*Official* MasterLeong Thread - Part 2

MasterLeong

ML 8-10% not easy without FIFO and capital.

8% is not very hard

example your CMT and FCT already 6% dividends.. u just need 2% capital gains from increase in dpu/nav u can hit 8% liao

however if want to hit 8% on a bigger portfolio of say 10 stocks is not easy, really need to pick solid companies

MasterLeong

Hi, thanx for all the tips. i got my degree just that should i use it. as i mention if i use it i need to change department and there will be lots of stress politics and all others. always ot also how to not neglect family. also since im young i can take more risks. so putting it in etf now is not the best option for me. STI now 3k liao.

maybe use your degree to slowly find new job lor

meanwhile nothing work sitting on and diploma job a bit longer

MasterLeong

LOL LOL LOL at his post

"Other Investment

Some people call this speculating or betting.

For those who knows me well, they would know that I call this an investment. This means that like any stock purchase, I made a conscious decision to weigh the risk and the reward and if the returns (and probability) is in my favor, I would initiate a position in it. Nothing much difference from what I do here and what I've been doing all along.

My Bet with Singapore Pools

I've initiated a position in Chelsea FC to win the EPL by the end of May. I bought them towards the end of Dec at an odds of 1.65 and added them further in recent week after their historic run was brought to an end.

I've made this investment my sunk cost, so I've written everything off here mentally in case things does not work out. I think this is the right approach one should take if they are going into the casino and doing all these stuff.

If they work out well, I'd be getting a massive lump sum proceeds in May. This would be a wild card for my aim to end the year with a stretch target of $600k by year end.
"

MasterLeong

P_20170114_175731.jpg

he bet 11k on chelsea win EPL?

i dunno soccer one... so easy to earn meh?

Shion

Senior Mentor
LOL LOL LOL at his post

"Other Investment

Some people call this speculating or betting.

For those who knows me well, they would know that I call this an investment. This means that like any stock purchase, I made a conscious decision to weigh the risk and the reward and if the returns (and probability) is in my favor, I would initiate a position in it. Nothing much difference from what I do here and what I've been doing all along.

My Bet with Singapore Pools

I've initiated a position in Chelsea FC to win the EPL by the end of May. I bought them towards the end of Dec at an odds of 1.65 and added them further in recent week after their historic run was brought to an end.

I've made this investment my sunk cost, so I've written everything off here mentally in case things does not work out. I think this is the right approach one should take if they are going into the casino and doing all these stuff.

If they work out well, I'd be getting a massive lump sum proceeds in May. This would be a wild card for my aim to end the year with a stretch target of $600k by year end.
"

This is obviously pure betting

Shion

Senior Mentor
P_20170114_175731.jpg

he bet 11k on chelsea win EPL?

i dunno soccer one... so easy to earn meh?

If Chelsea kelong some matches or other teams catch up, his bets all gone down the drain

Furthermore, also need to tahan until next year May when season ends to know whether win or lose since he buy championship winner

jmapsmylife

Before I go get degree I wanted to use it to earn more money. After I came back and realise I can earn from passive income and how bad the other Dept is I think twice. Sometime health and happiness is more important than money. Since I know money can earn via passive income why stress urself. Stress will cause unhappiness and illness. Not worth it

Why get your degree if you don't intend to use it? Like what u mentioned u still young mah. Try out lah.

starfish.starfish

Before I go get degree I wanted to use it to earn more money. After I came back and realise I can earn from passive income and how bad the other Dept is I think twice. Sometime health and happiness is more important than money. Since I know money can earn via passive income why stress urself. Stress will cause unhappiness and illness. Not worth it

Money grows money. If you really want a good stream of passive income u will need to have a good pool of money which should come from your primary income.

Maeda_Toshiie

Hi, thanx for all the tips. i got my degree just that should i use it. as i mention if i use it i need to change department and there will be lots of stress politics and all others. always ot also how to not neglect family. also since im young i can take more risks. so putting it in etf now is not the best option for me. STI now 3k liao.

Well, what's the point of the degree if you don't use it? Even if you didn't fly to Australia for that one year (I'm making the assumption that it is Australia because many Stralyan universities have such exemptions for Singaporean polytechnic graduates).

There will be office politics in almost everywhere you go. Few places escape that (academia is terrible in that respect). Watch your own back. Sometimes, it is better to keep your mouth shut and observe.

That said, you are young, and therefore you are in the best time of your life to build your career. Being young and single, you are also at your best at learning and (sometimes) put more time into your work.

If your company has a toxic environment and/or colleagues and/or management, slowly make discrete contacts with people you know (and trust) elsewhere in the industry to sniff out potential job openings. Your friends from school are a start. If you have only just started with your current employer, you will unfortunately have to grit your teeth and endure for a while, since too fast of a job change will not look good on your resume. Besides, you need time to find a new job.

jmapsmylife

That's why I say not easy. Cause I need to diversify also cannot all choose reits. Some need defensive while some need growth. Indeed I now planning a 10stock portfolio. Now I have 5 in portfolio. Need 5 more. 3 reits 1 bank 1 Telco.

8% is not very hard

example your CMT and FCT already 6% dividends.. u just need 2% capital gains from increase in dpu/nav u can hit 8% liao

however if want to hit 8% on a bigger portfolio of say 10 stocks is not easy, really need to pick solid companies

jmapsmylife

I know primary income impt. Now my pay i can save 50% to put in investment. Anyway I need to wait till I finish my bond with my current dept before I can go other place. Cuz they sponsor my diploma. So at the mean time can't go anywhere and my current job I like a lot. My dept now is very good.

Money grows money. If you really want a good stream of passive income u will need to have a good pool of money which should come from your primary income.

starfish.starfish

I know primary income impt. Now my pay i can save 50% to put in investment. Anyway I need to wait till I finish my bond with my current dept before I can go other place. Cuz they sponsor my diploma. So at the mean time can't go anywhere and my current job I like a lot. My dept now is very good.

50% savings is good. I am saving 59%, wanna bump it up to 65% this year.

jmapsmylife

Not Australia haha. Australia cert not very reputable in sg. My cert is UK cert. I also not sure how I survive there with lousy eng standard. :D

Maybe I will try out other Dept after I finish my bond.

Well, what's the point of the degree if you don't use it? Even if you didn't fly to Australia for that one year (I'm making the assumption that it is Australia because many Stralyan universities have such exemptions for Singaporean polytechnic graduates).

There will be office politics in almost everywhere you go. Few places escape that (academia is terrible in that respect). Watch your own back. Sometimes, it is better to keep your mouth shut and observe.

That said, you are young, and therefore you are in the best time of your life to build your career. Being young and single, you are also at your best at learning and (sometimes) put more time into your work.

If your company has a toxic environment and/or colleagues and/or management, slowly make discrete contacts with people you know (and trust) elsewhere in the industry to sniff out potential job openings. Your friends from school are a start. If you have only just started with your current employer, you will unfortunately have to grit your teeth and endure for a while, since too fast of a job change will not look good on your resume. Besides, you need time to find a new job.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.