*Official* MasterLeong Thread

MasterLeong

Nothing against MikeDirnt78. My little opinion on reits:

Last year, ppl also say local bank have more downside due to npl. In the end, anyone who hold also huat liao. :s8: No guarantee that REIT will also huat but this downside is definitely a good time to add some reits.

rJocqIP.png

Looking at sti, 18.22% of it is from real estate. If you are conservative investor like me, humji humji one. Then can try to add reits below or to about 20% of ur portfolio (follow the percentage of sti).

If you are an aggressive investor, you can be like ML and add to a much higher percentage.

But make sure ur portfolio is not 80-100% all reits. Remember, we can't pick the bottom and the top, try to buy at a price you are comfortable with.

Note: this is not saying Reit is a 'must-buy' post.

I think people have too much fear of rates going up

but in reality rates are just going back to normal

currently rates are still less than 1% and the historical average rate is 3% over the long run

even when rates goes to 3% reits will be fine as they had been, one can look at the history of reits over the decades in US

only when rates are way above normal than would I be very worried

Shion

Senior Mentor
Colleagues will always be colleagues, when comes to promotion or inorder to shine, you will see what your colleague and do to you, or u can do to your colleagues.

Ask yourself this question, will your colleague feel sad for you if you did not promote and he/she got promoted ? Most likely they are happy that they are promoted and not you.

Colleagues may become friends only one of you quits and bother to continue the relation, that's where colleagues became friends. :(

I see. Well, not only in my current work place but also at my previous work place, the other colleagues seem to mingle/click with one another very well, except myself of course. So this keeps me wondering...

Shion

Senior Mentor
I already buy till no money liao

waiting for telcos and reits to recover hahahahaha

but seems like maybe not so soon

4th telco coming up, hopefully a price war erupts and consumers get to benefit from it :)

Mecisteus

I think people have too much fear of rates going up

but in reality rates are just going back to normal

currently rates are still less than 1% and the historical average rate is 3% over the long run

even when rates goes to 3% reits will be fine as they had been, one can look at the history of reits over the decades in US

only when rates are way above normal than would I be very worried

This is where you are wrong.

If sibor is low now, investors are happy to hold reits which give 4-5% yield.

If sibor is higher, do you think investors will be happy to hold reits at the same yield? Investors will rather put money in the banks because the risk premium to hold reits are lower if sibor is higher.

I am not saying reits are bad investment vehicles. There is a good time to buy and there is always a good time to sell. Now is definitely not a good time to overweight in reits.

Dividends Warrior

Have you guys set ur queue for tomorrow? :crazy:

Me eyeing singtel and mct. Giving a low blow offer see can get ma.

1st tranches all filled last week after Fed meeting. Queue set for 2nd tranches. Added a few bonus picks. Also eyeing MCT and Singtel.

Golden Picks:

Suntec: 1st tranche - $1.65 (filled) 2nd tranche - $1.60

CCT: 1st tranche - $1.515 (filled) 2nd tranche - $1.47

FCT: 1st tranche - $1.905 (filled) 2nd tranche - $1.86

Bonus Picks:

Singtel: 1st tranche: $3.65 2nd tranche: $3.60

CMT: 1st tranche: $1.90 2nd tranche: $1.86

MCT: $1.40 2nd tranche: $1.36

MasterLeong

I see. Well, not only in my current work place but also at my previous work place, the other colleagues seem to mingle/click with one another very well, except myself of course. So this keeps me wondering...

all fake one de la... there is no real friendship in work place

MasterLeong

reits wise dun expect to recover soon bah, just get divvy for time being

:D

yup... now waiting for early 2017 to get full year results and announcement of CD

I have picked high quality reits, so if they can announce increase in dpu... hopefully market can re price them

Shion

Senior Mentor
TPG has a very good track record, I read its annual report I get wet sia

hope they can dual list in sgx too

Swee !!! :s12::s12:

More importantly I hope their existence will make Singtel drop their prices for their plans :s13::s13:

all fake one de la... there is no real friendship in work place

Means they are smart, they make appearance nice nice...

blackvice

I guess this is pretty common. Why would one be bothered so much about what their colleagues thought of them?

Using Will Smith quote and try to link, since this is after all a finance thread
-“We spend money that we do not have, on things we do not need, to impress people who do not care.” :(

MasterLeong

I realize that investing is like dating girls

the 1st one is always unforgettable

first few times date girls always nerve wrecking but after gaining experience one becomes more calm

starfish.starfish

I guess this is pretty common. Why would one be bothered so much about what their colleagues thought of them?

Using Will Smith quote and try to link, since this is after all a finance thread
-“We spend money that we do not have, on things we do not need, to impress people who do not care.” :(

Universal fact that it's not what u know but who u know that will bring u up the ladder :(
Ppl more lihai at networking has the advantage. Hard truth.

Shion

Senior Mentor

I am quite concerned...How I wish sometimes I could relax abit and ignore what others say.

The quote very applicable. Very often I spend on things for others or to impress others but they don't care. Foolish me.

Universal fact that it's not what u know but who u know that will bring u up the ladder :(
Ppl more lihai at networking has the advantage. Hard truth.

Agreed

[M]aiev

ya he MIA very long liao... he is my childhood friend... we same age.. I since sec school know him liao.. he ran many businesses before and many flopped...

he now running 2 thai pubs hahahahaha

Really hat off to this kind of person bah. I dealt with him before and he look fine to me bah(There are some people who I do not want to deal one!)

:s22:

Shion

Senior Mentor
I realize that investing is like dating girls

the 1st one is always unforgettable

first few times date girls always nerve wrecking but after gaining experience one becomes more calm

And also better chances to reap the profits in future :)

May be potential lifetime capital gains/dividends :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.