*Official* MasterLeong Thread - Part 2

yihao93

SINGAPORE - Singapore's economic growth cannot be achieved through manpower growth, but should be pursued based on productivity and innovation, Education Minister (Higher Education and Skills) Ong Ye Kung said on Tuesday (Jan 24) as he gave a preview of an upcoming governmental report about how the country's economy will enter its next phase.

Speaking at an international roundtable organised by the Singapore University of Technology and Design's Lee Kuan Yew Centre for Innovative Cities, Mr Ong said that Singapore's manpower growth was bound by its small size, challenging demographic trends as well as the need to preserve a sense of identity.

The report by the Committee on the Future Economy will thus focus on figuring out how Singapore can maximise the use of its limited resources.

"We are on an irreversible journey to pursue growth based on productivity and innovation," he said.

Mr Ong, who is also the Second Minister of Defence, said the report will go deeper into the "algorithms and mechanisms of (resource) allocation, achieving quantum leaps in optimisation".

"In other words, we are answering the question: how do we do more with less?" he said.

This can be done by anticipating areas of future growth, deepening the skills base of employees here, encouraging people and businesses to enter regional and global markets, and nurturing an enterprising spirit.

Mr Ong said that while the Government can foster an environment that facilitates enterprise, society needs to "play an even bigger role in the way it views failures, celebrates successes, and decides who it shall honour".

"Today, our culture is to honour scholars who have good academic grades, who can rise in organisations and bureaucracies," said Mr Ong.

"We need to put on the same pedestal the entrepreneurs, who have tried, who have failed, but have succeeded. We need to honour them."

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapo...ill-focus-on-doing-more-with-less-ong-ye-kung

sounds very similar to this

You know who answers the question: What is 2+2?

"I have to say a lot of people have been asking this question. No, really. A lot of people come up to me and they ask me. They say, "What's 2+2"? And I tell them look, we know what 2+2 is. We've had almost eight years of the worst kind of math you can imagine. Oh my god, I can't believe it. Addition and subtraction of the 1s the 2s and the 3s. Its terrible. Its just terrible. Look, if you want to know what 2+2 is, do you want to know what 2+2 is? I'll tell you.

First of all the number 2, by the way I love the number 2. It's probably my favorite number, no it is my favorite number. You know what, it's probably more like the number two but with a lot of zeros behind it. A lot. If I'm being honest, I mean, if I'm being honest. I like a lot of zeros. Except for Marco Rubio, now he's a zero that I don't like. Though, I probably shouldn't say that. He's a nice guy but he's like, "10101000101", on and on, like that. He's like a computer! You know what I mean? He's like a computer. I don't know. I mean, you know.

So, we have all these numbers and we can add them and subtract them and add them. TIMES them even. Did you know that? We can times them OR divide them, they don't tell you that, and I'll tell you, no one is better at the order of operations than me. You wouldn't believe it. That I can tell you. So, we're gonna be the best on 2+2, believe me. OK? Alright. Thank you."

Shion

Senior Mentor
SINGAPORE - Singapore's economic growth cannot be achieved through manpower growth, but should be pursued based on productivity and innovation, Education Minister (Higher Education and Skills) Ong Ye Kung said on Tuesday (Jan 24) as he gave a preview of an upcoming governmental report about how the country's economy will enter its next phase.

Productivity ? Innovation ? Ask those SMEs to start these 2 first !

Shion

Senior Mentor
我記得從前的新年,大部份的店舖在除夕前幾天就打烊了

這些年來,看見越來越多店舖到了除夕都還在營業

是否反映好的日子早已離去,愈離愈遠?

MasterLeong

Seems like O&G sector has not bottomed yet....

If a major blue-chip like KC is oredi facing so much stress..... cannot imagine how those small players are surviving :(

Make me abit worried for the NPLs of banks exposed to O&G loans...:s22:

Small ones already a few when bankrupt in 2016
2017 may see a few more cases before recovery in 2018 i guess

2017 shall see if KC the earnings have bottomed or not

PoGooo

How many do u hv?

enough to feel worried I might be stuck with the shares forever :s22::s13:

Just sell lor
U sitting on big losses is it? Then throw into cold storage ba

Not huge losses but will lose several K if I sell now lah. Was thinking if throw into cold storage and collect dividends along the way, maybe in a few years can sell for a profit:s11:

ever think of cutting loss?

Only for stocks without long term holding potential ba. Keppel I think still have long term holding potential? I might be wrong of course :s13:

starfish.starfish

sold sci at breakeven point.
sold 50% of kc at slight red, the other 50% is at deep red, so must put cold storage already...

MasterLeong

surprisingly KC only drop 3%

maybe investors feel that 2017 could be the bottom already, then 2018 recovery mode

MasterLeong

Not huge losses but will lose several K if I sell now lah. Was thinking if throw into cold storage and collect dividends along the way, maybe in a few years can sell for a profit:s11:

Only for stocks without long term holding potential ba. Keppel I think still have long term holding potential? I might be wrong of course :s13:

at 20 cents dividends still yields 3%, low but better than nothing

I know most investors hate realising a lost

KC is a blue chip, even though its very weak

if u want to put cold storage then u must be serious about it, throw inside 3 years and do not even see the price daily maybe a few months or 1 year see one time the kc price... just delete the price from your watchlist

MasterLeong

marine business is bad... but property business is decent

given the lower ROE of 6-7% range, I think KC will trade below 1 times book value for some time until the marine segment recovers

my fair value for KC is maybe 0.9 times book value which is around $6 or slightly lower

jmapsmylife

at 20 cents dividends still yields 3%, low but better than nothing

I know most investors hate realising a lost

KC is a blue chip, even though its very weak

if u want to put cold storage then u must be serious about it, throw inside 3 years and do not even see the price daily maybe a few months or 1 year see one time the kc price... just delete the price from your watchlist

If do that mean 3 years of opportunity cost gone? :s22: capital can be deploy somewhere more productive like reits? KC now is like a person in coma dun know when will wake up. can be tml can be 1 mth can be 1 yr or 10 yr or never.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.