*Official* MasterLeong Thread - Part 2

MasterLeong

Yes my intention is to retire in 20years time.

also you seem pretty new to investing

like i mentioned to the others... investing is like building a house that keep getting bigger... so the base is very important and its often to start off with solid blue chip stocks that are able to survive even tough recession

for new investors, easier to start from learning the sti 30 blue chips and the 40 mid caps

http://www.sharesinv.com/prices/index-sti/indicators
http://www.sharesinv.com/prices/index-ftse-st-mid-cap/indicators

after you master these top 70, then can maybe branch out to more adventurous area of small cap companies which are higher risk

cheers

jmapsmylife

I beginner. Onli aim 4% dividend and 1% capital gain. 5% should be good enough for now. Now I'm still considering if I should get a job with better pay. But the stress and workload will increase a lot. Might not be worth it. :look:

I think alot of my peers want instant result hence all their target unreasonable. Must have reasonable target to sustain in the long run. If not sure halfway give up.

u now 25... retire at 45 seems like a reasonable target

most important is saving and investing constantly

u can play around with a calculator like this to see how much you need to save to hit your target for retirement

http://www.moneysense.gov.sg/Financial-Planning/Financial-Calculators/Savings-Calculator.aspx

for long term stock investing, 6-10% returns are a reasonable return target

MasterLeong

I beginner. Onli aim 4% dividend and 1% capital gain. 5% should be good enough for now. Now I'm still considering if I should get a job with better pay. But the stress and workload will increase a lot. Might not be worth it. :look:

I think alot of my peers want instant result hence all their target unreasonable. Must have reasonable target to sustain in the long run. If not sure halfway give up.

just remember life is a marathon, not a sprint... slow and steady is the way to go

cheers

MasterLeong

if you aim is 5% returns then blue chips or sti etf would most fit the bill ^^

lewissac

Go get a job and work like slave first. Enjoy the pain others encounter too. That way you will start to appreciate what everyone meant by hard-earned income/salary. With appreciation, you start to value more on what you have earn.

Plus, at this age, try not to rely on market to earn a living. Market will crush you eventually if you're not careful. And most of all DYODD (Do your own due diligence; i.e. always assess what your position is and what risk you are taking.).

havetheveryfun

I think rely on myself better than rely on others. I do not wanna be a burden to the guy nor wanna guy to burden me. So until now still not in any rs. Dun make up all this also. Need to save up all those money. So no guys interested in me too 😂 😂

any guy who gets u will be very lucky ....

jmapsmylife

I do have a job already just that I'm think if I should change my job for a higher paying one. Recently just went overseas for 1year get a degree. If i use my degree can get better pay. But if I get a better pay sure workload increase become no life everyday ot. Stress more.

Go get a job and work like slave first. Enjoy the pain others encounter too. That way you will start to appreciate what everyone meant by hard-earned income/salary. With appreciation, you start to value more on what you have earn.

Plus, at this age, try not to rely on market to earn a living. Market will crush you eventually if you're not careful. And most of all DYODD (Do your own due diligence; i.e. always assess what your position is and what risk you are taking.).

lewissac

I do have a job already just that I'm think if I should change my job for a higher paying one. Recently just went overseas for 1year get a degree. If i use my degree can get better pay. But if I get a better pay sure workload increase become no life everyday ot. Stress more.

Well, you gotta learn what's no pain,no gain. Great power comes with greater responsibilities and hence even greater stress/pressure. That's the process every should go through at least once in their lifetime IMHO.

If you back-out just because of fear, you'll learn nothing. Have faith and give it a try. :)

jmapsmylife

Well, you gotta learn what's no pain,no gain. Great power comes with greater responsibilities and hence even greater stress/pressure. That's the process every should go through at least once in their lifetime IMHO.

If you back-out just because of fear, you'll learn nothing. Have faith and give it a try. :)

:s12::s12::s12:im waiting for opportunity now. while waiting for it, im focusing on building up my portfolio.

Mr.Canberra

Yes my intention is to retire in 20 years time.

The outlook when single or married with kids will be very different. To be fully retired in Singapore without depending on any one is not easy.

Unker only dare to semi retire not fully retire. If fully retired life will be very boring. :s13:

madtari

Only 1 year overseas to get degree? Is that a masters? If it's bachelor degree then it's gonna be hard to get recognition from employers in sg.

starfish.starfish

The assumption of higher salary --> higher stress is not always true.
The stress will be there at the beginning till you master the job, then cruise again till u next decide another role. Never be afraid of a little stress it's what makes us grow outside our comfort zone.

jmapsmylife

The outlook when single or married with kids will be very different. To be fully retired in Singapore without depending on any one is not easy.

Unker only dare to semi retire not fully retire. If fully retired life will be very boring. :s13:

actually its manageable. frugal is the key haha. :super: of course retire as in can quit anytime without worrying about money. even so i will still choose to work some part time to pass time. not to stress myself up and keep myself active.

jmapsmylife

Only 1 year overseas to get degree? Is that a masters? If it's bachelor degree then it's gonna be hard to get recognition from employers in sg.

for my case bacause the bachelor degree is link to my poly course. so get exempted 2 years. my company recognize just that i will have to change my job scope and move to another department working degree jobs which have more pay more ot more stress. i have been asking around in my company and i know the stress is real. currently my job onli require diploma so im getting diploma pay now.

jmapsmylife

The assumption of higher salary --> higher stress is not always true.
The stress will be there at the beginning till you master the job, then cruise again till u next decide another role. Never be afraid of a little stress it's what makes us grow outside our comfort zone.

stress from the workload itself is ok for me actually. just that the tot of need to spend time and money to make up and dress very nicely and the politics within is the worrying part. futhermore my eng is very bad. report writing can kill me. ppl like to backstab you to climb up. dun know how they think. why cant they just work.:(

Average

stress from the workload itself is ok for me actually. just that the tot of need to spend time and money to make up and dress very nicely and the politics within is the worrying part. futhermore my eng is very bad. report writing can kill me. ppl like to backstab you to climb up. dun know how they think. why cant they just work.:(
sounds like an engineer.

nowadays ppl in sch presentation already wear until damn shiny and posh... i also sian, dun like sia. so mafan and expensive and not practical

Sent from 穷小子 using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.