MasterLeong

seems like a lot of interest on Areit

may I will read up more and try write a bit about it if i am free

dolph001

What would master suggest and how to do the monthly DCA if I have $3k/mth to invest?

open a trading account with the banks. save up for 3 months. DCA yourself every quarter with the 9k. Lower comms this way.

If you have no inclination to do fundamental analysis, DCA with STI ETF or Nikko AM STI ETF.

mazatsushi

paiseh ah, if 2018 still bull year horh, then if you are a newbie, will you do DCA or go straight directly?

cause the cost will increase if it is bull year, one will be earning a loss right?

EDIT: not sure cost will increase but the amount of shares that can be bought will be lower. But will cost go up by a lot or by a little

Let me add on one more to what MasterLeong has said.

Time in the market is more critical than timing the market.

How sure can you be that 2018 will be a bull year?

Also remember at the beginning of 2016 during the prolonged bear market that eventually claimed StockBot as one of victims (because he took on too much risk and lost his cool)?

If you have had DCA-ed all the way, right now will be having a paper profit.

tanjiakpeng

At the current pace it is rising, DBS might overtake AIMS as my top holding soon.....:s13:

But tiagong when banks chiong, it usually signals the late stage of bull run liao....:eek::(

my aims 1.37 average price haiz. dun remind me riaos :(

Genosis

That is akin to why most people buy the STI ETF. However, I think buying the ETF is not the wisest choice if one would like exposure to the index.

Ya.....not the wisest choice (that's why I dun buy STI etf mah.....hehhehe=:p:s13:)

But it is a safer long-term, hassle-free choice for investment novices who prefer to focus on other aspects of their lives rather than digging into financial reports and balance sheet statements of companies.....:o

madtari

If one wants exposure to equities with high risk appetite, ETF might not be the best vehicle. However if one wants exposure to index, ETF should be the most appropriate. What else would you recommend otherwise? :s11:
That is akin to why most people buy the STI ETF. However, I think buying the ETF is not the wisest choice if one would like exposure to the index.

lbs

i think if one has a bit of education in stock picking, they will find it hard to resist.

for a ETF like ES3, with banks having a nice run up, let say to 1.5 PB, I guess few value-oriented investors will find it motivating to buy up es3.

not to say i don't envy how relaxed people who DCA are, though.

mazatsushi

Ya.....not the wisest choice (that's why I dun buy STI etf mah.....hehhehe=:p:s13:)

But it is a safer long-term, hassle-free choice for investment novices who prefer to focus on other aspects of their lives rather than digging into financial reports and balance sheet statements of companies.....:o

Other aspects of life, like piaking SYT dua neh neh Vietbu :s13::s13::s13:

MasterLeong

Lol he still only knows how to copy my picks and try undercut me
I holding all 5 reits that he mentioned

I think he praying hard that my 5 reits crash so that he can fifo them

But also good la he and ssi warriors can buy up cheap if really crash lol

My 5 reits CMT FCT CCT MCT SUN are all top quality reits with long track record

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.