[OFFICIAL] Lawrence Wong 黄循财 Fan Club

hmyoth

CPF - Safety net.…..Just don’t fully depend on CPF monthly pay out for retirement - problem solved.
I have saving / investment for my retirement . even without the cpf life payout I can survive . But cpf is my money . I want it in my pocket not someone else. Whoever delay shift goalpost of paying my hard earned $ is unacceptable.

Lchlch

Really Good Luck to sinkies.
Your Govt really pawned you guys deep deep.

He should go tell all the employers.
Whether they want to retain older workers or not.

Bear in mind, if older workers get retrenched or terminated, we are dead.

Upskilled for older workers? Joking? Learn what? Wash toilet?

Stay relevant, yes to work as a cleaners for $1k per month jobs.

Lchlch

Companies don't care a damn.
If you old, out ypu go
Bye bye.
And after out, life will be spiral downwards and we will become beggar soon.

Travis_Touchdown

increase re-employment age ish fine... those who ish sufficient can choose notch to continue working... :frown:

but delay cpf payout ish too much... no one can say for sure they ish can live till that age to get the $... dunch come wib this bs saying life expectancy increased... lumbar of peepurz kena terminal illnesses also increased... @Shion :s27::frown:

Multiversal

So CPF life start from 75yrs ?
It can start at 65, you do some light work but earn less, and added up, you can get by well.

The qualitative aspect of it is that you keep active both mentally and physically when you get out of the house to got to work, and work.

It's also good for the country because of our labour shortage due to the low TFR, which is below replacement rate. If we cannot provide the nation's manpower needs with unborn babies, the only way is to ask the older workers to stay on. Otherwise, we have no choice but to bring in more FTs and FWs.

Another incidental benefit is that local hawkers can continue to have their regular customers as these office workers continue to support them during the lunch hours. New migrants would only order mala and not mee pok tar. Already we are seeing so many local hawker stalls being taken over by mala stalls.

106gunner

Chek Ark, want ppl to work till up lorry and forever cannot collect their CPF

We are the only country that have CPF contribution and also keep raising the retirement age

Lchlch

increase re-employment age ish fine... those who ish sufficient can choose notch to continue working... :frown:

but delay cpf payout ish too much... no one can say for sure they ish can live till that age to get the $... dunch come wib this bs saying life expectancy increased... lumbar of peepurz kena terminal illnesses also increased... @Shion :s27::frown:
Yes I am sure many if no health issue, love to work as Ling as possible.
But still depends on companies whether they want older staff or not, usually not.

Lchlch

Nonono..delay payout is too much already.
55 to 65, the 10 years window period a killer to many.

jeffprobst

wah. sibei "caring" government. so really shift goalpost again and again. CPF... lol.

ramlee

Yes I am sure many if no health issue, love to work as Ling as possible.
But still depends on companies whether they want older staff or not, usually not.
Yesssssss they think we ish liabilities :(

cet87

No. Payout age and retirement age are 2 different things. Currently payout age is 65 and retirement age is 63. That said, history had shown that they had moved goal posts before. I wont be surprised when it finally comes to my time, they delay payout age to 70. Really is work till u die.
Is it not enough money inside?

ramlee

It can start at 65, you do some light work but earn less, and added up, you can get by well.

The qualitative aspect of it is that you keep active both mentally and physically when you get out of the house to got to work, and work.

It's also good for the country because of our labour shortage due to the low TFR, which is below replacement rate. If we cannot provide the nation's manpower needs with unborn babies, the only way is to ask the older workers to stay on. Otherwise, we have no choice but to bring in more FTs and FWs.

Another incidental benefit is that local hawkers can continue to have their regular customers as these office workers continue to support them during the lunch hours. New migrants would only order mala and not mee pok tar. Already we are seeing so many local hawker stalls being taken over by mala stalls.
But they say we ish over the hill :(

Multiversal

This is for the elites to hog the toilet seat longer.
Not applicable for normal residents since they will struggle when they reached 40.
Who is he kidding ?

We do have a problem and it's a national level problem. If a couple had produced three or more children, their children could replace or even more than replace them in the workforce when they retire.

However, as the TFR had fallen for already a few decades, the effects of this are now felt deeply and badly. Without the (never born) children to work, going forward, it is those who didn't make babies who have to do the work which their (unborn) children would otherwise be doing. They have to work longer/retire later to make up for this shortfall in manpower. If not, the only solution is to being in more FTs and FWs, and if we do that, you will whine.

It will take time for employers to change their mindset, their prejudices, their preference for only younger workers. The government can set the ball rolling by starting to extend the re-employment age to all "civil serpents". In fact, it is already a common sight, if you visit any ministry, or even a community centre, to see boomers and xoomers sitting behind the desk.

Such a change has to have the government initiating it, as the private sector will not initiate it. If you are fair and not clouded/blinded by your deep hatred for the PAP, for reason only you know, you should support the government's effort. I would be very surprised if LMW or PS stand to oppose or question this.

Multiversal

But they say we ish over the hill :(

There are without argument certain things we cannot do when we are 65, which we could do when we were 25.

However, there are many things we can do because we have the experience to do it which a 25 year old would do only as a lesson in life which would be at the company's expense.

Ever heard of SWOT? Strengths, Weakness, Opportunities and Threats. It's one of the paradigms people who work in sales and marketing, business development, and strategic planning use, but it can applied to ourselves.

When you analyse the job market, and you know you are competing with everybody else who is also applying for that job, you should sell from a position of strength (yours) and not from your competitors' strength. You fight the battle where he is weak. Sun Tse taught that.

TA20222025

its only beneficial to those existing boomers who are managers or VPs and above.

Those who cant save up for retirement , well no need to guess why

not sure why greedy old rich people want to hog. and drive prices and desperation up

Why not? Hog more for their descendents mah.

Boomers are well known for kicking or pulling the ladder once they get to the peak.

images

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.