*Official* MasterLeong Thread

MasterLeong

yesh I am studying hard for my poly MST now, still want to sustain my perfect GPA then can get into good uni course then my next time will be better

Poly bo scholarship due to my poor o level result (english D7) and I dont hold any leadership positiron in poly HAHAH. I chiong studies HAHAHAHA

Parents might step in if CDC bursary is not enough to cover my poly school fees. But I still managed to keep about $300+ from bursary HAHA

After poly go NS
After NS work 1 year first then decide

Nowadays everyone got degree, so i do not see degree as very useful

MasterLeong

I want to ask let say I am going to invest when I am 19 (end of poly year 3), should I invest all my savings or partial savings?

right now I have about $3k+ in posb account and another $3k in CIMB account. If I continue to save $120-$150 per month for 10 months, I would have $3600 more of savings at the end of poly year 3.

So is it advisable to keep some of the money (in case of losing all money) or to invest all money. I probably will start with STI ETF DCA $100 every month.

Dont one shot invest, u dunno if its high or low

As u are new, start off with dca sti etf to get your feet wet first

Pesantkie

After poly go NS

I now studying in those IT biz course (focus more on biz than IT) so it is like risk management and biz analytics. now my school focuses more on biz analytics after they have purchased bloomberg terminal.

Pesantkie

Dont one shot invest, u dunno if its high or low

As u are new, start off with dca sti etf to get your feet wet first

but then if $100 DCA STI ETF but then min commission alrd $25 liaooo, so should I go SCB?

cause you recommend young investor a/c, their commission is it $25?

Weaboo

Which poly? Maybe I am alumni of ur course

I now studying in those IT biz course (focus more on biz than IT) so it is like risk management and biz analytics. now my school focuses more on biz analytics after they have purchased bloomberg terminal.

madtari

I beg to differ... nowadays deg is even more impt bcos it has slowly become a 'norm' seeing so many deg holders looking for job. if you have dip or lower, you can only settle down for lower paying, less prospect jobs. unless of course you start your own biz.
After poly go NS

madtari

don't be too stress. I graduated from NP in 2001 with Director's List (top 10%) and managed to get into NTU. If you can get COM (to 5%), confirm can get into local uni... unless times have changed.
HAHAH but I bo share my bank a/c should be save HAHAHAH

my first sem gpa very good, hope can sustain. I want to go NUS/NTU/SMU after poly and NS.

I hope my good gpa will get me a scholarship from UNI ba HAHAH.

Currently, I pay my poly sch fees using CDC bursary and MOE PSEA account.

Pesantkie

I beg to differ... nowadays deg is even more impt bcos it has slowly become a 'norm' seeing so many deg holders looking for job. if you have dip or lower, you can only settle down for lower paying, less prospect jobs. unless of course you start your own biz.

thats why got to study hard and get into a good uni course from one of the three local unis.

Really learn a lot by reading hardwarezone. it is just too realistic liao as compared to current generation's kid. They are just too idealistic and bo chup about how realistic the society is

Pesantkie

don't be too stress. I graduated from NP in 2001 with Director's List (top 10%) and managed to get into NTU. If you can get COM (to 5%), confirm can get into local uni... unless times have changed.

times have really changed. Now biz course NUS minimum is 3.87 wtf so high

NTU is 3.78.

SMU is 3.71.

now is no 3.9 no talk siah

Sinkie

I want to ask let say I am going to invest when I am 19 (end of poly year 3), should I invest all my savings or partial savings?

right now I have about $3k+ in posb account and another $3k in CIMB account. If I continue to save $120-$150 per month for 10 months, I would have $3600 more of savings at the end of poly year 3.

So is it advisable to keep some of the money (in case of losing all money) or to invest all money. I probably will start with STI ETF DCA $100 every month.

Do it the hard way, invest all the $10,000 into the market and discover your real investment self.

Pesantkie

Do it the hard way, invest all the $10,000 into the market and discover your real investment self.

but very risky to invest all at one go lehhh, prolly I will keep 10-15% and then invest the remaining.

Well I still have 2 more years to go, by reading this thread continuously, I am certain that investing is the correct method to beat the bank's interest rate and inflation rate

[M]aiev

times have really changed. Now biz course NUS minimum is 3.87 wtf so high

NTU is 3.78.

SMU is 3.71.

now is no 3.9 no talk siah

wa sibei high, my GPA nearly 3 nia... Cannot study local uni is jitao go overseas to study one...

[M]aiev

but very risky to invest all at one go lehhh, prolly I will keep 10-15% and then invest the remaining.

Well I still have 2 more years to go, by reading this thread continuously, I am certain that investing is the correct method to beat the bank's interest rate and inflation rate

and read investing books as well to get the idea...

Pesantkie

[M said:
aiev;105052932]wa sibei high, my GPA nearly 3 nia... Cannot study local uni is jitao go overseas to study one...

but you go overseas study also can land good job in singapore horhhhh

cause EDMW too realistic liaooo local uni > private/overseas uni. too realistic till Im scared

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.