[Official] Home Automation Thread

Yureak

regarding that

also possible,

I not expert on these home automation stuffs but I find it is more on " COOL " part whereby people come to your house

lol you just clap your hands , lights either turn on or off...etc

A lot videos online got show case about Home automation ..

I feel western countries more into this ....for asian countries not much...

Anyway , I don't surprised next time our HDB home will include all these...

in fact , If i not wrong , HDB got experience on some HDB flats liao...

for example now corridor lights ..they using " sensor type " if no body walk the light will do slightly dim a bit...

when a person happen to walk pass or around ..the light will brighten up a bit ..after the person walk off ...the light go back dimmer a bit.

These kind of "dumb" sensors are very easy to use. Last time my old house used this for kitchen and toilet... No automation just motion sensor detecting when a person is in and will turn on lights.

However, the real beauty imho is using these to do many more incredible things. Eg comparing time of day to know if youre leaving home for work or coming home from a long day. Thereby it can trigger the right actions.

Imagine youre leaving for work it'll turn off everything for you saving electricity

Yureak

TS you DIY the system or ask soneone to help install...I'm thinking of using zwave smart switch for my lighting or do you think using a smart bulb like the Phillips Hue is better as you won't need an electrician to lay the Earth wire for your lighting switch...

Control4 cant diy de... I work in IT myself so i setup my own server rack and network infrastructure tho

Hue is very proprietary and locked in. I recommend you consider zwave switches instead. Imagine u change lights then bulbs can no longer be used.

Additionally not sure if automation systems will maintain support for hue into the future. Whereas zwave, zigbee are open standards and will last as long as wifi

asiafrenz

for me, i did not see any real use case for a sophisticated home automation idea except perhap to help me close my window and balcony door when it rain and while i was asleep :s13::s13::s13:

Yureak

for me, i did not see any real use case for a sophisticated home automation idea except perhap to help me close my window and balcony door when it rain and while i was asleep :s13::s13::s13:

If i were u... I'd just let it rain and continue sleeping hahaha.

No la but there are sensors to tell u which doors or windows you havnt closed and can trigger notifications on your phone

It's also useful for multilevel houses so imagine you're upstairs and guests ring your bell you can remotely open the gate for them

asiafrenz

No la but there are sensors to tell u which doors or windows you havnt closed and can trigger notifications on your phone

It's also useful for multilevel houses so imagine you're upstairs and guests ring your bell you can remotely open the gate for them

cannot let it be lah, wait make the whole room wet and dirty, must clean up again! i sleep in aircon room, its the living, kitchen and balcony area that i usually leave the window open for airing the whole house. :D

You stay in HDB, condo or landed house?

I feel this home automation is best use for landed house...as it can really help a lot.

Yureak

cannot let it be lah, wait make the whole room wet and dirty, must clean up again! i sleep in aircon room, its the living, kitchen and balcony are that i usually leave the window open for airing the whole house. :D

Actually i think they can do motorised doors for you. Quite common for kitchens and toilets.

Your proposed issue shouldn't be a problem. Only issue is $$$

Yureak

Dont know if im lazy but lately ive been lying down preparing to sleep and dont wanna get up to turn off the lights... So i do it from my phone LOL

Yureak

Is the system able to provide feedback as well? Let's say I bring xiaosan home to piak piak, but before i reach the house I wanna check wife home already or not. Possible? :o

Sent from the Matrix using GAGT

Possible. You can see who accessed the house, what time and what day. But you need a digital lock that can be automated.

Otherwise you can just use an ip camera also linked to your phone system and can view live video.

Additionally u can also "arm" the house so you'll be notified once the motion sensors detect any movement

makav31i

Control4 cant diy de... I work in IT myself so i setup my own server rack and network infrastructure tho

Hue is very proprietary and locked in. I recommend you consider zwave switches instead. Imagine u change lights then bulbs can no longer be used.

Additionally not sure if automation systems will maintain support for hue into the future. Whereas zwave, zigbee are open standards and will last as long as wifi

Control4 vs zwave, if you could redo your Home Automation would you try out Vera Z-wave or stick to control 4...?

Yureak

Control4 vs zwave, if you could redo your Home Automation would you try out Vera Z-wave or stick to control 4...?

I dont have to choose between both...

My control4 system has both zigbee and zwave. In fact im using a vera edge as a gateway to control my lighting switches which are zwave.

But everything ultimately still goes through my control4 controller and user interface so the vera is only like a "slave" device. This gives me scalability for future use though.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.