never forget what moi former neighbours in a condo told moi : "in life, all chiu need ish to had 2 property market crash and chiu can be a millionair".

buy and sell 2 condos over the past 40 yrs enable moi to live comfortably.

moi neighbours ish right.

your era can.
moi era cannot.
hdb flat now not like buy 15k, sell @ 300k.
& condo flip more likely is suffer loss.

moi era - muz be fast hand fast leg like orwell76...
late 90s come out werk den marry den hoot cheapo hdb & cheapo condos + car.

or muz be big earner (which then is independent of which era u are in).

Kinetic88

your era can.
moi era cannot.
hdb flat now not like buy 15k, sell @ 300k.
& condo flip more likely is suffer loss.

moi era - muz be fast hand fast leg like orwell76...
late 90s come out werk den marry den hoot cheapo hdb & cheapo condos + car.

or muz be big earner (which then is independent of which era u are in).

Pinnacle buy S$400K selling S$1.2M now.

every 1 comprain bery ex see the $400K price but now all laughing all the way to the bank. Unker/aunty can sell the unit and buy a 3 rm with the rest of the money invest in blue cheat, just collect dividends can survive liao. :s13:

Average

GCgM3fcl.png

Sent from 穷小子 using GAGT

ccostagmont

Pinnacle buy S$400K selling S$1.2M now.

every 1 comprain bery ex see the $400K price but now all laughing all the way to the bank. Unker/aunty can sell the unit and buy a 3 rm with the rest of the money invest in blue cheat, just collect dividends can survive liao. :s13:

those buy punggol hdb can buy @ 400k & sell @ a million?

ccostagmont

If my parents Yishun flat can buy at 80k and current valuation at 400k, anything is possible lol. May take a while though.

if happen means jiaklat liao...
one bowl of noodles outside or one plate of jiken rice will cost $10 @ hawker centre.

& de average salaried worker pay will need to be revised up.

sustainable???

Asphodeli

waiting for the moment push comes to shove in Singapore...then we will see the true effects of the last 10 or so years of cheap labor, low productivity and low interest rates...

Kinetic88

if happen means jiaklat liao...
one bowl of noodles outside or one plate of jiken rice will cost $10 @ hawker centre.

& de average salaried worker pay will need to be revised up.

sustainable???

if 20 cts char kuay teoh (bring your own egg) become S$3.00 now can happen, why not ?

lockks

I sometimes find that peeps in ssi generally are the 2nd most pessimistic group in sg, most pessimistic group of cos in edmw. Lol. Which is strange as the group here has the money and knowledge to make it good yet seemed so pessimistic about future.

Everyone seems to 打保守牌, no one aiming for 清一色...heehee including me lah. Maybe we have to change our mindset, no guts no glory like what some here say.

Maybe we all know our govt is losing grip of the world economy.

starfish.starfish

waiting for the moment push comes to shove in Singapore...then we will see the true effects of the last 10 or so years of cheap labor, low productivity and low interest rates...

The issue of misfitting of current skillsets of our workers vs current expectations in workplace is very real, if we cannot transform fast enough or our generation is not hungry enough for success we for sure will be in deep trouble. To me this is more dire than interest rates increase. Singapore with no natural resources nor domestic market will not survive the yolo mindset.

starfish.starfish

Maybe we all know our govt is losing grip of the world economy.

I believe the garmen is trying very hard not to cause panic, but whatever they tried to convey if you listen hard enough it's fully in line with global movements. Do you act now or wait for garmen to act on your behalf?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.